We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“favorite meals from Costa Rica”

Monli Bar Restaurante and Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, South American, Central American, Costa Rican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“favorite meals from Costa Rica”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was one of our favorite meals from Costa Rica it was in the beginning of our trip but still top in our minds.

This was where we had our first fruit shake and started a daily trend.
Papya with Milk amazing

My husband had a curry dish and I had the shrimp with garlic. I had read costa ricians like garlic and wow were they correct it was seriously the best dish I would go back and order it again multiple times a week if I could!!!

Love the place too its up stairs and we stat at the edge so the people watching was fun! This town was great we loved touring around on our bikes.

Very good food I would recommenced this to all!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    63
    15
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent quality - slow service”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Starters and main dishes were really tasty. Drinks as well. View is great. Only thing to improve is preparation time. We were the first guests for lunch and waited almost 1 h for main course.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank a-million-miles-com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlin, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, decent food”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Went there for drinks and dinner, and the drink special that night was a bargain - two for one mojitos (and a couple of other drinks that I cannot remember). The alcoholic drinks were great and not at all watered down, and the food was good enough but not particularly memorable. The restaurant does, however, overlook the beach. I would recommend for the service, the drinks, and the overall atmosphere, but do not expect to be blown away by the food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
142 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice presentation, great fried fish”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We came here for lunch and it was empty, although it was in between holidays and the town was pretty dead overall.

We wanted ceviche and it was on the menu so we went up. Ordered that along with some natural fruit drinks, tempura fish plate and the garlic shrimp plate. Unfortunately the waiter was completely under enthused which seemed odd considering we were the only ones there. A little kindness could go a long way. Just sayin'.... They do have a nice view being on the top floor across from the beach.

It took a long time to get the order and unfortunately the ceviche was raw. I had one bite and that was all I was interested in. It seemed they left that to make last instead of first because it wasn't even a 20 minute marinade look...I mean it was RAW. We didn't say anything for whatever reason, but we should have. That was a waste of money.

We had also ordered fries on the side of the fish plate which didn't come at all. Although the fish was outstanding and battered perfectly. I had ordered fried shrimp with garlic butter but they came out boiled, whole in a garlic butter sauce so I don't know if it was me or the waiter who got the fried part wrong. The shrimp were good but not really what I was expecting. They were whole so I had to take the heads off. The rice and beans served with it was dry. The drinks were good though. Salad was good.

Fairly expensive lunch but most restaurants there are...think the bill was around $50. Yikes.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hotrodgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BEST meal we had in Puerto Viejo!”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We loved this restaurant!!! We spent a week in Puerto Viejo and ate out every night and this was by the far the best, and best priced meal we had! Also two for one drinks? Yes please. Yummmmmmy! Costa Rican! Delicious! We didn't even realize this place was here until the end of the week because it is upstairs, but our hotel (banana azul) recommended it to us and it was great! Loved our server too...forget his name but he said he was from Nicaragua...he was awesome. GO EAT HERE!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tasha_tro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monli Bar Restaurante and Grill also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Monli Bar Restaurante and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing