We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely - but in a need of a refresh”
Review of Tree House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tree House Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sospel, France
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lovely - but in a need of a refresh”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I stayed for a few days in the beach suite, a three bedroom house with a yellow submarine bathroom. A delight. Just a 30 second walk to the beach, and nature all around.

The bathroom really is the center piece of of the house - a huge Dali-esque structure that is the size of most people's apartments.

While I agree that this type of accommodation is 'not for everyone', this is no excuse not to keep it properly maintained. The house needs redecoration, and some renovation, throughout. Lighting is poor in the main lounge area.

The staff were discreet and very helpful.

All in all a great pleasure and a charming oasis away from the increasingly tacky encroachments of development along this strip.

Room Tip: One of the houses in this complex is right next to the road. Avoid. Go for the Beach Suite or the Tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyCondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    35
    9
    14
    9
See reviews for
60
103
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed in the tree house at the Tree House Lodge in February 2014 for a week. It is truly a unique paradise, surrounded by nature and close to the ocean yet with all the amenities needed. The tree house itself was so amazingly constructed, the main floor totally open (except for the main floor bedroom which was enclosed and has a/c) and built around huge trees. The downstairs shower was within a huge tree itself with toilet and rest of the bathroom on the other side of it, sooo neat! The upper part of the tree house was raised on stilts and you walked a swinging bridge to get to it. Inside this part is a king bed, seating area inside and out and another 3 piece bath. Also a nice patio area on the main floor with bbq, hot tub and seating area. Paths leading to the beach are about a 2 minute walk, and the beaches were spectacular as well. Swimming is not good right in front of the lodge but a quick walk down the beach led to beautiful swimming. The staff at the lodge are very friendly and helpful with providing information. Lots to do and see in Punta Uva, yet its very secluded and quiet. We would love to come back and check out a stay in a different house, beautiful spot!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham NH
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is an eco-lodge in the truest sense of the word: from building materials to hot water (solar) to regular visits by rainforest insects and mammals. We stayed in the tree-house suite proper, built around several living trees, with spacious rooms and bathrooms, good lighting and fans, and very comfortable furniture. Reading in the hammock next to a bird-of-paradise flower during a rainshower, while listening to birds is so far preferable to a sterile hotel (as I've sampled in the D.R. and Yucatan) I couldn't go back. And the dwellings are not only nestled privately in the rainforest, there's an iguana sanctuary a hundred feet away, with a sloth; and the monkeys are always overhead. Biting bugs were really not so bad, and the beds are all netted anyway.
The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful -- you couldn't ask for more -- setting up rainforest excursions and recommending restaurants. The kitchen could have been better supplied with good cooking utensils, but everything worked well; and superb coffee (Cari-Bean!!) and fresh fruit can be accessed with an easy bike ride.
So what's to detract? Well, two small things: (a) the solar-heated showers are meant for quickly cleaning off in less than five minutes, not lingering or luxuriating, which is great for the serious eco-tourist but maybe a bit stringent for someone who wants more on vacation, especially considering the price. (b) Unless your trip is in the september/october calm season you may find access to a swimmable beach more of a hike than you'd hoped. We enjoyed walking along the road or up the beach alongside the crashing waves, but it's not a place for rolling out of bed into a welcoming sea. These are minor details, probably negligible for many, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves with great excursions, beach walks and swims, wonderful meals at a number of restaurants, and the perfect hospitality of the owner and his staff. But the place is probably not for everyone.

Room Tip: We liked the Tree House, but from the outside they all looked good. The key is to make reservatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidByKayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at the Garden House for 7 nights in November 2013 and absolutely loved it. It became like home, we had more than enough room for the 2 of us and the occasional visit from Sol the owner's dog. Caleb and Martin were excellent hosts checking each day how they could help and if we wanted anything but apart from our morning visits we were left to our own devices in this botanic garden paradise. We had a sloth join us in the palm tree in front of the Garden House, we saw sloths, bats, monkeys, red eyed tree frogs, iguanas, crabs, and more all at very close distance and got some fantastic photographs within metres of the Garden House. You can wander through the gardens and easily not see another person as you walk to the beach just 2 minutes from the house through the garden. We went on a free tour with Boogie Boogie, the bush man, around the grounds and also paid for a night-time jungle hike with Boogie Boogie which was excellent, we also paid for horse-riding down the beach. Our favourite trip was to the Jaguar Rescue Center which has loads of animals which stay to be rehabilitated before being released, we preferred this to the sloth sanctuary. We spent a lot of time relaxing in the hammock and got everything we needed from pain au chocolat and wine to converter plugs and torches from the excellent El Duende Gourmet supermarket down the road. Antonio who is the security guard was very friendly and helpful settling us in and seeing us off and preparing our hot tub - which was still hot the next day!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were in the Beach House for 3 nights before joining a guided tour in San Jose- what a bucket list experience! The House opens up on three sides, is constructed out of the most amazing hardwood and burls, has a spiral staircase up to an open bedroom. It was clean, bright and the fans and open windows kept it cool. The sound of the waves put us to sleep each night and the screeching of the howler monkeys nearby woke us each morning- better than any alarm clock! The entire bed is enclosed in netting, so even I wasn't afraid when I woke up one night to a very large insect on the net! (other than that, I will say there was not many bugs- just a cartoon-ish katydid that spent a night and the next morning, first on the staircase, then on the patio, with us.)The wood heated hot tub was neat and it was awesome that the staff chopped up some wood so we could cook our fresh caught fish, wrapped in a banana leaf, over the open fire grill! The grounds were beautiful and it was a short walk to the beach that we always had to ourselves. It was a short drive into Puerto Viejo- what a great little Caribbean flavored town!

My favorite part was the resident agouti that lives in the "yard". He posed for pictures while eating a coconut outside the front door.

Also,The staff were excellent- friendly, helpful and willing to ensure we had the vacation of a lifetime! We would love to go back again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leachelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

you will never forget...

I spent three amazing days with my parents in the beach suite last August. that was one of the most transforming experiences i have ever had while traveling .It is not just a lovely house..it's the incredible contact it creates with nature and the artistic approach of its architecture..it can get better than this.
All the staff is super nice and they make you feel like home. ..you have the beach right there..what else?? ahh are you afraid of spiders? i was too...i have to say the house was really bug-free and we didn't have to worry about that at all...


i can't wait to come back !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mgalassitango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at the Beach House for our honeymoon. The house is fantastic. All wood and the doors and windows can be opened completely on three sides. The bathroom is big with a kind of grotto with two shower heads.

The beach is a short walk from the house. They say not to swim but there's a few areas to take a dip without walking more than 100 feet.

We didn't use the hot tub or grill. The hot tub was neat looking but it was just too hot when we were there to even contemplate submerging our bodies in hot water.

I recommend this place because they don't allow developments like this anymore. You are staying in a national reserve. Two mornings the howlers woke us up because they were outside the house. Outside the house.

The loft area with the king bed has an interesting pitched roof that is open facing east-west and has good circulation. You sleep under a net. I went to sleep listening to the ocean every night. And monkeys in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rjg1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
4.8 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,465 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,029 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
644 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tierra de Suenos Lodge
Tierra de Suenos Lodge
#27 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree House Lodge

Property: Tree House Lodge
Address: 200 meters south of primary school in Playa Chiquita | Punta Uvs, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only tree house right on the beach of the southern Caribbean of Costa Rica. This is your best nature hotel and romantic hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tree House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tree House Hotel Puerto Viejo
Tree House Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing