We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place ever!”
Review of Hotel Banana Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Banana Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Durango, CO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best place ever!”
Reviewed December 6, 2007

We were going to leave our hotel options open upon the arrival to Puerto Viejo, and only reserved the 1st night at Banana Azul. But, when we arrived we decided to just stay there for all 3 nights. It was
the best decision of our 18 day trip to Costa Rica.

Colin & all of the staff are the most helpful, friendly and truly wonderful people we met on our trip. At one point my husband and I were trying to figure out if we should rent a car later on in our travels so they looked up the car rental place, and even called the car rental place to let them know that we would be in touch to reserve
a car. They also set up a raft trip for us, and even woke us up to make sure we weren’t going to miss our ride.

Our room was spectacular and well worth the price. As a matter of fact
it was the best deal we had on the entire trip. We had one on the lower level, so didn’t get an ocean view, but… we had our own hug tile
tub on the outside deck area with a hammock and a separate bathroom with hot water. There was no A/C, and it did get a little hot a night,
but the fan was good enough to get us to sleep. There is 24 hr internet access, beer in the cooler & dogs to walk you to and from the beach (which is just a few steps away from the hotel). Everything is on the honor system, and you write down how long you were on the internet or if you took a beer. We thought that it was a really smart and trustworthy way to run a business.

They have bike rentals for $6 a day...which we used every day because the hotel was about a mile from town. Which was kind of nice to be away from all the commotion of town because it was nice and quiet at Banana Azul.

We’ll be back for sure!

  • Liked — Everything was GREAT!
  • Disliked — It was a little hot in the evenings, even with the fan
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank kmdurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,147
    244
    48
    15
    13
See reviews for
118
927
99
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The weather was a little more damp than we would have hoped due to it being the end of the wet season However that the chance you take at that time of the year. We stayed in the Sloth Cabinas. It was truley assume. The rooms was quite attractive accented with tropical wood and tastefully decorated with local art. I believe that these are the cheapest rooms so we were pleasantly surprised with the spacious patio which is shared between the 2 cabinas and nicely designed bathroom. Collin and the rest of the staff were A+ they were more than happy to try to get ahold of the local dive shops( Really only one in town and a small outpost in manzanillo). Unfortunately I wasn't able to book a dive trip but based on tips from the staff we took the bus to manzanillo and spent a wonderful day hiking the Bio reserve of south of town heading towards the panama border. Thanks for the Memories Collin and Staff. .

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Location(Distance from Town)
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank patamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2007

We loved this place. The rooms were clean and well kept. The property is off the beaten path and feels very safe (there is private security at night). The hosts are particularly welcoming and helpful as well as their staff (the ones that we met).
The hotel (resort) is right on the beach and you'll be pleasantly surprised to find yourselves as the only patrons of the beach most times.
The trip into town is relatively short (we had our own car ie. about 3 minutes along a bumpy road) however, if you want to stay at the Banana Azul then breakfast is provided (it was always something different for the 5 days we stayed) and most days lunch and dinner were also available for a modest fee should you decide to stay at the resort (tell them in advance).
There are many activities to do while staying there. We visited the Chocolate Lady (well worth the trip - although, pretty expensive chocolates), hiked Cahuita National Park - you might get a guide "latch" on to you - at first it's a bit unnerving but they really know where to look for the things we may have otherwise missed (snakes, sloths, monkeys, etc), Canopy tour - fun but short on the interpretation. It was more of a theme-park ride through the forest than an interpretive ride/ hike/ tour/ of the upper rainforest canopy. The Southern beaches are well worth exploring providing diversity, golden beaches, tranquility and solitude (as well as some fun waves).

  • Liked — Colin and Roberto
  • Disliked — Being charged for the night we couldn't make it (landslide)
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Briley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2007

This is a really great place just steps from a very nice deserted beach and a short walk (15 - 20 minutes) from town. The grounds and rooms are wonderful, spacious and clean and the staff are very nice and will help you with anything you want to do. At night the common areas are lit up beautifully and the hotel resembles an oasis in the jungle.

Breakfast in the morning was good and they had the coffee ready at 7am for early risers. This was a good time to meet and socialize with our fellow travelers.

The owners have 5 dogs and one cat, all of them are very charming and friendly and will leave you alone if you ignore them but keep this in mind if for some reason you don't like pets. Personally I loved the dogs and the cat and enjoyed taking walks on the beach with the dogs and throwing sticks for them to fetch.

The town of Puerto Viejo has nice restaurants, inexpensive sodas and a funky vibe and we honestly did not have a bad meal there. Not once did I feel threatened while walking around or were we accosted by anyone for any reason. Just use common sense and take normal precautions.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mtbtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, AK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2007

We stayed in the Howler Suite for our honeymoon. The room was beautiful and Colin was very welcoming and informative. We originally booked our stay for 3 nights but it was cut short due to the fact that my new wife's face was bitten all over by ants while we were asleep-two nights in a row. The place appears to be really clean and pretty but upon further inspection we were disappointed because the jacuzzi tub had not been cleaned (which augustine quickly fixed) but then later it took about an hour to fill the tub because the water pressure was pretty weak.. also, this room is a suite but not very private as you can hear the staff down below in the kitchen and your neighbors are just on the other side of a little bamboo divider on the deck. ..not so great for privacy! In addition, there was a funky smell that seemed to be coming from the drain pipes in the bathroom. The place does have a great location right on a beautiful beach. Colin was very kind and understanding about our complaints and did his best to accomodate us.

  • Liked — proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — the ants
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank lanmarwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
3.2 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
686 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,031 reviews
9.9 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
174 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banana Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banana Azul

Property: Hotel Banana Azul
Address: Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Banana Azul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banana Azul hotel is a small and simple hotel north of town on Playa Negra. The small boutique hotel has been created with care using local products and a philosophy that emphasizes relaxation. We cater to adults, 16 years and over. Blooming gardens adorn the property, as does several freely-hanging hammocks, providing the perfect spot for afternoon napping or leisurely reading. A meandering pond inhabited by fish and turtles flows through portions of the property adding a lighter element to the ongoing natural soundtrack of waves crashing against the shoreline. The hotel consists of 22 beautiful guest rooms with private baths, fans (some with A/C), and free WiFi. Most rooms are on the second floor of the main building, and open onto a large veranda with sweeping ocean views and of the garden. Banana Azul offers its guests a quaint restaurant that serves a complimentary filling breakfast, variety of lunch options and refreshing drinks throughout the day and a relaxing three entre dinner option in a romantic atmosphere at night. Caribe Fun Tours is on site to assist with tours and transportation needs and can assist with a variety of package options including visits to the Arenal Volcano, canopy tours, snorkeling trips, and even rafting excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Banana Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Azul Hotel
Banana Azul Puerto Viejo
Hotel Banana Azul Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing