We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my home away from home”
Review of La Ruka Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Ruka Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
“my home away from home”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

La Ruka is no questions asked the place to stay if you come to Puerto Viejo! It was never actually in my plans to go to Puerto Viejo and i cant be more thankful that I ended up there. To sum up how amazing the owners Danni and Dave are and this hostel, I left Puerto Viejo four times and everytime found myself getting on a bus back to La Ruka! I travelled to the top of Costa Rica and back twice...went to Panama and came back...and in the end, a day before I was suppose to fly home, i extended my ticket and went of course...back to La Ruka. If you don't stay at La Ruka your missing out and missing out on some amazing people. If your looking for good vibes and easy going people this is it. You will meet friends of a lifetime, and nights out with the La Ruka crew and backpackers is always a BLAST!!!
Whether you want to rent some surfs boards and hit the beach, have some beers and be a part of there open jam on Wednesdays or chill out in a hammock and read a book....no matter what it is this is the place! I am already back home counting my money up and saving to go back.
I'm sure you will run into many backpackers like me who have returned many many times !
They also have a facebook page if you are trying to get ideas of whats going on there when you come to town!
ENJOY THE CARIBBEAN! its a beautiful place
pura vida

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    37
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
34
49
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I Staid here for a couple of days...It was great so close to the Beach. Also there was hiking trail a cross the street. All the staff where great. Plus there was a great vibe, Everyone there was friends. It was a perfect location if you felt like going out for a drink it was 5 min away if you wanted to ride to other beaches 20 min. You have to remember this is a hostel not the w hotel. if you want a.c then maybe the other side of costa rica is better. For those who are backpacking and trying to see amazing beaches and meet amazing new friends go here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Nice clean and spacious hostel, competitive rates, friendly vibe, good kitchen, great location. We only stayed for two nights, but we had a good time. The family dinner potluck is a good idea. We had already eaten earlier, but enjoyed seeing the feast unfold.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a couple, the private rooms are a great deal at $25. However, you may want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larshenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Syracuse, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

La Ruka has not only a welcoming environment but I felt that I will return because of them!!! The rooms were clean and VERY REASONABLE kitchen was fine but now being remodeled. I Will have to come back to check out final outcome.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my girlfriend and about 6-7 other friends. First of I want to thank Danni (sorry for spelling) and Dave, who ran the hostel, 2 of the nicest people we've met on our trip. They made our stay brilliant and did everything to help us enjoy our stay.

Danni is a nurse and I had some breathing difficulty when I was there, she was brilliant and really helped me and went out of her way to help.

Both Dave and Danni were full of recommendations for what we could do and they were all great.

The location is great, it's close enough to the centre that you can wander in but nicely distanced that you're not right in the middle of the franticness.

A communal kitchen and eating area was great. Free wifi and lovely rooms.

It was really interesting hearing of the work that Dave and Danni are doing to the hostel, what they hae already done and what they are doing, I have no doubt this place will be a gem for some time to come.

Good luck guys and thanks for a great stay.

Joe

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeyknows1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We came to Puerto Viejo wanting to stay at Rocking J's but after looking there we decided it was not for us, we walked back down the road and walked past La Ruka and was drawn into it. As soon as we talked to the owners we wanted to stay.
Cool atmosphere and extremely helpful with information about the town and how to travel around Costa Rica.

Great place!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianmcgillivray88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 5 nights, wonderful atmosphere, very relaxing and good people, quiet. 10 minute walk from everywhere- town center, good beaches and partys. Cheap budget.
Very recommended If you are planning to stay in puerto viecho.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiorFaeyrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
644 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,466 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#6 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rocking J's
Rocking J's
#50 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#5 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ruka Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ruka Hostel

Property: La Ruka Hostel
Address: Box 297-7304 | correo pto Viejo, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 231-7304, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel has two buildings that are surrounded by tropical jungle filled with flora, fauna & fruit trees. When you arrive you’ll probably be greeted by one (or both!) of our friendly dogs Ruka and Moo Moo and, if you’re lucky, our kitten, Sirena. You’ll find us at the reception in our octagon lounge where you can relax after your journey, grab a brownie & a beer, peruse some used clothing, swap some books at our book exchange and use the free WiFi which available across the property. Upstairs you’ll find our two private double rooms and at the back is our outdoor guest kitchen. Our second building has three separate 6 or 8 bed dorm rooms all with private bathrooms. We have hammocks around for lazy days and also offer snorkel + fin rentals as well as surf lessons and board hire when you’re ready to take in the incredible water, waves and sands of Black Beach, Salsa Brava, Cocles beach and many more ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Ruka Hostel Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing