We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Blue Banana will never leave you feeling Blue but smiling”
Review of Hotel Banana Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Banana Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Blue Banana will never leave you feeling Blue but smiling”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Beautiful grounds, beautiful accommodations & a very friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    242
    48
    15
    13
See reviews for
114
913
97
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Banana Azul. The staff were very friendly and the food was good too.
The gardens are beautiful and kept immaculate. We could walk or bike into Puerto Viejo and the beach was just across the road. We went on a couple of trips arranged by Gecko Adventures, who are based at the hotel and had excellent guides to ourselves both times.
The owners and staff were very helpful and we would definitely recommend Banana Azul.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robandalison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I am a professional horticulturist. The garden plants at this hotel are arranged in an inventive way. The Lotus Pool near the cabana is exceptional. The Bromeliads in the showers are such a great idea. So enough about plants, already! If that's not your thing, you will be impressed with the attractively designed rooms, the delicious menus, the chaise on the beach....Extra architectural features of the hotel demonstrate a place that gives alot to its guests for a very fair price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Staff was wonderful, Property is well kepted and gorgeous. Only thing didn't care for was the condition of the linens on the bed. Could use some new ones. Other than that, it was the best lodging in Puerto Viejo. Would I stay their again for sure. Upon checking in our room was one without tv. The girl at reception said you won't need it. She was right. Stayed three wonderful nights. Thanks David

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5127ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinsito, Owner at Hotel Banana Azul, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Thanks for your great review and feedback. We have since ordered a full inspection of the linens to see what is not adequate. With all local help around here; they do not replace anything until it is absolutely of no use. Thanks for reminding us, that we need to step in.

We are glad you had a great stay. Cheers, Colin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoughton,ma
Level Contributor
160 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

we stayed at the banana azul for 5 wonderful days and nights. the grounds are amazing, the secluded beach just what we wanted, a delicious breakfast to start the day, and a caring friendly staff. we stayed in one of the garden bath rooms which were an interesting concept. the small bedroom had a large bed with a/c and tv. then you walked through a glass door into a very large room with plexiglass ceilings and a hammock and a huge 2-person bathtub. this led to a full bathroom. this was a most unique and interesting set-up that we thoroughly enjoyed. our friends stayed in the ocean view room upstairs which had no a/c or tv, but did enjoy the large room and beautiful veranda with an ocean view. this hotel blended all the amenities together without making it feel like one of those resorts that could be anywhere in the world. this was definitely costa rica and you could taste and sense it. exactly what we were looking for.

steve

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This was our 3rd trip to Banana Azul in the last 3 years. We absolutely love this hotel and all of the staff.

The staff are one of the main reasons we come back every year. Everyone is so friendly and helpful!

The hotel itself and the grounds/beach are meticulously maintained and the food and drinks are delicious.

Thank you Colin and Roberto for another excellent vacation. We will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l_mitchell85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Thank you Banana Azul for everything. Your staff was awesome. The rooms were better than I could have imagined, along with the views. The food and drinks were also great. I can't say enough good things about you guys! Thanks again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heidianderic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
3.2 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,014 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
633 reviews
9.9 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
161 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banana Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banana Azul

Property: Hotel Banana Azul
Address: Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Banana Azul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banana Azul hotel is a small and simple hotel north of town on Playa Negra. The small boutique hotel has been created with care using local products and a philosophy that emphasizes relaxation. We cater to adults, 16 years and over. Blooming gardens adorn the property, as does several freely-hanging hammocks, providing the perfect spot for afternoon napping or leisurely reading. A meandering pond inhabited by fish and turtles flows through portions of the property adding a lighter element to the ongoing natural soundtrack of waves crashing against the shoreline. The hotel consists of 22 beautiful guest rooms with private baths, fans (some with A/C), and free WiFi. Most rooms are on the second floor of the main building, and open onto a large veranda with sweeping ocean views and of the garden. Banana Azul offers its guests a quaint restaurant that serves a complimentary filling breakfast, variety of lunch options and refreshing drinks throughout the day and a relaxing three entre dinner option in a romantic atmosphere at night. Caribe Fun Tours is on site to assist with tours and transportation needs and can assist with a variety of package options including visits to the Arenal Volcano, canopy tours, snorkeling trips, and even rafting excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Banana Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Azul Hotel
Banana Azul Puerto Viejo
Hotel Banana Azul Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing