We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded my (high) expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Banana Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Banana Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded my (high) expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed at Banana Azul with my boyfriend for a week last week. I booked this hotel after pouring through the reviews for this and the other hotels in this area and I had very high expectations. I am happy to report that the hotel and staff exceeded all that I had hoped for.

We stayed in the Dolphin room, an end room with a wrap around balcony. The room was spotless, the wood the hotel is made of glowed with warmth, the deck and hammock were perfect. It was wonderful to fall asleep to the sounds of the ocean and jungle. The garden and grounds were absolutely immaculate. The beach was beautiful and well kept.

The meals we had at the hotel were very tasty. Breakfast is generous and there are choices every day. We had a couple of dinners there and they were quite good, especially the fish we had the first night we arrived. I had lunch at the hotel a couple of times when I didn't feel like going to town and the selections were very tasty. I didn't really feel like a whole lunch though... While on vacation I prefer to have a breakfast and dinner and just snack lightly during the day instead of a full lunch. I would have loved to be able to purchase a muffin or cheese plate or fruit, just something light to tide me through to evening. It would have been nice to have the option of smaller snacks. I prefer not to keep food in my room in the tropics to avoid attracting bugs, so I didn't have snacks of my own on hand.

I strongly recommend getting out and sampling the fare in the area. There is a lot of great food.

Colin is a gracious host, and his hotel is very well run. He has attracted and retained a wonderful staff from Leo the night guard (what a sweetie) to the fabulous bartenders. Every where you turn is a friendly smile and a laugh. I don't think I've been treated better.

We made several friends with other travelers at the hotel, the layout of the lounge area and bar are such that it is easy to visit with other guests if that is your desire.

Do be sure follow their advice to stay off the beach at night, off of dark roads, etc. The area is no more dangerous that any other tourist destination but, as anywhere, it is important to take extra precaution in an area that you don't know.

I will definitely stay here again if I come back to the Puerto Viejo area.

PS. Don't tell Franklin but AnnyRosa's mojitos are the best!

Room Tip: Loved the Dolphin room, would be happy to stay in any of the second floor Ocean View rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _Browner_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,086
    236
    47
    13
    13
See reviews for
109
884
92
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here 6 nights with our daughter for her college spring break. Shared one room - one double, one twin ( not a roll away). The porch with hammock and table and chairs was a great place to read, photograph birds and look for sloths in the trees. The gardens are beautiful, the food was great, and the drinks were outstanding. Loved having coffee on the beach in the morning, taking a walk and coming back for breakfast. Ate here for all but one dinner ( garlic shrimp were excellent). The staff were very efficient and everyone spoke English - very helpful! The owners have created a very unique hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in an Ocean View room, overlooking the pool. Think the second floor is better because of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandysuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Clean rooms - paper thin walls - unlimited hot water. Nice and mellow - beautiful grounds all the way to the beach! Boutique - right next to the ocean and hidden in the jungle. The best bartender in Costa Rica - great mojitos. Great Food

My only complaint......BLACK SAND - looks like dirt.

Room Tip: I stayed in the 1 Sloth Cabana if you wanted to sleep during the day on the hammock, there was lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glam101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and what a pleasure it was!! Everything was perfect. We stayed in the second floor, which did get noisy at times; however, it did not bother us as we were out in the town for all three nights. It was wonderful the sleep with the doors open and fall asleep to the sound of the ocean. We only ate a few meals there, but the meals that we did have were priced fairly and were tasty. The only reason that I did not rate our stay as excellent was because there were several occasions we went to the beach and there were no cabanas (or chairs) because large families were using them (although they were not staying at the hotel). This was slightly inconvenient and my husband and I feel that if we are paying to stay at the hotel we should have access to use everything the hotel has to offer. Other then that, everything was great and we would certainly go back :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwagner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinsito, Owner at Hotel Banana Azul, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks very much for your positive review. I appreciate that despite you valid issue regarding chairs on the beach, that you did not let it ruin your stay. I know it would be awkward, but if you had mentioned it to us, we could of possibly made a couple available. But, I would probably react the same way not wanting to make an issue out of something that does not seem like a really big deal.

We agree wholeheartedly with your concern and are looking at ways to deal with it. The chairs on the beach are new for us and we have to be sensitive that it is a public beach. However, the chairs are not. Some people feel that anything that is put on the beach is considered for public use.

Easter week is the busiest week of the year at all beach locations. The local Costa Ricans come from all over Costa Rica just to spend the weekend at the beach. In an effort to keep the peace and try and make Easter week go as smoothly as possible, we just accept the fact that our facilities will be overrun with locals.

In an effort to try and make it clear that chairs are private, we will putting signs on empty chairs making it clear that chairs are reserved hotel and restaurant patrons.

Our biggest challenge this Easter was trying to keep the quads off the beach. It is illegal, but at Easter, all the law enforcement is stretched and other things take priority. We did succeed however and managed to get the last 2 days with a more serene environment.

I usually like Semana Santa here. It reminds me when I was young and our parents took us to the beach. While I do like seeing people out enjoying the beaches, I have to admit, I am happy when it is over.

We hope we can host you again in future. cheers, Colin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliff, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Other reviews have very accurate and well worded physical descriptions of Banana Azul so I will skip that in this review. For my wife and I, Banana Azul was exactly what we were looking for. It is an oasis of comfort, relaxation, warmth (the atmosphere) and welcoming in a 'yet to be developed' (from a tourism perspective) area of Costa Rica. The local area is beautiful, somewhat raw and earthy and a joy to explore. So, when returning to Banana Azul after what ever activities we had experienced throught the day, that feeling of comfort and relaxation was perfect! Everything we needed was there and laid out in a way that just works. The staff are a very strong part of Banana Azul, they are accomodating, friendly and helpful in an honest way, kinda like the way a friend would help you out, while still remaining very professional. The beach is steps away, and one of my personal favorite touches from this hotel is the coffee served on the beach from 6am !! After a morning run along the beach, to come back and sit on a lounger and drink fresh coffee while watching the crashing waves was a little slice of heaven. The owners are very attentive to the needs/requestes of all guests and are always available.We ate most of our meals there and wow, both quality and quantity will not dissapoint. From a value for money point of view the 'bang for your buck' is outstanding at BA. So, in summary, if you have decided to visit this area of CR and you're reading every review on places to stay, then look no further, Banana Azul is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_C_in_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Banana Azul (Blue Banana) is constructed of light and dark hardwoods throughout with a very inviting open lounge area. Situated between the main highway and the beach, the hotel is surrounded by heavy foliage of tropical plants, trees, and a Koi pond that borders and runs the length of the patio. The atmosphere is somewhat secluded and filled with the indigenous sounds of the tropics, creating a favorable mood of solitude. You can hear the waves of the Caribbean Sea crashing against the beach about 150 feet or so from the hotel’s patio.
"The atmosphere is somewhat secluded and filled with the indigenous sounds of the tropics, creating a favorable mood of solitude".

Our bedroom offered an eclectic décor with the floors covered in beautiful hardwoods, Asian style bamboo ceilings, sliding parlor doors framed in a beautiful dark red mahogany and glass. A colorful hammock hung in the adjoining room which had a rock garden, accompanied by a huge tub constructed in miniature shades of aqua green tile, a large grey porcelain shower stall adjacent to the tub completes the extended part of the hotel room.

The hotel has approximately 16 unique rooms, which includes a small apartment building in the front. Complimentary Wi-Fi was available throughout the hotel and the beach area. Fresh fruit mixed drinks and full bar service offered along with some pleasing cuisine options in the restaurant. The food was good and moderately priced. Accompanying the regular menu is a chef’s special created every night which was satisfactory. We loved the hotel, staff, décor and location, it was just as we imagined it to be and beyond.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chowjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel is very nicely done. The staff is friendly, yet professional and accommodating. The hotel grounds are beautiful and include a goldfish pond which surrounds the restaurant and bar area. They obviously have a very skilled landscaper on staff. The rooms are small but the balconies which have ocean views more than make up for it. Who wants to stay in the room anyway...? We arrived a little late, about 9:00pm, and were met with a complimentary cocktail of our choice. The complimentary hot breakfast each morning consisted of a choice of two items, different each morning, and was made to order and served to us at our table. There is also fruit, cereal and coffee and tea available.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R0sie_Rue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
3.0 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
9.8 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banana Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banana Azul

Property: Hotel Banana Azul
Address: Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Banana Azul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banana Azul hotel is a small and simple hotel north of town on Playa Negra. The small boutique hotel has been created with care using local products and a philosophy that emphasizes relaxation. We cater to adults, 16 years and over. Blooming gardens adorn the property, as does several freely-hanging hammocks, providing the perfect spot for afternoon napping or leisurely reading. A meandering pond inhabited by fish and turtles flows through portions of the property adding a lighter element to the ongoing natural soundtrack of waves crashing against the shoreline. The hotel consists of fourteen beautiful guest rooms with private baths, fans, and free wireless internet. Most rooms are on the second floor of the main building, and open onto a large veranda with sweeping ocean views and of the garden. Banana Azul offers its guests a quaint restaurant that serves a complimentary filling breakfast, variety of lunch options and refreshing drinks throughout the day and a relaxing three entre dinner option in a romantic atmosphere at night. Gecko Trail Adventures tour company is on site to assist with tours and transportation needs and can assist with a variety of package options including visits to the Arenal Volcano, canopy tours, snorkeling trips, and even rafting excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Banana Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Azul Hotel
Banana Azul Puerto Viejo
Hotel Banana Azul Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing