We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The first class carribean experience”
Review of Kaya's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kaya's Place
Pilsen, Czech Republic
2 reviews
“The first class carribean experience”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

For me, Kayas Place was the best choice in Puerto Viejo. A quiet locaiton only 200 m from town, a wonderfull Playa Negra just across the street.... Very friendly atmosphere and staff, restaurant and bar where you never get bored....espetially when the home made Honey - Mango Bier was on tap. A luxury beer, I loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    59
    24
    25
    20
See reviews for
21
51
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We enjoye our stay at Kaya's place. It's ideally located by the beach (although I'd recommend walking/cycling further up for nice beaches) and very near the town and supermarkets.

We got given a nice garden room, and would recommend paying extra for this as the other rooms are very basic.

The food is very nice in their hotel restaurant, with delicious pizzas and cheap drink deals.

If you get your washing done with them make sure you give plenty of time, plus if you're going to rent a bike choose one of the places in town as they're cheaper than Kaya's place.

It was a very nice hotel though and we'd certainly stay here again if we're ever lucky enough to come back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin1987barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I've stayed at Kaya's Place multiple times and have had no problems. Kaya's is right next to the beach, its an amazing view and the staff is great! Dawna, Mau, Andy, Lorna, and all the rest of the staff are awesome and after staying at Kaya's I go there all the time to hang out and have a few drinks or eat dinner at the restaurant. Reasonably priced, great view, and close to town. :) Stay here!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Kaya's Place in Puerto Viejo is a dark place. The best thing it has going for it is the ocean across the street. The owner has a terrible reputation for being rude, and I can attest to this. It is unkept, rooms are moldy and the atmosphere, as I said, is dark. The bar houses a rough group of drinkers and what appears to be druggies, and i highly recommend that you do not bring children to this place. For the price, one would expect kind staff and cleanliness, but this does not exist. I highly recommend staying elsewhere, as there are many places in the same price range that deliver a much higher quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2012

It is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the beauty of the ocean and it's beach. The kitchen serves great food and at the bar you can find what you like. The vicinity of the town allows you to enjoy the walk around. You can rent a bike at the reception desk and enjoy a ride. It is a great place and I hope to come back one day... thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValdiChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I came to Kaya's place on a whim and was very pleasantly surprised. The staff was extremely friendly, warm, and welcoming. My room was well worth the inexpensive price and I enjoyed every minute of it. One of the staff even offered to give me amazing travel advice for the remainder of my trip and was very helpful. I recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling through Puerto Viejo. The beach is right across the street from the hotel and the murals on the walls are awesome! Make sure to rent the inexpensive bikes that they offer! I wanna go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelRothberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

we stayed in the budget part of the hotel and the experience was absolutely horrible!! I understand that it is a budget portion of the hotel, but that doesnt mean owners and staff should treat that portion any less!!! I read reviews of the other sections of hotel and was left scratching my head.  My sheets had stains and hair on them ... i will bet that the sheets were not changed after the previous guest!!! Our shower was disgusting and did not have sufficient water coming out of it...We ended up using the public showers at the end of the hallway, which were much better!! Our bathroom had a horrible stench!! We had 2X2 (if that!!!) pieces of mesh material in our room - above the main door, and beside the bathroom that provided no sound barrier at all! The hotel has a "10pm silence rule" that is clearly not adhered to. Guests hang out in hallway opening onto rooms facing ocean, and are loud and obnoxious! You can hear every car that goes by, every foot step, a cough, etc!! Silence rule with guests is not enforced! There are no air conditioning units, only fans on the wall infront of the beds, that make absolutely  horrible noises, making it impossible to sleep...not that we could!!!. The lady who runs the place talks to people like they are children and is condescending, which is incredibly rude. She has a very faux personality which I saw through within 30 seconds of arriving. The moment we arrived my instincts were not good, just based on this woman!!!! My roommate and I Were feasted on by the bed bugs we had in our beds !!! The bites ARE bed bugs bites !!! We counted bites before bed and when we woke up!!!  It was absolutely disgusting!!! I asked for a different room and would pay the difference and they said they were fully booked!! I would have slept on the ocean beach front across the street instead if I wasn't told it was a dangerous area. I would have also slept in the hammocks in the hallway if they weren't surrounded by cockroaches!!! I understand these bugs are natural in this part of the world and are more accepted here than in other parts, however, guests are used to and expect a level of hygiene and cleanliness, and this hotel does not provide it!!! Especially bed bugs!!!! I would never let anyone I knew stay here!!!! Terrible!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fireball911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kayasplace27500690, General Manager at Kaya's Place, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Fireball911,
We sincerely apologize for your absolutely horrible experience. We try our best to accommodate each guest, whether traveling with a group or alone, and while it is difficult to please everyone, we do go out of our way for each of our clients.
We are very sorry if you got bug bites during the night. We take every precaution to prevent bugs entering the rooms, from weekly inspections to monthly fumigations. We will increase our fumigation schedule. You are right, in the tropics it is a constant battle.
Our sheets are changed in between each guest, without fail. There may have been a stain, perhaps from a previous hotel guest using sunscreen or lotion and then sleeping in the bed, but we can assure you your sheets were washed before your bed was made. Normally our staff checks for permanent stains and replaces them but that stain must have been missed.
You are correct that the sheets were not changed during your two-night stay here. In the interest of water conservation we do not change the sheets during a guest's stay, unless they request it or if they stay more than three nights. You did not specify if the hair was found on arrival or after your first night. Please forgive the cleaning lady, it's possible that a hair fell on your bed while she was making it. Usually she ties her hair back when she works, but evidently a strand escaped and fell on your bed. We have spoken with her about it and she will make sure it doesn't happen again. Had you alerted the staff, your sheets would have been changed immediately.
On the nights you stayed here, yes, we were completely booked. When so many people comes back from their excursions in the afternoon and take showers, it lowers the water pressure. Normally we have strong water pressure throughout the complex, but it's difficult for our system to maintain maximum pressure when four or more showers are running. But we are happy that you were satisfied with the water pressure in the shared bathroom.
We apologize for the noise after 10:00pm. The other traveling group was celebrating their first night out, and they really enjoyed themselves until about 11:00pm. The noise should have stopped at 10:00pm, you are right. We are very sorry about that.
We're also sorry that the fans were not enough to cool you off. If you had alerted the staff, we would have put another fan in your room. If we would have had a room with air conditioning available, we would have offered it to you.
The lady running the place is a genuinely friendly person, and if her outgoing manner immediately seemed faux to you, it was unintentional. She is required to give arriving guests a
briefing, and if you sensed condescension, we are sorry. We have spoken with her about it, and she will apologize to you directly if you care to send us a message with your email address and/or phone number to info at kayasplace dot com.
We are truly sorry that your stay here did not meet your expectations. We hope that wherever you travel, you find the level of hygiene and cleanliness that you expect.
pura vida,
Kaya's Place Management Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#5 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
#60 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
112 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Moabi
Casa Moabi
#3 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cabinas Coconut Grove
Cabinas Coconut Grove
#18 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
55 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
#67 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
65 reviews
3.4 mi away
Playa Chiquita Lodge
Playa Chiquita Lodge
#64 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaya's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaya's Place

Property: Kaya's Place
Address: In Front of Playa Negra | Before Last Bridge Into Town, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kaya's Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Door is Always Open at Kaya's Place... Kaya's Place is a 26 room lodge on the stunning Black Beach in Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica. Built in the Afro-Caribbean "Rustico" style, the hotel is artistic and unique. Local woods and materials have been used in their natural state, making each room different and beautiful. Every space you encounter will be a pleasurable experience. The sound of the waves is always in the background, soothing and tranquil, guaranteed to take you away from the stress of everyday life. Inside the hotel, you will find many places to relax. The reception area is more like a living room, with a gigantic sofa, television, people to chat with and view of the ocean. The large deck upstairs has a wonderful ocean view with hammocks and sofas - perfect for reading or taking a siesta. In the back, gardens line the walkway, filled with local plants and flowers. A covered sitting area in the garden offers another opportunity to meet and enjoy the company of others while you stay with us. Our restaurant is spacious and open with view of the ocean and a small creek with fish, water lilies, crab and other water life. Located in Puerto Viejo on the Caribbean Coast, the area is blessed with natural beauty in the form of dense jungle with impressive flora and fauna and some of the world's most beautiful beaches. Kaya's Place is part of the growing eco-tourism industry that supports the preservation of almost 2 million square meters of primary rainforest. Taxes from this industry support the many national reserves and efforts to maintain the natural resources. We are dedicated to preserving these resources while sharing it with all the people that come to know this amazingly beautiful part of Costa Rica. Our recent renovation of Kaya's Place was completed with the same philosophy. No lumber or materials were taken from the primary rainforest. Much was recycled wood or dead fall from local farms and lumber that had washed up from the ocean and rivers. With these natural and renewable materials, we achieved a unique character with rustic and artistic designs. Also all the walls are painted by hand, with many details and awesome drawings. BE OUR ECO-GUEST Our Door is Always Open at Kaya's Place - We Hope to See You Soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Kaya's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaya`s Place Hotel Puerto Viejo
Kayas Place Puerto Viejo
Kayas Place Hotel Puerto Viejo
Kaya's Place Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing