We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to get there.”
Review of Kaya's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kaya's Place
1 review
“Easy to get there.”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Ask chofer to stop at the hostel, aprox. 200m before basstation. Close to the beach playa negra. Close to shops and restaurants and to more beaches. Fancyful painted inside. Ask for a room not just above the bar if yoy want to go to sleep early. In our room we couldn't hear the waves from the sea because of the trafic. There are cosy alojaments in the garden that might be better in that opion. People are nice and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fibblan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    59
    24
    25
    20
See reviews for
21
51
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
victoria bc canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

I'm more of a hotel person but loved Kayas place ...my room was clean it's in a great location ...except at night where you can't walk at night across the bridge but taxis are around so make sure you take one!...

I think people get the "real" owner nice guy name JT..and the pretend miserable negative man "Anthony" confused in previous reviews ..

The staff is lovely there and most are volunteers ..well this guy Anthony acts like he is the owner and gives a great place a bad name...I've seen him belittle staff (volunteers) in front of guests and made them upset and cry..he even is super rude to guests calling them stupid and all sorts of names.

Still loved it here and would stay again!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travel-queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

I loved staying here, it was one of the best accomodations on my Costa Rica trip. Yes, it's a bit outside of the city but that's what makes its charme. I would've never wanted to stay in town - too dusty and sometimes noisy. The house it built of wood with nice colorful paintings on the wall, the front is open to the beach which is right across the street and it's really quiet and pieceful while you can still have a great evening with a couple of drinks at the bar/restaurant with super nice staff that make you feel like it's your home really fast. Don't expect binge drinking till 3am, but some nice draught beer, ice cold Imperial or even cocktails, long drinks or shots till late evening. The chillout area in front and in the first floor with hammocks and sofas makes it easy to meet other travellers. All stuff is very nice and helpful if it comes to laundry service, bike rental, tour booking. It's a 5 minute walk to town which is really nice and offers some restaurants, bars, shops. If you rent a bike (available at the hotel) you can visit the beautiful beaches south of town. Yes, the beach in front is not the most beautiful one but the one in town is neither. So go by bike, car or quad south and explore the beaches and nice cafes on the road. Beautiful!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diepunika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed here for the weekend- its a few minutes walk from town, and across the street from the black sand beach. We only booked one night because it was a little expensive and we wanted to shop around for a cheaper hostel- but decided to stay a second because we could have the same room. My husband and I opt for a private room now that we're married, which was very clean and nicely decorated.

The beds were not the most comfortable, and we brought better pillows. They have free parking, and very friendly/helpful staff. I would say that the WiFi could be better.

Good place to stay if you want a little nicer than a bunk room/cold shower hostel.

Room Tip: More expensive rooms are worth it if you prefer privacy and AC, if not they have dorm rooms that are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

So good, really friendly and really nice rooms. Met so many people and had a bonfire on the beach would definitely recommend for those travelling on a low budget. Felt like family after the first few days!! Good beaches and shopping everyone knows everyone

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2014

we loved staying here. the place is vibrant and cheery. All the staff were friendly and always willing to help. The bar tender was great and we tried some amazing new drinks he mixed up for us. their food is yummy too. cheesy fries were our fave, simple but delish. Kaya's Place has a very relaxed and homey feel to it you just go in drop your bags and chill out in the hammocks on the balcony, go and play some pool or cross the road to the beach. The wall murals just make the place amazing. We stayed in a room for four with a private bathroom. the room had fans which are needed. Its good value for money and the staff are honest. We will be going back as the rooms were clean and comfy, the service was efficient and friendly and the food was delicious. we would recommend any one to stay there for a wonderful experience. Happy holidays guys.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabethN126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Staying at Kaya's place was great! It's just on the outskirts of town, which is great if you want some quiet at night. The town is small and quaint so you don't have to walk far to get anywhere. As per usual, take the normal safety precautions you'd take anywhere in the world (i.e. don't go to the beach at night, keep an eye on your belongings). The owner was friendly and even offered us a good deal for the week. We were able to rent bikes and the beach was right across the street. The vibe is chill and relaxing but you can always walk 2 minutes into town to change things up. We stayed in apartment with a kitchen which was well worth it to save money on eating out. They're hoping to introduce new things, so this place is progressing as well !

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zoë N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#5 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
#61 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
112 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Moabi
Casa Moabi
#3 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cabinas Coconut Grove
Cabinas Coconut Grove
#17 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
55 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
#67 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
65 reviews
3.4 mi away
Playa Chiquita Lodge
Playa Chiquita Lodge
#64 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaya's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaya's Place

Property: Kaya's Place
Address: In Front of Playa Negra | Before Last Bridge Into Town, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kaya's Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Door is Always Open at Kaya's Place... Kaya's Place is a 26 room lodge on the stunning Black Beach in Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica. Built in the Afro-Caribbean "Rustico" style, the hotel is artistic and unique. Local woods and materials have been used in their natural state, making each room different and beautiful. Every space you encounter will be a pleasurable experience. The sound of the waves is always in the background, soothing and tranquil, guaranteed to take you away from the stress of everyday life. Inside the hotel, you will find many places to relax. The reception area is more like a living room, with a gigantic sofa, television, people to chat with and view of the ocean. The large deck upstairs has a wonderful ocean view with hammocks and sofas - perfect for reading or taking a siesta. In the back, gardens line the walkway, filled with local plants and flowers. A covered sitting area in the garden offers another opportunity to meet and enjoy the company of others while you stay with us. Our restaurant is spacious and open with view of the ocean and a small creek with fish, water lilies, crab and other water life. Located in Puerto Viejo on the Caribbean Coast, the area is blessed with natural beauty in the form of dense jungle with impressive flora and fauna and some of the world's most beautiful beaches. Kaya's Place is part of the growing eco-tourism industry that supports the preservation of almost 2 million square meters of primary rainforest. Taxes from this industry support the many national reserves and efforts to maintain the natural resources. We are dedicated to preserving these resources while sharing it with all the people that come to know this amazingly beautiful part of Costa Rica. Our recent renovation of Kaya's Place was completed with the same philosophy. No lumber or materials were taken from the primary rainforest. Much was recycled wood or dead fall from local farms and lumber that had washed up from the ocean and rivers. With these natural and renewable materials, we achieved a unique character with rustic and artistic designs. Also all the walls are painted by hand, with many details and awesome drawings. BE OUR ECO-GUEST Our Door is Always Open at Kaya's Place - We Hope to See You Soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Kaya's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaya`s Place Hotel Puerto Viejo
Kayas Place Puerto Viejo
Kayas Place Hotel Puerto Viejo
Kaya's Place Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing