We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Small Quaint with lots activities close by”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Azania Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Azania Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
St Albert AB Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Small Quaint with lots activities close by”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

Azania has charming little bungalows with a beautiful pool and garden. The restaurant onsite has excellent food. The staff were very friendly and helpful, with outstanding mention to Anna at the front desk (she was the most helpful & friendly hotel staff I have ever met). All the staff were very eager to please and if you asked for help they went above & beyond. The cabins were comfortable & cute. I like the showers because it felt like you were outside eventhough you weren;t. The location was perfect. It was far enough out of town to be quiet, but so close to the beautiful beach. We rented a car and travelled to Manzanillo to the beaches there alot. I would recommend car rental because the road can get dusty. There was lots of stores nearby. I would stay here again. There was an element of classiness to this place without being stuck up. The breakfasts that come with the room were very good.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    104
    34
    8
    9
See reviews for
53
134
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
158 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2009

Expect to have your own cabin Caribbean style with a hammock on the porch set amidst tropical gardens and with golden beaches just across the road. Puerto Viejo de Limon is a quaint small town with lots of young people from all continents to enjoy the laid back and inexpensive lifestyle there. Azania Bungalows is conveniently located approx. 2km away from the town centre which we found to be of advantage (no discos or parties at nighttime). Taxis are cheap down there, about 2US$ for a one-way ride. The food at Azania was very good (in particular fresh seabass, yummy!). A cheaper option for dinners. though, are the many open air restaurants downtown, your choice! (Running a tab at Azania, however, is not recommended. We found errors on our bill).
If you have more than just a day or two at Puerto Viejo de Limon, don't miss out on the sloth sanctuary: a good samaritan couple have dedicated themselves to raise orphaned and injured sloths of all ages there. 'Buttercup', with 18 years their oldest, is a darling and ready for smiles into your camera. Also highly recommendable a visit to Dona Petronella's chocolate factory. She is a genuine Bri-Bri Indian lady and teaches you how to harvest cocoa fruit and make chocolate, cocoa, and cocoa butter the old Indian way.
The trip to Puerto Viejo was put together for us by greencostarica,com in San Jose (Adriana). By all means give these guys a try and let them put together the perfect personalized trip to Costa Rica for you. Thanks again, Adriana. We will be back for more adventure.
Give

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2009

I absolutely loved Azania, from the friendly staff to the great pool, it was an awesome bungalow spot on Cocles Beach from which to set out and explore the area. Special thanks to Anna, the wonderful and friendly front desk clerk who was incredibly helpful to me during my stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lkelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2009

I have read the reviews of others and cannot come to grasp at all what some have said about this place. I am a physician in the states and demand only the best, and this place delivers! So much so, I was there for a week in May 2009 and going back August 2009! Only one problem, can't get all the days I want! The site is amazing, a tropical paradise, the vegetation captures your heart. There is a nice pool, very clean. A second smaller pool, rather than jacuzzi, because it is not heated, and it really shouldn't be because who on earth wants that while in Costa Rica! It's hot already! So the set up is outstanding. Then there is the beach, I timed it, 30 second walk from my bungalows. Basically, the complex is on the other side of the beach road, which is nice if you want romantic as your bungalow is nestled in tropical paradise which you may arise from to walk to the beach. The staff is superb. The place is clean. The food is great, the drinks being excellent. If you want to go into town, staff calls you a cab, is about 3-4 dollars, is all. Walking is not a great idea, but I've done it. Do not stay in town, not if you want a more tropical experience or looking for romantic or getaway. If you are looking to party here, don't stay here! Lastly, they set up amazing excursions for us from ziplining in the jungle, to quad tours in the jungle, to exploring an amazing waterfall. I hope they have room for us to return in 5 weeks!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zbusf122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2009

Beautiful small Hotel in a magnificent garden with pool south of Puerto Viejo.. We loved our stay at Azania. Each room is acutally a single house. Very open built so you really feel and hear the nature. Large room with 2 floors - convenient when travelling with kids. The room is a little bit dark because the lights are not so bright. Our mosquito nets in the room had holes but they gave us brand new ones upon complaint. Breakfast is good and the restaurant is excellent. It's a pity not more guests take the opportunity to eat there. It is a bit expensive but the food quality is outstanding. We were at no restaurant in Puerto Viejo where the food was comparable.
If you stay here it is good to have a car to be able to reach beaches in the area or drive to Puerto Viejo center. We had no car so we had to walk or 'find' a taxi. You can also rent bikes but it is difficult to find kids bikes and and not very nice to ride or walk in the absolutely dark road at night after having had dinner outside the hotel. The beach in front of Azania is very nice but there are less dangerous beaches further south.
They arranged a dolphin tour in a little boat for us which was unforgettable. The lady which manages and I believe owns the hotel was sometimes a bit unfriendly but you never know why someone is stressed - even working in a paradise :-)
Overall I absolutely recommend this hotel. Don't forget your mosquito repellent if you go to Puerto Viejo.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keklenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2009

This was by far the best trip I've been on, and my fiances' best trip too! We have been alomost all over the world, US, Europe, Carribean and South America. And we both agreed out of every place and country we've been to, this was the most pleasent. Azania was just paradise! The bungalows were great, romantic, cozy and pretty clean. We only regret that we stayed for 4 days, because we split the other half of our trip somewhere else in Costa Rica. We just couldnt believe the affortable price of staying there...the breakfast was amazing (the local fruit dish, fresh squeezed local fruit juice, eggs, typical rice and beans etc), the pool, the lush gardens and plants around the grounds, and the rentable bikes (I think $1 a day) which we used to go all over town. The beach across the street (Cocles) was awesome (the waves were a little intimidating, but pretty fun and nice to swim in), but the most relaxing beach with tamer waves is down the street in Punta Uva (about 3 miles away, a nice bike trip). They have scub diving and snorkling there, but we didn't get a chance to go. The local restaurants all served great options, only got to sample a few, all good. The restaurant at Azania was also very good, much fancier than the surrounding places. Quiet and romantic by the lit up pool. An awesome experience, I can't wait to go back, next time we will stay longer. Miss it so much!

  • Liked — The local scenery
  • Disliked — Not sure, there were a few things I would have complained about at the time, but mean nothing now.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank elenacampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2008

We stayed at this property because it was the only one that we found had a pool in Puerto Viejo. The pool was small; the hot tub was cold. Overall, the pool area was nice. Was it worth double-the-price of other properties? That is a personal preference.

The property is a good walk/bike ride out of town down a dusty gravel road. Originally, I thought that was okay; however, given that the food (lunch/dinner) was mediocre I would suggest staying closer to town...for better food options and places to go out.

Our bungalow was poorly lit, the shower was cold and the linens were rough.

I will note there were a few positives...(1) the staff (who reside on site) were helpful and willing to book all of our tours for us, (2) the drinks were superb, and (3) the breakfast (which came included) was awesome.

Overall, unless the pool/pool area is essential I would suggest that you explore other properties in the area.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WearyTraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azania Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azania Bungalows

Property: Azania Bungalows
Address: Cocles Beach | Cocles Beach, 1 Mile South of Puerto Viejo, Road to Manzanillo, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 86-7304, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Hotel Class:3 star — Azania Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Azania Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azania Bungalows Hotel Puerto Viejo
Azania Hotel Puerto Viejo
Azania Bungalows Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing