We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meet Hummingbirds @ breakfast”
Review of Hotel Banana Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Banana Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this lovely hotel and liked it a lot. The rooms are clean, charming and with a balcony. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the food is just wonderful! There are birds and hummingbirds everywhere.
The beach is nice and we would have loved to stay a little bit longer - next time.
The only disadvantage is that it is far away from everything.
Nevertheless:
Pura vida!

Room Tip: Chose one of the rooms on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler_traveler215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had just traveled over 5 hours from La Fortuna and welcomed at the hotel with a free drink. Our room wasn't ready but we enjoyed a nice lunch while we waited. The staff and the owner, Colin, were very friendly and made us feel welcome. We stayed 3 nights in the Garden Bath Suite. It is beautifully decorated and the plush pillowtop mattress was very comfortable. I had brought my own pilllow as someone noted their pilllows are hard. This was accurate. We loved the convenience of this room as I could wake up, grab some coffee and fruit and walk right back into my room if I wanted.

The last night was spent in the Ocean room upstairs. I actually loved this also as we had two small fans with the doors open. I felt like I was sleeping in outdoor luxury. I slept better this way than with air conditioning! However, my husband didn't sleep too well as he was anxious about animals joining us! This room was very humid, however, and the bathroom is a bit small.

We enjoyed their meals and drinks so we ventured out for only 1 meal in the town. It was so relaxing there we didn't want to leave. We also loved swimming in the ocean as the waves were relatively mild since it was October. The water was very warm but also very salty so my eyes burned some. Make sure you grab some bug spray however, if you want to lounge on the chairs. There are little tiny sand flies that like to get you.

Overall a wonderful place to visit and would absolutely love to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbldecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Pro's
Not right in the middle of the town.
Town less than a mile away. You can drive, walk or even rent s bike.
Tour company right on-site and every helpful.
Food ... breakfast, lunch and/or dinner was delicious.
Staff is like family, I will miss them.
Books, bug spray and lotions to use.
Beach is clean and cozy.
I love all my new dog and cat friends.

Con's
For a child free hotel there were kids almost ever day.
Take into consideration it's so humid...the floors in the lobby are very slippery at night.... dangerous!
We understand the structure of this hotel, but I think the staff may need a refresher. The area you are banging things aroung at midnight and then again at 5 AM is right by my head...

Pura Vida

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shanna1780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife and I completed a Habitat for Humanity build in Costa Rica and then relaxed for 4 days at the Banana Azul Hotel. It was a wonderful experience staying at the hotel, staff friendly and the food was great and well priced. We rented bikes from the hotel and ventured off for the day , returning at night. We stayed in the Sloth room and it was clean and we had ample space for us.
We met the owner from Vancouver and engaged in conversation and he was very outgoing and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to another visit. Rick & Kathy Belland Edmonton Alberta Canada

Room Tip: We arrived by public transportation and it was getting late, we walked around looking for the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just returned from wonderful trip with niece and sister in law to Banana Azul. Wonderful cool people run this gem of a hotel. We stayed in the 2 bed Apt. just perfect for the 3 of us. They even put in a extra bed in larger room especially for niece Lauren, Really loved the open air concept especially the bathroom shower. Felt jungle-ish. Amazing grounds, rooms beautiful wood and tile kitchen. The fans worked just fine with the humidity, AC would have wrecked the whole affect of being so close to nature. (example finding little tiny tiny frog on our kitchen counter when we came home from dinner.) couldnt have been any cuter or special. A definite MUST DO is a massage and facial from Jaikel. Besides being so so gifted. He has an amazing aura and calming energy that compelled us to have 2 massages. I am grateful to have met him. and really cant wait to go back.. Lovely staff beside Jaikel also AnaRosa. (kind souls)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1KAQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We just got done with a 4 day stay here at the resort, and it was amazing. The owner Colin greeted us and was around during the stay, and the staff was very accommodating. Here's a run down:
Location: About 1 mile outside Puerto Viejo, about 30 minutes by beach, or $4 by taxi. Basically you're in a place that's totally serene. About 100 ft. from the beach, it's perfect and there's drink service at the beach- including coffee at 5 am for the sunrise. Even though you're outside the city, it's a huge plus. As for getting food, Breakfast is included. Lunch and dinner are by menu, but seriously high quality food.
Rooms and Ambiance: Rooms were nice and decorated in the Caribbean way. Doors led to the outside with a balcony and hammock. Had a strong fan and mosquito net for those who want some more air circulation and leave the doors open. Fresh pool with fountain were right outside the rooms and everything was very relaxed on the resort property. The beach was perfect and quiet with no people selling anything or bothering you.
Food: Coffee was great, and always available at 5 am for those early risers. First night we had amazing fish and steak, with respective sauces. Lunches were good, just off the menu. Breakfasts were different everyday, and the Caribbean pancakes were to die for(bananas, toasted coconut, and pinapple sauce). We were more than happy to eat any meals at the resort.
A nice surprise was that they must have overhead us say it was for our anniversary, and the next day we had a bottle of wine, chocolate, and fruit waiting in our room. This was a nice touch and showed they know service. Bike rentals and bodyboard rentals were easily available. Staff all spoke excellent english(or were native english speakers), and very helpful.

Room Tip: Ocean suites were great, Howler room has the special tub and faces the ocean on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Atticusdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay. The rooms are very comfortable and have hammocks on the balcony. And most of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Overall it's just a very comfortable place to relax and enjoy yourself. And the semi-private beach is great too. You can easily spend your entire time just relaxing at the hotel but there's also plenty of adventures close to the hotel too.

Probably the biggest knock is that it's a long drive from San José to get there. We had the misfortune of coming in when the main highway was closed because of road damage. That was no fault of the hotel of course, but it did take us many hours of driving*. But it was worth the effort for us.


* If you drive, get a GPS or GPS app - I bought the iGo iphone app for Costa Rica and it worked great (the user interface is terrible but it got us to our destinations).

Room Tip: This would be a great place for a group or family to get multiple rooms together because the balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
3.2 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
701 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
665 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
486 reviews
9.9 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banana Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banana Azul

Address: Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $59 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Banana Azul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banana Azul hotel is a small and simple hotel north of town on Playa Negra. The small boutique hotel has been created with care using local products and a philosophy that emphasizes relaxation. We cater to adults, 16 years and over. Blooming gardens adorn the property, as does several freely-hanging hammocks, providing the perfect spot for afternoon napping or leisurely reading. A meandering pond inhabited by fish and turtles flows through portions of the property adding a lighter element to the ongoing natural soundtrack of waves crashing against the shoreline. The hotel consists of 22 beautiful guest rooms with private baths, fans (some with A/C), and free WiFi. Most rooms are on the second floor of the main building, and open onto a large veranda with sweeping ocean views and of the garden. Banana Azul offers its guests a quaint restaurant that serves a complimentary filling breakfast, variety of lunch options and refreshing drinks throughout the day and a relaxing three entre dinner option in a romantic atmosphere at night. Caribe Fun Tours is on site to assist with tours and transportation needs and can assist with a variety of package options including visits to the Arenal Volcano, canopy tours, snorkeling trips, and even rafting excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Banana Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Azul Hotel
Banana Azul Puerto Viejo
Hotel Banana Azul Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing