We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what more can you want”
Review of Hotel Banana Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Banana Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“what more can you want”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We looked for a perfect hotel to spend the last few days in costa rica and definatly found it in Banana Azul. We didnt book in advance (we dont plan our trips in advance) and as Banana Azul is quite a popular hotel there was actually no room for the first night. The staff was kind enough to give us the emergency room for the first night. They appologized for a few times because that room wasnt representative for their hotel but actually it was quite a cosy and very clean room. But the other 3 nights we stayed in 2 different types of rooms. The first one downstairs, with ac, tv and an amazing outside bathroom. The next 2 nights we stayed upstairs with an amasing balcony, no AC but that wasnt a problem. All the rooms were very comfortable and beautifull decorated. Very nice and attentive staff, yummy food, tasty fresh coconuts, ... What more can you want.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magali V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,111
    240
    48
    16
    13
See reviews for
112
904
95
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

It was our first time in Costa Rica, We were going to be traveling for three weeks, Banana Azul was our first stop, and what a great start to our vacation. Everything was top notch! cant say enough about this place. I recommend the Howler suite!! could have stayed there for ever! A big Thank-you to the staff!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LifeintheKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I write this almost one year from my dream honeymoon on the beach. The hotel owners didn't even know it was our honeymoon.. and it was STILL absolutely amazing.

It's like getting to live for a blissful (weekend, week, month? How lucky will YOU be?) on a quiet and remote suburb of a suburb of a rasta surf town. In Costa Rica. It is not: loud, urban, party-all-night. It IS: peaceful, relaxing, indulgent, casually social..

Owners are absolutely fabulous. Hotel meals (very, very reasonably priced and delicious) were something we looked forward to daily. While sitting on our little corner of a secluded beach in paradise.

The hotel pool has a nice shady cabana and is small and cool, refreshing in the heat of the day. We stayed in a room aptly named "the apartment" which is apparently where the owners used to live. Two bedrooms, full kitchen and we hosted a surprise menagerie of small visitors (tree frogs, friendly cat, lizards, etc) It is very rustic- blurred lines of indoors/outdoors- think- huge open windows to the forest/jungle and the seaside near the ocean... In a good way- no screens though. We didnt particularly need them, but I'm just saying..
I'm an outdoor girl so I thought this was great. Like a tropical treehouse for adults. I announced to everyone and noone in particular while I was there that I wasn't leaving (still had to leave eventually.. boooo)

I'm going to sell seashell necklaces or bike rentals or something and live my dream life there. Ok, I digress. But seriously.

AMAZING!
xoxo

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the largest rental spaces there.. I can't speak for the smaller, lower priced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I really wanted to stay on the Caribbean side of Costa Rica when looking for a honeymoon spot since our other travels in the Caribbean have been very positive. I had just about given up trying to find a nice place when I found Banana Azul on Trip Advisor.

All of the reviews and photos looked great, and the value is excellent. I contacted Banana Azul prior to booking via email to see if the most recommended room (#1 Howler) was available. They got back to me right away and told me it wasn't, but room #2 was, so I went ahead and booked it for our 4 night stay. The staff was very quick to respond to subsequent emails asking different questions about the hotel and area, which was nice. Also received an email from Gecko Adventures explaining they're adventure booking services.

The staff were welcoming upon arrival. The grounds of the hotel are incredibly designed, and very inviting. Loved the ponds and streams with the fish and turtles.

The owner Colin found us while we were sitting on the beach and taking in the scenery. He welcomed us and we chatted a bit. That was so nice to greeted by the owner.

The room we had is very open and airy, and had opaque panels on half of the ceiling to let in natural sunlight. There's a nice fan to help cool the room down, as there isn't AC in the room. I was a bit worried about it being too hot, which is was during the day, but the cooler air at night made it pretty pleasant to sleep.

The drawback of the openness of the room and the lack of AC was that we had to sleep with the patio doors open, and with the loud waves, for light sleepers, makes it's tough to sleep. There are no screen doors or screens on the bathroom windows, so bugs can come in with nothing to stop them beside the mosquito net we had to have over us while sleeping. One other negative was the plastic ceiling when it would rain. It was so loud. The rooms could have been cleaned more thoroughly, and had better quality sheets and towels. The hammock on the patio was in need of a wash, as it smelled moldy. The only thing dividing the rooms on the patio were accordion privacy screens, so the next door guest could have walked into the room at any time. Therefor, we had to secure our valuables in the rooms lock box every time we left the room.

A nice thing about Banana Azul is the breakfast that's included in the nightly price. It was always tasty, and there was a rotating special. The kitchen also serves lunch (which we were never around to have) and the menu looked fine. We had dinner all but one night, and they were mighty tasty. There is a standard menu, and nightly specials, all of which are reasonably priced.

The hotel has it's own private beach, and it's incredible, complete with nice lounge chairs with and cabanas. It is located on Playa Negra, which is a beautiful black sand beach that has nice waves. The hotel has a drink cart during the day right on the beach.

Overall, the hotel is good and cost effective. For light sleepers, and those looking for more privacy like us, it may not be a good fit.

Room Tip: We had room #2, which is supposed to be the 2nd best room after the room closest to the water (Howle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chefstevef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for my wife's 30th birthday. This place has it all figured out. The property is immaculate and the staff is amazing. We live on the pacific side of Costa Rica and will be back to visit Banana Azul many more times! Thank you to the staff

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ToddTravelsPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

After the conclusion of our travel over Costa Rica (La Fortuna, Monteverde, and Tambor) this place was our most favorite. We wished this would have concluded our trip and stayed the longest here. The stay was great, the food and drink was the best! I will be sure to reccommend. If there was anything negative, I would say that on one night several people came in and/or out of the gate and had to yell for the gate guard. I think the idea of a guard at night, allowed for sleepful night with out worries, if there was any but I would reccommend that hotel staff tell taxis/bus to not enter through gate at night to allow for a little less noise to guests. Our room, one of the sloth cabinas, was closest to the gate so with the windows open they could be heard well. Rented bikes to ride into town. Woke up to coffee and sunrises on the beach. Traveled 5/21-5/23/2014. Wonderful experince!!!!

Room Tip: Sloth Cabina's were closet to the gate. Like stated in review, may be a little noisy if people c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2014GatorFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenville, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This was the last stop on our trip to Costa Rica and it was a wonderfully relaxing way to end our vacation. The hotel was absolutely lovely; the grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. We booked a garden room, which has the shower and a bathtub big enough for two on the enclosed patio. It was also one of the few rooms with air conditioning, which we put to good use. The included breakfast was very good and it was great having a restaurant and a bar on site-they even set up a bar cart on the beach. Drink specials and the dinner menu change daily. The hotel provides chairs and umbrellas on the beach and will even bring your lunch to your lounge chair. The location is perfect-this hotel feels secluded yet is only minutes from town. I wish we had had a couple more days to spend here.

Room Tip: If you want air conditioning you need to book a garden bath room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnK71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
3.2 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
9.9 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banana Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banana Azul

Property: Hotel Banana Azul
Address: Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Banana Azul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banana Azul hotel is a small and simple hotel north of town on Playa Negra. The small boutique hotel has been created with care using local products and a philosophy that emphasizes relaxation. We cater to adults, 16 years and over. Blooming gardens adorn the property, as does several freely-hanging hammocks, providing the perfect spot for afternoon napping or leisurely reading. A meandering pond inhabited by fish and turtles flows through portions of the property adding a lighter element to the ongoing natural soundtrack of waves crashing against the shoreline. The hotel consists of 22 beautiful guest rooms with private baths, fans (some with A/C), and free WiFi. Most rooms are on the second floor of the main building, and open onto a large veranda with sweeping ocean views and of the garden. Banana Azul offers its guests a quaint restaurant that serves a complimentary filling breakfast, variety of lunch options and refreshing drinks throughout the day and a relaxing three entre dinner option in a romantic atmosphere at night. Caribe Fun Tours is on site to assist with tours and transportation needs and can assist with a variety of package options including visits to the Arenal Volcano, canopy tours, snorkeling trips, and even rafting excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Banana Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Azul Hotel
Banana Azul Puerto Viejo
Hotel Banana Azul Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing