We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super-friendly staff in a sea of gringos!”
Review of Kaya's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kaya's Place
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Viejo is a gringo-town, no doubt about it. Of all the places I stayed in CR, this town by far has the most amount of tourists and expats. This little joint is owned by fellow from Vermont who is super kind. All of the staff speak great English. It's situated right across the beach and about a 5 minute walk away from all the hustle and bustle of the town. Food here is all Italian (great pizzas and sandwhiches but don't expect anything healthy). The American-style breakfast is delicious. They also brew there own honey beer here which is heavy on the honey side.

Expect a lot of old American dudes, blues and classic rock playing non-stop, and lots of places to lounge around (including a few hammocks). The rooms are clean and cool enough -- open air with fans. Prices were decent. Laundry service is a plus. WiFi is respectable. Many of the rooms do not have a private bathroom but they keep the shared toilets and (freezing cold) showers relatively clean. There's also a pool table in back. Fun place -- loved the vibe!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 241 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We were excited about staying here and in the end we were let down. We called ahead and booked a room for 2 nights and left our number. After we drove 10 hours, we were informed that the room we booked was not available and that we could only stay one night. They didn't call us or suggest any alternative options. The room was musty with only 1 towel, 1 coffee mug, and a broken coffee maker. The bathroom smelled like it hadn't been cleaned in months. Our outside light did not work. Too bad because the buildings themselves are beautifully decorated with amazing murals and tile work.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LionelMartina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Very affordable, very friendly staff who welcomed us when we arrived. The restaurant/bar downstairs offers excellent food (no, really!). There was a regular hum of music and conversation at night, but nothing unpleasant. We stayed in the budget room, which still had a comfy full size bed and even a room cleaning service daily. It gets a little hot on the side facing the street, but with the fan on we slept fine. We had a great time in this town, and Kaya's was the perfect place to stay. The beach right across the road is great, and just a (3 km) bike ride away is some awesome snorkeling! Definitely a great value, and family friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are warmer at night and you can hear people talking on the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 84CB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Friendly, welcoming staff, great breakfast, great location (main street 3 mins walk, beach is opposite). Ok, the rooms arn't the cleanest and they do smell of damp, but they look fantastic, - apartments with sofa, lounge and bedroom in the jungle!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drummingboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

For me, Kayas Place was the best choice in Puerto Viejo. A quiet locaiton only 200 m from town, a wonderfull Playa Negra just across the street.... Very friendly atmosphere and staff, restaurant and bar where you never get bored....espetially when the home made Honey - Mango Bier was on tap. A luxury beer, I loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We enjoye our stay at Kaya's place. It's ideally located by the beach (although I'd recommend walking/cycling further up for nice beaches) and very near the town and supermarkets.

We got given a nice garden room, and would recommend paying extra for this as the other rooms are very basic.

The food is very nice in their hotel restaurant, with delicious pizzas and cheap drink deals.

If you get your washing done with them make sure you give plenty of time, plus if you're going to rent a bike choose one of the places in town as they're cheaper than Kaya's place.

It was a very nice hotel though and we'd certainly stay here again if we're ever lucky enough to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin1987barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I've stayed at Kaya's Place multiple times and have had no problems. Kaya's is right next to the beach, its an amazing view and the staff is great! Dawna, Mau, Andy, Lorna, and all the rest of the staff are awesome and after staying at Kaya's I go there all the time to hang out and have a few drinks or eat dinner at the restaurant. Reasonably priced, great view, and close to town. :) Stay here!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
680 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,560 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Lizard King Hotel Resort
#36 of 57 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
216 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
#78 of 120 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaya's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaya's Place

Address: In Front of Playa Negra | Before Last Bridge Into Town, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $43 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kaya's Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Door is Always Open at Kaya's Place... Kaya's Place is a 26 room lodge on the stunning Black Beach in Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica. Built in the Afro-Caribbean "Rustico" style, the hotel is artistic and unique. Local woods and materials have been used in their natural state, making each room different and beautiful. Every space you encounter will be a pleasurable experience. The sound of the waves is always in the background, soothing and tranquil, guaranteed to take you away from the stress of everyday life. Inside the hotel, you will find many places to relax. The reception area is more like a living room, with a gigantic sofa, television, people to chat with and view of the ocean. The large deck upstairs has a wonderful ocean view with hammocks and sofas - perfect for reading or taking a siesta. In the back, gardens line the walkway, filled with local plants and flowers. A covered sitting area in the garden offers another opportunity to meet and enjoy the company of others while you stay with us. Our restaurant is spacious and open with view of the ocean and a small creek with fish, water lilies, crab and other water life. Located in Puerto Viejo on the Caribbean Coast, the area is blessed with natural beauty in the form of dense jungle with impressive flora and fauna and some of the world's most beautiful beaches. Kaya's Place is part of the growing eco-tourism industry that supports the preservation of almost 2 million square meters of primary rainforest. Taxes from this industry support the many national reserves and efforts to maintain the natural resources. We are dedicated to preserving these resources while sharing it with all the people that come to know this amazingly beautiful part of Costa Rica. Our recent renovation of Kaya's Place was completed with the same philosophy. No lumber or materials were taken from the primary rainforest. Much was recycled wood or dead fall from local farms and lumber that had washed up from the ocean and rivers. With these natural and renewable materials, we achieved a unique character with rustic and artistic designs. Also all the walls are painted by hand, with many details and awesome drawings. BE OUR ECO-GUEST Our Door is Always Open at Kaya's Place - We Hope to See You Soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Kaya's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaya`s Place Hotel Puerto Viejo
Kayas Place Puerto Viejo
Kayas Place Hotel Puerto Viejo
Kaya's Place Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing