We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel”
Review of La Ruka Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Ruka Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hostel”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed at La Ruka for two nights. I am used to the convenience offered by hostels with computers and phones for guest use, and was a little disappointed to find nothing of the sort in place at La Ruka. The dorm was spacious and clean, but the temperature hot. I did not fall in love with this hostel, but would consider it a decent choice for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at La Ruka Hostel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your response. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write about us. We apologize for not being able to meet your needs with a computer. We do have a local land line that is offered to anyone that needs it. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    36
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
32
49
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

i've stayed in many hostels in Costa Rica and La Ruka is definitely one of the best ones! The dorm room i shared was spacious and i never felt uncomfortable. the people who run the place are welcoming and sweet, i felt so at home. its very chill, which is cool because you can party in the town and then relax there. i definitely recommend it

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroanlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at La Ruka Hostel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you so much for positive review! We are so happy you had a great time here in Puerto Viejo at La Ruka. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write about us! It was a pleasure to have you hang out with us at La Ruka! THANK YOU! Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at La Ruka for almost a week and it was considerably cheaper than other places in the area. The rooms were clean, staff lovely and the showers were hot. It was nice that it wasn't so much of an 18-year old spring break kinda crowd that are common elsewhere in Puerto Viejo and I'll definitely stay there next time I visit the area. There is so much to do in Puerto Viejo that I would advise leaving yourself at least 5 days. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenGina1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed at La Ruka for 2 weeks with my partner and we are only leaving with a heavy heart. First of all, the owners of this place we consider our home away from home, Dannie and Dave, exude kindness. They are genuinely concerned about their guests and the experience they have. They make sure to let people know what to see in the area, give them safety tips and help them out when they are in need. You can truly relax at this hostel be it in a hammock, on the couch reading a book from the book exchange library or at the beach (beach access is 7 minutes away from here). The rooms are lovingly made up and include hand made bunk beds, ceiling fans, and a bathroom and shower adjacent to the room (super convenient). If you love animals as much as we do, you'll have a blast with the dogs La Ruka (which the hostel was lovingly named after) and Moo Moo and the little kitten Sirena.

La Ruka is a work in progress, and Dannie and Dave work very hard every day to make improvements to their compound. The rooms are tended to on a daily basis, but it's hard to keep things shiny when you are so close to the beach and the jungle.

I also wanted to mention that I witnessed that travelers returned from Rocking J's (a popular hostel a few minutes down the road from here) NUMEROUS times to stay here because of the chill vibe and the personal flair. I genuinely enjoyed my stay here and I am sure you will too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snout39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at La Ruka Hostel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
WOW!!! Thank you! We thank you from the bottom of our hearts for everything you brought to La Ruka! We are so happy you had a great time here in Puerto Viejo. Much appreciation to you both for taking the time to write about us! It was beyond a pleasure to have you stay with us at La Ruka! THANK YOU! Good luck with all your endeavors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

La Ruka was my favourite hostel yet, in the 7 months I have been traveling Central America, if not soley for the warmth and love of the staff there, the homely and fun atmosphere was just what I needed after been away from home for so long. Danni and Dave ( the owners ) are amazing, and go above and beyond to help anybody. The hostel its self just has such a good vibe and energy. Everything is cleaned daily and with constant construction and improvements, its just getting better and better. Thank you so much for my time at La Ruka, it without doubt made my time in Costa Rica what it was. Gracias x

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steph d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Where do I start? The dorms had 6 people, one single ceiling fan, and the bathroom all inside. so if the smell of the bathroom doesn't make you sick the smell of all the sweat people will. The bathrooms outside are always plugged. The beds were awful everyone got bites and since you're so close to the road, all you hear are cars and horns. No one sleeps in past 6am and that's if the two "guard" dogs don't keep you up all night from their constant barking. For the price you can easily find a hostel closer in town for the same price. Couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica12345g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at La Ruka Hostel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hey there Monica, Thank you so much for you review! We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We deeply apologize for your terrible experience. However, we would like to say a few words. First off, the hostel is by the road as you could see as you entered the building. Sorry there were cars that drove by to disturb your sleep. ( it sounds like you were here during Semana Santa, our busiest time of year). We are certain if you were in town you would have heard just as many (if not more) cars, dogs, and people. As for the room, most travelers consider it to be a plus to have a bathroom. We are so sorry the people had to use the restroom and their scent offended you. We cannot control the way people "smell," so we also apologize that you did not have the best roommate during your stay with us. As a traveler in a dorm room you do not always get to pick who you bunk with. Moreover, we do provide complimentary mosquito nets, bug coils, and bug spray at reception and we really wish you had expressed your concerns about this to us. Living in the jungle/rainforest is difficult at times we have many different "creatures" to deal with. Thank you again for your first ever trip advisor review! Good luck experiencing traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Based on the pictures and reviews La Ruka sounded like an awesome place. When we got there our room was cramped and dirty. Without windows in the dorm room it was impossible to sleep. The kitchen was beyond disgusting and would have been impossible to use. Also, the grounds were never cleaned seeing as joints and cigarette butts littered the paths. While it may have been the worst place I have seen in Costa Rica, for the same price you can get much better accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#4 of 104 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ruka Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ruka Hostel

Property: La Ruka Hostel
Address: Box 297-7304 | correo pto Viejo, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 231-7304, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel has two buildings that are surrounded by tropical jungle filled with flora, fauna & fruit trees. When you arrive you’ll probably be greeted by one (or both!) of our friendly dogs Ruka and Moo Moo and, if you’re lucky, our kitten, Sirena. You’ll find us at the reception in our octagon lounge where you can relax after your journey, grab a brownie & a beer, peruse some used clothing, swap some books at our book exchange and use the free WiFi which available across the property. Upstairs you’ll find our two private double rooms and at the back is our outdoor guest kitchen. Our second building has three separate 6 or 8 bed dorm rooms all with private bathrooms. We have hammocks around for lazy days and also offer snorkel + fin rentals as well as surf lessons and board hire when you’re ready to take in the incredible water, waves and sands of Black Beach, Salsa Brava, Cocles beach and many more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your La Ruka Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ruka Hostel Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing