We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine and down to earth”
Review of Chocorart

Chocorart
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: CHOCORART is a family run ORGANIC CACAO FARM who grows Cacao in harmony with nature and produce all kind of ORGANIC CHOCOLATE PRODUCTS. We offer a CHOCOLATE TOUR ON OUR FARM which is a visit on our CACAO PLANTATION and our ARTESANAL CHOCOLATE PRODUCTION, from Monday to Friday at 3 pm. The Tour takes from 1,5 hour to 2 hours. On the main road in Playa Chiquita is our Chocolate Shop where you can reserve the Chocolate Tour or by all our Cacao products and other organic products like organic coffee etc. The shop is open from Monday to Friday the whole afternoon.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Divine and down to earth”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Divine because of the scenery and subject (chocolate) and down to earth because of the tour and owner.
He made the experience truly informative and hands on...the kids in the group loved it.
The chocolate you get to try (raw fruit to bean to final product) was presented in a way that made me realize again why passion makes a difference in anything you do or make.
I am so happy we decided to go with the kids ... I would recommend it to anyone.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SwissMagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    10
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“46 Days in Paradise”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Swiss make some of the best Chocolate in the world and the tradition continues here in Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica. This Swiss family has transformed an abandoned Coco plantation into a thriving organic coco and chocolate operation. The tour by Marcus was incredibly informative from explaining how the Coco business in Costa Rica was once a thriving export business to the destruction and abandonment of the farms due to a fungus. As you walk through the property you see coco trees that are from 60 years old to his current creations of less than 1. The process is very manual from planting to pruning, harvesting, drying crushing, mixing and untimely eating. We got to tast numerous fruits, one I have never had and of course we got to tast the finished product in various forms, which were incredible at 100% organic coco. You can then purchase this incredible product right after the tour or at the coffee shop. We were also able to see sloths, Tucan, and the black and green little frogs plus incredible views of the water. The tour takes approx. 2 hrs and you should bring bug repellant. 100% must see!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
“Excellent - not just all about chocolate - eat lots of unusual fruit and very knowledgable owner/guide”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Well worth a visit - along with the jaguar centre the best thing to do along with beach and rain Forrest trek.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“Chocolate amazement”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Was only able to taste the creations, but it did outdo any other chocolate establishment by far. I only wished we could have taken the full tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JCMattern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Interesting and Informative”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

If you`ve never experienced the process of making chocolate from the beginning to the end, I`m sure you`ll find this to be a tour that`s time well spent.

The owner is originally from Switzerland although did not make chocolate until he purchased this farm in Costa Rica.

A nice walking tour through the cacao farm, with much information provided about growing the pods, to picking, fermenting, drying, crushing, grinding, blending and flavoring the chocolate which they then sell in their storefront along the main road. We enjoyed the tour very much.

Stop at the cafe when you leave an enjoy a tasty chocolate espresso. Many flavors of chocolate cigars are for sale as well. We enjoyed watching a troop of howler monkeys feeding in the trees on the property while we were having a coffee. Nice little bonus that can`t be planned for.

We highly recommend this tour if this is something you`re interested in.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank timwit61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocorart also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Chocorart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing