We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, friendly, clean and afordable place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Casitas Mar Y Luz
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great, friendly, clean and afordable place to stay”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My family and I (Mom and two daughters) stayed at the Casitas Mar y Luz for 4 nights in Jan 2014. We loved it! We were welcomed so kindly by Stefanie, the owner, and Marlon, the handy-man/go-to guy. They were always available if we needed anything; from restaurant suggestions to handing out band-aids for a blister.

The Casitas are cute as can be. If you are looking for a fancy air-conditioned hotel, this isn't for you. The walls of the casitas are half wood and half screen/net. The screens have no holes, but you are still surrounded by nature, so there still might be a little spider on your wall, but nothing too alarming. Also, each bed has a net over it. I know it made a huge difference for us, knowing that we could sleep without having to worry about bugs.

There is everything you need to cook a meal; stove top, pots, plates, cutlery, and mini-fridge. The Casitas are 5 mins away from the beautiful playa chiquita.

We absolutely loved our stay and can't wait to come back!

Chloé, Julie and Emmy from Montreal, Canada

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank chloesckoropad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    23
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
28
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2014

First of all, this is a place for adventurous people. It is like camping comfortably.

There is a 5 minute walk dirt road to get to the casitas, the staff is extremely nice, the place is gorgeous. The little houses are clean and equipped with the NECESSARY.

The houses walls are half wood and half mosquito-net, so on one side one can complaint about the "absence of privacy" but hey.... waking up every day to the sounds of wildlife feeling is in your room without it ACTUALLY being there is more than worth it!!!!

If after this review you decide to go, remember to ask the owner Stephanie to have a tour of Gandoca Manzanillo Reserve with Tino, it is great!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank megdemeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

The bungalows are simple and clean. The bungalows has a fridge and some simple cooking equipment. We got to eat fresh grapefruits from a tree in the garden. The only bad thing was that we got som mosquito bites but there where mosquito nets available. The staff was very helpful!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Montana1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Deutschland
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Casitas is a great experience and the best way to experience the costa rican caribean. The caribean style bungalows are cozy and well furnitured (the kitchen was a bit small), the beds are clean and confortable. The location is in the middle of a forest with amazing high trees. The beach Playa Chiquita is beautiful and is a 10 min walk fro the hotel (we walked from there to Punta Uva too). Stepahnie and Marlon were friendly and helpful to make us feel at home. Is better to drive a SUV 4X4 when visiting this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robitenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livorno, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed there only two nights but wished would have stayed more: the six blue cabins are pretty new, clean and in a quiet place.plus they have a small kitchen so we could prepare our own breakfast. The owner Stephanie is very nice, she booked for us a tour in Gandoca Manzanillo wildlife refuge and carried us to Manzanillo with her car.
there are some good restaurants close to the cabins and also the beach is within a short walk: playa chiquita is a gorgeous beach and with very few people.
Go there if you are looking for beach and relax in the nature!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paolam61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at Casitas Mar y Luz for 4 nights in Oct 2013. It can be difficult to chose a place to stay when there is so much choice around in Puerto Viejo, but all I can say now is that we are so glad we picked this place and wouldn't have wished to stay anywhere else !! Casitas are located in playa chiquita which is about 8 kms away from puerto viejo village. We visited all the beaches in the area and playa chiquita is in my opinion by far the most beautiful beach around !! We took a taxi to get there (4000 colones) as we arrived quite late but in general pick up can be arranged . It lies in a superb location in the jungle and only a 5 mins walk from the beach ! You can easily rent bicycles to travel to town and around the other beaches. Upon arrival we were greeted by Stephanie and Marlon both extremely friendly who took care of our every wish during your stay. The cabins are spacious, clean and equipped with kitchenette and coffee machine. The garden is well kept, lush and ideal for those who wish to experience being close to nature. There is a little restaurant where you can have breakfast right at the entrance of the side road. The people really make this place and the highlight of our stay was the friendliness of both Stephanie and especially Marlon the resident manager and their adorable 2 dogs Terry and Chispa ! I highly recommend casitas Mar y Luz and would without hesitation stay there again . Enjoy !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninix70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traunstein, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed at the Casitas Mar y Luz for 2 nights in September 2013, accompanied by 5 other friends of mine. We went to Puerto Viejo - Cocles, to be exact - to spend a weekend at the Atlantic shore of Costa Rica, and just to relax a bit and see something of the beautiful nature and wildlife.
Leaving after those 2 nights, all of us agreed: Staying at the Casitas Mar y Luz was the best decision to be made! Its location is just perfect for a relaxed weekend - surrounded by nothing but nature, close to the prettiest beach of this area - clean and Caribbean, not like the quite filthy Puerto Viejo beach - and pleasantly quiet. The only sound that interrupted the silence and drowned the birdsong was the cries of the howling monkeys replacing the alarm clock in the morning.
What an experience! :)
Beyond that, the service is great! Not only that the little huts are very clean and cosy, the owner, Stéphanie, organizes anything her guests feel like doing, and is always incredibly nice :)
Referring to the possible things to do in this region: Just next to the Casitas, there's the offer of horseback riding with the most laid-back guy of Puerto Viejo/Cocles, or you can also eat a delicious, typically Costa Rican breakfast! The centre of Puerto Viejo is not too far away, as well, so all options are open!
All in all: Thank you for a great stay in this place, Stéphanie, and... thumbs up! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muckileiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
4.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,451 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
674 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Namuwoki Lodge
Namuwoki Lodge
#14 of 104 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Moabi
Casa Moabi
#3 of 104 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tree House Lodge
Tree House Lodge
#17 of 104 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casitas Mar Y Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casitas Mar Y Luz

Property: Hotel Casitas Mar Y Luz
Address: | En Face de Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casitas Mar Y Luz 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 3 minutes walk from the beach. Strategically located just 300 m from Playa Chiquita Beach and 3 km from Cocles Beach, Casitas Mar y Luz offers self-catering bungalows, an extensive garden and free Wi-Fi throughout. The wooden bungalows, built according to the caribbean style feature mosquito nets, ceiling fans, a terrace overlooking the garden, a hammock and its own kitchen, equipped with a small electric stove, refrigerator and a coffeemaker. Also included is a a private bathroom including free toiletries.The hotel provides linen & towels, wi-fi and private parking space. Guests at Casitas Mar y Luz will find a grocery store 800 m away and a variety or restaurants within 200 m. This chalet offers activities such as snorkelling, kayaking, hiking and rafting. Canopy tours, surfing lessons and dolphin, turtle and bird watching can be arranged as well. Puerto Viejo Town Centre is 10 minutes’ drive away and a bus station is 7 km away. The property is 1 hour’s drive from the Limon International Airport. This property is also rated for the best value in Puerto Viejo! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Casitas Mar Y Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casitas Mar Y Luz Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing