We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous place. Fantastic staff. Beautiful beach.”
Review of Hotel Banana Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Banana Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2010

This hotel is every bit as lovely as all the reviews would indicate. The staff are super, friendly and helpful. The beach is just beautiful and swimming in the ocean was delightful during September, when the surf disappears for a short time. The hotel is a little way out from the centre of town, which is a wonderful walk along the beach during daylight, but too dark to walk at night. However, taxi's are available and cheap. We highly recommend the on-site tour agent. If you want to book any tours, just wander to the tour desk a few feet from the bar and restaurant. We also recommend the snorkelling tour and the zip lining tour - both were fantastic. Breakfast was good and we also ate lunch and dinner in the restaurant on a couple of occasions. The food and service was great and had a home cooked taste and feel. The bar is lovely and the charming barman takes great pride in preparing wonderful cocktails. The rooms are a bit small, but the public areas more than make up for this. There were plenty of bugs around, particularly during the early evening, take some good insect repellent. The wildlife at Cahuita was amazing - as was the Jaguar Animal Rescue Centre at Cocles.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,097 - 1,103 of 1,522 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2010

All the positive things the other reviewers say are true :). The food was delicious and extremely reasonable - it was so nice to be able to enjoy a good meal right there at the hotel after a busy day and to not have to go elsewhere. Another thing we loved was being right on the edge of a long nature trail that follows Playa Negra up the coast through a nature preserve - we saw white faced monkeys just a ten minute walk from the hotel the first morning. We loved the two tours we did through the organizers based at the hotel - if you like to snorkel, definitely go to Cahuita and have them show you the good spots! While the beach at the hotel is very nice, the beaches down by Punta Uva and Manzanillo are better for snorkeling, so we liked having our rental car to be able to explore some of the different spots south of Puerto Viejo (very close by). But I'd happily stay at Banana Azul again next time!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jshep26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

My husband and I went here for Part 1 of our two part honeymoon throughout Costa Rica. We had a wonderful, relaxing time. We stayed in the hotel's only suite, which was pretty minimal but nothing but comfortable. The garden tub was open to the beach, and there were hardly any bugs. The service throughout was sweet. They brought us fresh coconut juice served inside the coconut to the beach behind the hotel where we were lounging. The owners/management stuff were hospitable as well, calling cabs for us and giving us dinner recommendations. That's not to say that the Banana Azul food wasn't good. It was, but not exactly the most authentic. Best of all, they had an on-site staff to help with booking tours and excursions. That was such a nice convenience! Overall, the people were friendly, the bed was comfortable, and the ocean was beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisatex909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Banana Azul is amazing. A hidden paradise. Colin, Roberto, David and Franklin, Along with the rest of the staff are fantastic! Gecko Tours are right on site to help with all your adventure planning. Fabulous place to get engaged! Beautiful landscape and refreshing pool. Fabulous place and vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy-n-Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Wow! What can I say? I cannot think of a better way to spend our 5th anniversary than here. Everything was perfect. Colin, Roberto, David, Franklin, Leo, Ana, and all the others: you guys really made this trip what it was. The only thing better than the warm beauty of the Caribbean coast, was the warm beauty of all the people we met. You guys will always be an integral part of our experience here. Thanks for all you did. I read your mission statement, and I can certainly say that it was accomplished!! Pura vida!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

There a so many nice reviews of Banana Azul on TripAdvisor, that I really don't have to write any long article. I just wanted to say, that Banana Azul was our favourite place in Costa Rica, as it has everything you could wish for - clean and spacious rooms, hammocks on balcony, pool, beach, wi-fi, no kids, travel agency, delicious food and coctails, nice pets, night guide, great staff. You just have to experience the calm athmophere there!
I definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikaot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We made a trip of 3,5 week through Costa Rica and visited many places and lodges, but Banana Azul was simply THE BEST !
It's a beautiful, cozy, relaxing oasis providing everything you need to feel good and enjoy: functional luxury (pleasing you, within being overdone), friendly and attentive staff, great rooms and atmosphere, the right balance between quietness and liveliness, cool restaurant, bar and garden, complimentary towels, sun tan, coffee, internet, etc., close to the beach.
What else do you need for a splendid holiday ?

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finduss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
3.2 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,055 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
669 reviews
9.9 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
195 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banana Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banana Azul

Address: Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $65 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Banana Azul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banana Azul hotel is a small and simple hotel north of town on Playa Negra. The small boutique hotel has been created with care using local products and a philosophy that emphasizes relaxation. We cater to adults, 16 years and over. Blooming gardens adorn the property, as does several freely-hanging hammocks, providing the perfect spot for afternoon napping or leisurely reading. A meandering pond inhabited by fish and turtles flows through portions of the property adding a lighter element to the ongoing natural soundtrack of waves crashing against the shoreline. The hotel consists of 22 beautiful guest rooms with private baths, fans (some with A/C), and free WiFi. Most rooms are on the second floor of the main building, and open onto a large veranda with sweeping ocean views and of the garden. Banana Azul offers its guests a quaint restaurant that serves a complimentary filling breakfast, variety of lunch options and refreshing drinks throughout the day and a relaxing three entre dinner option in a romantic atmosphere at night. Caribe Fun Tours is on site to assist with tours and transportation needs and can assist with a variety of package options including visits to the Arenal Volcano, canopy tours, snorkeling trips, and even rafting excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Banana Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Azul Hotel
Banana Azul Puerto Viejo
Hotel Banana Azul Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing