We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Location”
Review of Puerto Pirata Deli

Puerto Pirata Deli
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Ayurvedic inspired Mediterranean, Organic, Vegetarian, Vegan, Wheat free, Raw Cafe with the best Ocean view of Costa Rica's South Caribbean coast
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Location”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We chose Puerto Viejo as our vacation destination largely because of this deli! We saw the menu and read the reviews and were hooked. Puerto Pirata Deli did not disappoint. When we were not out on tours, we ate every meal here and relaxed by the beach. Everything was fresh, delicious and prepared with love. Not to mention so many organic, vegan choices! I was in heaven.

In Puerto Viejo, do not miss the Jaguar Rescue Center, the Kekoldi Indigenous Reserve and go to Finca La Isla if only to see the red poison dart frog in the wild. I also recommend a trip to the Tree of Life Wildlife Rescue Center and Botanical Gardens in Cahuita. I love Costa Rica! Pura Vida

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deli108, Owner at Puerto Pirata Deli, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your heart felt review!
It is our pleasure to have and share such a great location! We look forward serving you some more delicious delicious foods and drinks in the future...we have a few surprises planned.... Bless!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    10
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Deli on the water”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

It had a sign not to bother written a tripadvisor review unless it would be a good one, so no wonder they are here at the top. There's no place to sit except right in front at as built-in both, but two guys were fighting, so I took my family and or food to eat in the sand. Not great food, not horrible either, so I would have given average 3-star review if not for the fight going on while we would have like to eat at a table and the funny, but probably bad form sign suggesting people only leave positive reviews here. Is that even allowed?

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SJOREN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deli108, Owner at Puerto Pirata Deli, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Dear Customer,
I am very sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience. We promote healthy food and drinks not bar fights. Unfortunately being on the beach does not give us control of everything that happens on it. Regarding our sign: we don't like to take things too seriously; we are pirates after all! As you demonstrated it with your review, a sign does not force or blackmail people into writing a positive review. We strongly believe that those who gave us maximum points on tripadvisor did not do so because our sign asked them to do so. Lastly, we are preparing wider seating spaces but right now we are just a beach café with stools....and a wide beach to enjoy our food in any way or position you please. We wish you and your family all the best and thank you for giving us your time! PEACE, LOVE & RESPECT above all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Incredible Find! Hidden Treasure!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Imagine our amazement when we stumbled on this little gem in the Caribbean. We were walking along the back roads of Puerto Viejo on the Caribbean side of Costa Rica, looking for a place that would nourish and recharge our bodies after a day of physical exertion. Who knew we would find an organic treasure trove?! This place is located right on the beach with incredible views of the water and surrounding beaches. The food was some of the best I've ever tasted in all of our travels! Organic, refreshing, nourishing and DELICIOUS!!! I would hop on a plane today (if I could) just to get my fill of Puerto Pirata! I dream about this food!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tsbyrd24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deli108, Owner at Puerto Pirata Deli, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
You guys Rock! Thank you so much for your propelling review!! We Love our quiet-out of the way location... It makes it all the more rewarding to surprising true adventure seekers such as yourselves who like to go just a little further to discover what else is around the corner! Now that we found each other I hope you'll include us in your next South America trip! All the Best. Bless, Always <3
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
134 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tasty healthy food”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The menu offers many great, healthy choices. We had a beach view, the overall surfer atmosphere was really relaxing. I also recommend the fruit juices. The personnel is really friendly.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannekejag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deli108, Owner at Puerto Pirata Deli, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Hoi Hanneke! Thank you so much for taking the time to review us :) It was a pleasure to serve you on your vacation. Lots of Love from the Caribbeans The Netherlands <3
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent healthy food with view to the ocean”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I had breakfast here twice, writing postcards and drinking from a coconut. This place is not only nice located (in the center, but no cars passing, and very nice ocean view), it also offers a lot of healthy, vegetarian and delicious options like sandwiches, mostly organic.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Xenia X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deli108, Owner at Puerto Pirata Deli, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you! We are very grateful to make vacations, such as yours, pleasent and easy! We wish you all the best and hope that one day you'll come back to our lovely town... and that we'll still be there to serve you the best seat to a magical view followed by loads of fresh coconut water and deliscious organic food! Bless <3
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerto Pirata Deli also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Puerto Pirata Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing