We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place ROCKS!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tierra de Suenos Lodge
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Perfect place for anyone in a jungle paradise! Best bang for your buck. Cabinas are beautiful and very well kept. Breakfast and great hosts. All good things at Tierra de Suenos!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank reinstatah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tierradesuenoslodge, Front Office Manager at Tierra de Suenos Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

thank you for the outstanding review. we are glad you enjoyed your time here at tierra de suenos. we hope to see you again. tierra de suenos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 223 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2008

I have been meaning to write this review for sometime. I want to begin by saying Angie and Brendon are two wonderful hosts. They made us feel like family. We loved getting up every morning and having the delicious breakfast, they would freshly prepare. The property is very green and lush. Lots of beautiful flowers and exotic plants. The bungalows are eco friendly and intimate. We experience a couple of rainy days on our vacation, but being in such beautiful surroundings and listening to the rain forest, made even the rainy days a pleasureable experience. Tierra de Suenos is a great place to relax, enjoy nature, walk to the beach, ride a bike or lay in bed all day and enjoy a great book on tape.
Speaking of great beds!!! The beds at Tierra de Suenos are the best in Puerto Viejo!!! We heard other travelers complain about the concrete beds at other inns around town. We felt so lucky to have this luxury. Well, if you are looking for a week or two in paradise, stay with Angie and Brendon at Tierra de Suenos and you will want to go back every year!!! See you next year!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kuhltreking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tierradesuenoslodge, Front Office Manager at Tierra de Suenos Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Hello there,

Thank you for the fantastic review! We are more than happy to help and glad we were able to make your stay comfortable. We agree, the nature and walk to the beautiful beach is always a pleasure. We hope to see you again!

Tierra De Suenos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We arrived from Dublin on the 8th of march and Angie, the owner welcomed us like friends.
Angie and Brandon have done everything they could to make our stay (our honey moon by the way) as much comfortable as they could and it was a real success.
Their lodge is located 6km from Puerto Viejo which is walking distance from one of the most beautiful beach the Caribbean part of Costa Rica has to offer: playa chiquita. Beautiful bungalow, good food, good company and a charming resort in the middle of the jungle are the best recipe of an unforgettable trip. Thanks to both of you, muchos besos and buena suerte

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank Destinationmonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tierradesuenoslodge, Front Office Manager at Tierra de Suenos Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Hello,

We are very happy that we were able to make your honeymoon dreams come true! And thank you for the outstanding review! We hope that you will remember your time here always. We hope to see you again in the future!

Tierra De Suenos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

This Land of Dreams definitely lives up to its name. As a group of 7, I'm sure we were quite a lot of work to accommodate, but Brendan and Angie truly made us feel at home. Set in a lush jungle, yet well-maintained, setting, relaxing like sloths in your own hammock is a breeze. The private bungalows and casita were built to perfection, and the towels and beds, as everyone says, really are the most comfortable in all of Costa Rica.

We were served a delicious and varied home-cooked breakfast with fresh fruit and coffee each morning, and were sent off to explore the area with helpful advice from the owners. They will meet your needs in any way they can. The beach is just a short 2-3 minute walk through a really cool jungle path. They also have bikes, surfboards, and snorkel gear for those who want to see the rest of the area (Puerto Viejo and Manzanillo are both about 20 minutes away), catch some waves in the beautiful Caribbean Sea, or see all the tropical fish and coral.

Make sure you bring your camera to capture the resident sloths, hummingbirds, and other tropical wildlife right on the lodge's grounds! Again, Angie & Brendan truly made this experience incredible for us. Stay at Tierra de Suenos if you're anywhere near Puerto Viejo and explore the beauty this region has to offer.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank merkin1378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tierradesuenoslodge, Front Office Manager at Tierra de Suenos Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Hi there,

Wow! Thank you for the review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here. Please don't worry about coming in a large group, we love to meet as many people as we can. The more the merrier!

Hope to see you again!

Tierra De Suenos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2008

Tierra De Suenos is an experience in paradise. If you are looking to get away into a rainforest setting filled with beauty and lushness this the place. We awoke each morning to the sounds of the jungle and saw Tucan's, sloths, lizards and monkeys as we strolled through the grounds.The wooden bungalows are charming and cozy. The owners Angie and Brendan are as friendly and accomodating as one would want. They cooked us a delicious homemade breakfast each morning (included in the very reasonable price) in their open air kitchen. There is a spectacular beach just a few minutes walk from our bungalow that was virtually empty of people but filled with breathtaking beauty. We cannot say enough how welcomed and comfortable we felt and we left knowing we had formed a special relationship with the owners and the beauty of this amazing place. If you are looking for a relaxed and ecofriendly experience this is definately the spot to go. We also recommend a visit to nearby Puerto Viejo, while staying at Tierra De Suenos, where we enjoyed great shopping and dining. We highly recommend lunch at Jammin' followed by a frozen coffee/coconut cappaccino at Carribeans across from the beach. There are also excellent restauraunts within a 5 minute walk of Tierra De Suenos. Thanks again Angie and Brendan for giving us an unforgettable and glorious vacation!

Stayed: February 2008
2  Thank jmitche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tierradesuenoslodge, Front Office Manager at Tierra de Suenos Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Hi,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here! Also, thank you for the spectacular review. We truly enjoy the view of the animals and gardens as well. We hope your trip here was memorable. Hope to see you again!

Tierra De Suenos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2008

This place is on a lovely, lush plot of land right outside of Puerto Viejo. The bungalows are decently appointed, with comfortable beds, nice bathrooms, and great front porches with a hammock. The included breakfasts were decent. There is also a great deal of wildlife on the property itself, including numerous sloths that were close enough to cuddle (don't do it though). The resident dogs were also really sweet and fun. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and thought the manager, Erin, was doing a great job in her newish position.

However, I do agree with a previous poster that this property is on its way to being great, but it's not quite there yet. First of all, I know that the bungalows are "Tico style", but there is no reason that they can't be enclosed around the top with screens to keep bugs out. We stayed at another property on our trip with Tico style bungalows, and they managed to keep bugs out with screens just fine. Second, I think the cleaning staff needs to be retrained. The bungalow never felt as clean to me as it could have been (especially the bathroom), and we were frequently low on towels. Additionally, there were some little issues that came up that kept our stay from being as great as it could have been. These included: an electricity blackout with no back-up generator or flashlights (we could not see even an inch in front of us), biting ants from hell along the only path to our bungalow (I know its the rainforest but there should have been a way to "reroute" them), and loud construction noises from both the north and south sides of the property.

Overall, the little annoyances were far outweighed by the pleasures of this property, and I would most likely return. I just think the little problems need to be ironed out, and I'm confident that Erin is the person to do it.

For more of my review of Puerto Viejo and some pictures, feel free to visit my blog entry at: http://urstinkymonkey.blogspot.com/2008/03/costa-rica-final-slothful-act.html

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tierradesuenoslodge, Front Office Manager at Tierra de Suenos Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Hello,

Thank you very much for your review! We are very glad that you had a good time here. We now have screens at the top of the bungalows to help prevent insects from coming in. Our current staff are trained in all cleaning procedures and if you return, please feel free to ask for more towels if needed; we would be more than happy to help.

We hope to see you again!

Tierra De Suenos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Araceli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tierradesuenoslodge, Manager at Tierra de Suenos Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,538 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
674 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
244 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caribe Town
Caribe Town
#1 of 8 in Cocles
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra de Suenos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra de Suenos Lodge

Address: Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 50101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $102 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra de Suenos Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine your exploration of the raw beauty of Costa Rica with a vacation that will suffuse your whole being with health and wellness. Tierra de Suenos Lodge is the only Wellness Center on the pristine Caribbean Coast offering a traditional and holistic approach to health. With a diverse staff of holistic healers offering everything from healing with nutrition, massage & other body-work , yoga and meditation, and a luxurious infrared sauna. Spend your vacation reconnecting with your inner self while surrounded by the beauty of the jungle/beaches. Your Costa Rican Wellness Center offers cozy hardwood bungalows nestled in exotic tropical gardens between the pristine beaches of Playa Chiquita and the spectacular rain forest. Paradise and the Pura Vida awaits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Tierra de Suenos Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra De Suenos Hotel Puerto Viejo
Tierra De Suenos Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing