We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Banana Azul
Nearby Hotels
$195
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$132
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Costa de Papito(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
VIP Hotel Playa Negra(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$142
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Escape Caribeno(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$77
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Blue Conga(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tierra de Suenos Lodge(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$96
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Perla del Caribe(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Boutique Indalo(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$65
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Playa Chiquita Lodge(Playa Chiquita)
$62
$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,611)
Filter reviews
1,611 results
Traveler rating
1,255
273
54
15
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,255
273
54
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshowler suiteocean roomthe red frog roomfun tourscosta ricakoi pondin towntour desklarge balconyour honeymoondogs and catssan josebrowniewalk along the beachopen airpura vidalounge chairs
Filter
Updating list...
838 - 843 of 1,611 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I could not say enough good things about Banana Azul. We stayed a month in Puerto Viejo in a house we rented close to this hotel. We had most of our meals here and enjoyed the wonderful beach club. Even though we weren't in a room at the hotel we got the VIP treatment, because that's just how they treat people. The hotel's owner, Colin, is an amazingly nice person. All the staff are first rate. And the hotel and beach are by far the nicest in the area. The hotel has a beautiful garden, like nothing I've seen anywhere. If you are coming to the south coast of the Caribbean side of Costa Rica, and you are looking for a small, chic hotel experience, this is THE place.

Room Tip: If your budget can swing if, go for the room that faces the ocean. But, I'm sure all the rooms are lovely. The Sloth Cabanas look very cute,.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Banana Azul has an amazing ambience while being affordable. We stayed in one of the smaller Sloth Cabina rooms, but it was very nice and we enjoyed the balcony. The common/dining area is great and we really enjoyed watching the fish during breakfast. We didn't eat any other meals there because there are lots of other good places to eat in Puerto Viejo. We just liked the feel of the place. They really paid attention to all the details and it is on the beach instead of across a road from the beach. We also didn't use the beach (were only there for two nights), but loved having it right there.

Room Tip: We didn't see the larger rooms over the main building, but we really liked our Sloth Cabina (not really a cabina, just a cute little room).
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snorkelerNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Staff very friendly, especially the barteneder was great. Rooms are ok but for the price we found it a bit expensive, the garden and pool of the hotel great though. Had dinner 1 night there and was not that impressed, and went into town the other nights

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnJohnsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights Feb 20 - 22 and had the Dolphin room and loved the openness and never closed the doors during my whole stay. Breakfasts are included with the room and had 1 dinner and the food was great. The staff are so friendly and go out of their way to help you with anything. The grounds are gorgeous. The pool was great for cooling off in during the day.

Found the ocean too rough for swimming but perfect for reading all day under the little huts they have on the beach. Also walked up and down the beach during the day and night and not a soul around, it was great.

Rented a bike at Banana Azul the first day and at first was very nervous with the traffic but there were so many other bikes my nervousness went away quickly. Biked 12km to Manzanilla and stayed there for a few hours and the beaches were nicer there to swim in and watched surfers. During my bike ride the chain came off and I had no problem fixing it and when I mentioned this to the staff they didn't charge me for the bike rental, which wasn't expected but a very nice gesture.

Highly recommend the Jaguar Rescue Center and again rented a bike and got there for their 11:30am tour. The volunteer guide Andre was great and saw so many animals up close and learned a lot.

Overall a great place to just relax and perfect ending to my stay in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Next time I would pick the rooms closer to the beach as I was near the entrance and near another set of rooms called the Sloth rooms and people there were loud talkers.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lv2traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very nice gardens, loved location to beach. Food above average. Management was very nice and attentive. Only negative was the noise from back roads and also cars pulling into parking lot if staying in the Sloth Cabinas.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sddenoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews