We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing jungle hideaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tierra de Suenos Lodge
Planet Earth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing jungle hideaway!”
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at Tierra and loved every minute of it. The complete immersion in nature including fruit trees and exotic wildlife make this destination a must. Brendan and Angie's knowledge of the area and which tours to do was also a plus. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlanetEarthTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    23
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
129
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2011

After 3 weeks of traveling in Costa Rica Tierra de Suenos was the perfect place to lay-up and relax for 4 days! Our bungalow was clean and comfortable with great sheets and towels. There were delicious breakfasts cooked fresh every morning and lovely coffee talk with other guests. While almost totally nestled the rain forest we were still within walking distance from the beach, restaurants and shops, plus we were able to rent bikes right onsite to explore more of the surrounding towns along the beach. The hosts, Angie and Brendan, were so friendly and knowledgeable of the area. They recommended some great sites and tours for us to check out. We were so pleased with our stay and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjh1382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2011

I first visited Playa Chiquita and Tierra de Suenos in the spring of 2010 with a group of friends. Loved both so much that I brought my fiancée back for another 8 days this year!

When I initially booked the trip last year, I was hesitant to 'rough it' in the jungle. I enjoy living in a city with all the amenities and couldn't wrap my head around the idea of mosquito nets or the need for them! While I still don't consider myself a great-outdoorswoman, I am proud to say that I survived two trips and loved each minute of both.

I was not surprised by any of the creatures or lack of 'posh', as the website was very straightforward and honest. The unique cabinas were very well maintained, clean and comfortable. While we were perfectly thrilled with our bungalow, these are not for everyone (as they mention on their site). It is sticky and humid and there are some unexpected guests in the form of bugs and tiny lizards….but this is the jungle!!! There are also extremely comfortable beds in each room, beautiful woodwork and art throughout the cabina and hammocks on every deck. The hammocks became our favorite place at night, where we listened to the sounds of the jungle and discussed our great escape from the States. It was perfect.

As other reviews have mentioned…do not miss the following restaurants: Jungle Love, La Pecora Nera (unreal) and dinner at Casa de Carol. Angie also suggested a zip-lining tour and a visit to the Jaguar Rescue Center, which were each incredible. The beaches toward Manzanillo are quiet and beautiful (thanks for the tip, Brendan) and everything is accessible by bike.

The excitement and accommodating nature of the hosts, Brendan and Angie, made the visit so much more complete. When you are visiting a new place, it is typical that you will embark on some great adventures, eat some incredible food, find incredibly relaxing environments….and also experience some serious disappointment in all of the aforementioned areas. Thanks to the owners’ knowledge and honesty, we were lucky to avoid most scenarios that would have been frustrating or uncomfortable for us.

We are still missing waking up to the monkeys, enjoying a great breakfast while chatting with our hosts and riding our bikes up the road to find the most unpopulated beach. And we are planning our trip back to the area and to Tierra de Suenos!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelG_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We just had some bad luck... we actually would have liked a little rain to beat back the heat and humidity and bugs. It was hot and dry when we were there and we had bad luck with a couple of cats that decided to fight in the middle of the night.

That said, it's a lovely place, with great hospitality from an American couple. If you get the big cabin, be super careful walking up and down the stairs, they are treacherous.

So, if it rains, consider yourself lucky and enjoy it, and when the sun is shining you'll enjoy a great place easy walking distance to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scodtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Tierra de Suenos for 2 weeks in the middle of a horrible Seattle winter. We had the best vaction that we have ever had together and were blown away by the incredible warmth, knowledge and hospitality of Angie and Brendan. Their beach bungalows are beautiful and very private making for the perfect romantic getaway. Upon our arrival, we spotted a family of monkeys mere yards away from us frolicking in the jungle trees while we were lounging in our hammocks. The stay only got better from there and we would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drohraba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2011

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at Tierra De Suenos. The beaches are gorgeous, unspoilt, and full of areas shaded by palm trees--something greatly appreciated by my fair skin. On one of our first days, we rented sea kayaks and "surfed" the waves at Punta Uva. Another highlight was the incredible food in the surrounding areas. The grilled red snapper at Maxi's in Manzanillo was one of the best meals I have had.

Brendan and Angie are a delight. They embody the laid back attitude of "Pura Vida" while still providing for every need for their guests.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BB9414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2011

I and my husband stayed for 3 nights at Tierra de Suenos and enjoyed it a lot!
The bungalows were nice, clean and comfortable and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Brendon and Angie are a great couple and know how to run the place real good!
The breakfast was delicious. There was also a library where we found some interesting books to read.
Playa Chiquita is an amazing beach, very quiet and serene, only within a 5 minute walk from the bungalows. Manzanillo is also not too far - within a 15-20 min bike ride and it is a must see area!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielaYancheva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.2 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Namuwoki Lodge
Namuwoki Lodge
#14 of 106 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tree House Lodge
Tree House Lodge
#17 of 106 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Merlin Lodge
Casa Merlin Lodge
#25 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
43 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Perla del Caribe
La Perla del Caribe
#16 of 106 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Moabi
Casa Moabi
#4 of 106 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra de Suenos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra de Suenos Lodge

Property: Tierra de Suenos Lodge
Address: 50 North Or Shawanda, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 50101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra de Suenos Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine your exploration of the raw beauty of Costa Rica with a vacation that will suffuse your whole being with health and wellness. Tierra de Suenos Lodge is the only Wellness Center on the pristine Caribean Coast offering a traditional and holistic approach to health. With a diverse staff of holistic healers offering everything from healing with raw foods, reiki, massage , yoga and meditation, and a luxurious infrared sauna, you can spend your vacation reconnecting with your inner oneness and surrounded by the beauty of the jungle. Your Costa Rican Wellness Center offers cozy hardwood bungalows nestled in exotic tropical gardens between the pristine beaches of Playa Chiquita and spectacular rainforest. Paradise awaits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tierra de Suenos Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra De Suenos Hotel Puerto Viejo
Tierra De Suenos Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing