We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kaya's Place
Nearby Hotels
$195
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Costa de Papito(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$128
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Escape Caribeno(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$71
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Banana Azul(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Shawandha Lodge(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Boutique Indalo(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$65
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Blue Conga(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Maritza(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coco Loco Lodge(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
$61
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveler rating
108
67
27
26
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
67
27
26
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscraft beerthe ownerpata negrain towngreat beerthe black sand beachcosta ricaprivate bathroomtop bunkpura vidarent a bikestayed two nightscool placelaid backcentral americajtbrewery
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 251 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Close to town, but far enough away to be able to get a good nights sleep. The staff is great, especially Kendra the girl at the front desk!! I miss relaxing in one of the hammocks on the upstairs balcony overlooking the ocean!! It's basic accommodations but as long as you do not have unrealistic expectations about what you get for a $30 room, you won't be disappointed!! for $50 you can upgrade to a room with AC if the heat is too much for you, as long as there is availability. We stayed here one night on the way to Bocas del toro, Panama and on the way back. A special thanks to the owner TJ who was kind enough to let us keep our rental car parked on the property and most of our luggage in the office so we only had to bring a small bag with us on our side trip to Panama!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tedward76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great place to stay and super friendly but make sure you ask for a room with air conditioning because if you don't you won't sleep well, love the fact that the restaurant and bar are there for the evening.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with air conditioning
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa_19672013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I had stayed in two other places, yet Kaya's staff was the most friendly and accomodating; their low rates allowed me to experience other wonderful places in the region (jaguar rescue center, cacao plantation, cahuita national forest, relax visits with the locals). The owner (JT) is warm and welcoming, the cook (Dulce) prepares the best salads ever, the front desk person (Shamari) was very helpful and friendly. I love Kaya's and will return again!

Room Tip: Travelled sola, and so I got just what I needed--a small room, windows, and a fan, clean towels and sheet, shared showers and bathrooms very clean. My time was spent outdoors, so simplicity was all I needed; whether rooms in front or back, noise was not an issue.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rossana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We spent the last days of our Central America trip at Kaya's place and had a great time! The place is located on the beach and a 5 minute walk away from Puerto Viejo. This means it is close to the fun, but still nice and quiet. Make sure to taste TJ's own brewed beer and eat some of Christopher's delicious specials! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed here for 10 weeks and loved every moment. The staff is great and very courteous. There is a guard on duty every night for those who may not feel safe. The owner is a great guy to hang out with and drink some homemade brew and talk about Phish concerts. Definitely bring your iPod to hook up to the stereo and he'll be glad to let you crank your tunes. One of the great things about Kaya's is that it is just outside of town so you can get both quiet and solitude while also having access to all the amenities. Seriously, if you are planning to go to Puerto, check this place out. If you see Linda give her some hot dogs (she's the house dog) and she'll be your best friend.

Say hi to Mike and his volcano if he's still there.

Room Tip: I stayed in Apt 2 which had a kitchen. It was very spacious and very cool. Only thing is it had a fan rather than air but that led me to keep my doors open whenever I was there so it added to the fun.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jason k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews