We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Hotel Banana Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Banana Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed November 2, 2009

The staff at Banana Azul are great. Everyone is so friendly and nice. All staff made sure that we were well taken care of and that we had the best stay possible. The owners are great and make sure to always come and chat with you to make sure you are enjoying yourself. The staff are very accomodating and the rooms are kept very clean. I would recommend Banana Azul to anyone planning to travel to Puerto Viejo.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronda404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    241
    48
    15
    13
See reviews for
114
912
97
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, Ca.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

My wife and I enjoyed our 3 night stay at this property very much. We stayed in the Dolphin Suite and enjoyed the large deck with hammock. We attempted to stay in the Howler suite, but it was booked during our stay. The top floor rooms here are numbered 1 to 8 with the Howler Suite being number one and the Dolphin suite being number 8. Rooms 2 to 7 are the Ocean view rooms. The lower the number, the closer you are to the ocean. Although our room was farthest from the ocean, we could still see the ocean from our deck and could clearly hear it from our room.

The food at the resort was good and reasonably priced. The tour operator at the property, Gecko Tours, was very helpful. We did a snorkeling trip to Cahita with a hike of the park. Our guide, Javier, was very good. We saw sloths, monkeys, frogs, snakes, iguanas, butterflys, and a variety of other insects and critters. We also scheduled a horseback ride/massage excursion with guide Vanessa. It was a great excursion and I highly recomend her.

  • Liked — Close to ocean, very clean and scenic property, reasonable price.
  • Disliked — I can not think of anything negative about this propety.
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Brett30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2009

...in the words of Mary Poppins.

We stayed during the second half of our honeymoon after trekking the Inca trail in Peru. We were quite exhausted and Banana Azul was the perfect antidote for all of that strenuous activity.

I'm not sure what I can add to all that's been said before. The staff were lovely, friendly without being intrusive, and the place has a wonderfully homely atmosphere, not pretentious or over-the-top. Food was great, as were the cocktails, especially the strawberry mojito's - yummy.

Its a nice stroll along the beach to town and there were some great restaurants in Puerto Viejo. We loved the sushi at Chilli Rojo and enjoyed a good steak at the Patagonia steak house.

We stayed in the Howler Suite and then in one of the Ocean Rooms. Both were lovely and cosy and the noise of the waves sends you off into a deep sleep.

You will find the essence of "pura vida" at Banana Azul.

oh.. and I couldn't finish without mentioning the gorgeous Gigi, Nella and Lunar who made me very happy every day.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Machupikachu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Stayed both downstairs in a garden room and upstairs in the ocean view due to room availability. We preferred the ocean room due to it's openness. It was hot and sticky during our stay and we did not want to open our window (in the garden room) since it faced out into the common area. Although the garden area with the tub was great too! The breakfasts were great and we ended up eating at the hotel a lot since the town is a bit of a trek or a cab ride. Enjoyed and booked the zip line and white water rafting trip through the office. We just took the public bus to Chauita since it was cheap (maybe a dollar or so?) and very easy. Highly recommend taking the rafting trip from the hotel back to San Jose on your last day. Overall, we felt like the service at the hotel was just okay. Not like some previous reviews. The bartender was great but the front office staff was just so so. The owners were away for most of our stay so maybe that's why? However, we still had a wonderful time:)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caligal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
2 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Cannot wait for the day I can return to Banana Azul. Amazing location, practically private beach, wonderful staff, heaven on the private balconies. My favorite weekend and vacation of all time!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We really enjoyed our time at the Banana Azul and had wished we could have stayed longer. The photos online do not do the place justice. The hotel is literally on the beach and we could hear the waves crashing at night, though it did rain quite a bit in the evenings. By day, it stops and we were able to do our activities. I loved how they made a point to incorporate the outdoors into the hotel. There were a lot of open air spaces to eat, drink, and hang out. The walls were wood paneled, making everything feel very natural. While planning the trip I was nervous about making sure all of our activities were taken care of ahead of time, but once I got there I realized I could have showed up and had the staff arrange everything for me. We were picked up every day, taken to our excursion and back. No issues and had so much fun. We white water rafted, went hiking in Cahuita, ziplines, and the sloth sanctuary. Language is not an issue. Everyone was incredibly accommodating and friendly both staff and guests. We had almost all of our meals at the hotel and each one was delicious. My only frustration was the mosquito netting over the bed. I've never used one before and couldn't get used to it. Nonetheless, I hope venture back there some day. My family has a lot of great memories from that trip.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbolt10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
189 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

I admit I went with high expectations and they were met and exceeded. The pictures on line are great but when you arrive it will take your breat away. We stayed in the Howler Suite all week and ate almost every meal at Banana Azul, the meals were wonderful- I have to say I will crave those Banana pancakes forever! Franco the bartender made every drink, even my non- alcholic ones and my husbands Mojitos with great care -cutting every piece of fruit fresh and tearing every leaf of mint by hand- everything was fresh! We did venture out of our hammock into town several times. I admit I was a bit nervouse about crime in the area before I arrived but we were very comfortable and felt safe all the time, we did not venture out at night but several couples we met there did try different places at night and had very good experiences. We had a couples masage right there in our room the day after our jungle tour that we booked in advance and they were wonderful. My husbands back was bothering him when we arrived and we were actually able to get a massage with in a few hours after we arrived right there in our room which was the perfect start to the week! Katia was very helpful with all of our tours and plans before and during our stay. We took the fulll day jungle tour with ATV's and zip lines- I highly recommend this as the best way to really see this beautiful country- Aron and Andreas were our guides with Terraventura- we also did the Jaguar animal rescue, choco lady tour with waterfall- this was also a wonderful experience!) Everyone that we met was so kind and helpful, despite the fact we spoke no spanish, even the local shops were able to help us. If you want to really get away and do not want the typical commercial resort this is your oasis! The beautiful gardens, the open air concept, wonderful staff, great food (nothing fancy just wonderful freshly prepared simple meals) and the view ....well this place is just a little slice of heaven! I have traveled a lot for business and pleasure and believe that Banana Azul is a welcomed change from the typical beach resort- we had a hard time leaving but now that we have returned home I admit I miss it but I feel rejuvenated and refreshed and would like to thank all at Banana Azul for one of the best vacations we have ever had! I can still hear the waves splashing!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimi1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
3.2 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,014 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
633 reviews
9.9 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
161 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banana Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banana Azul

Property: Hotel Banana Azul
Address: Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Banana Azul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banana Azul hotel is a small and simple hotel north of town on Playa Negra. The small boutique hotel has been created with care using local products and a philosophy that emphasizes relaxation. We cater to adults, 16 years and over. Blooming gardens adorn the property, as does several freely-hanging hammocks, providing the perfect spot for afternoon napping or leisurely reading. A meandering pond inhabited by fish and turtles flows through portions of the property adding a lighter element to the ongoing natural soundtrack of waves crashing against the shoreline. The hotel consists of 22 beautiful guest rooms with private baths, fans (some with A/C), and free WiFi. Most rooms are on the second floor of the main building, and open onto a large veranda with sweeping ocean views and of the garden. Banana Azul offers its guests a quaint restaurant that serves a complimentary filling breakfast, variety of lunch options and refreshing drinks throughout the day and a relaxing three entre dinner option in a romantic atmosphere at night. Caribe Fun Tours is on site to assist with tours and transportation needs and can assist with a variety of package options including visits to the Arenal Volcano, canopy tours, snorkeling trips, and even rafting excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Banana Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Azul Hotel
Banana Azul Puerto Viejo
Hotel Banana Azul Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing