We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad service”
Review of Puerto Viejo Bakery - CLOSED

Puerto Viejo Bakery
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very bad service”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I spent 20 minutes waiting for the waiter and he never show the intention to take our order. The restaurant was not full, and during the 20 minutes he even went a few times to the other tables with foreign tourist eating. Finally I decided to leave with my friends and have some breakfast downtown. Not so nice atmosphere, but lower prices, same or better food quality and a lot better attention.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will-cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Normal, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty treats for takeaway.”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Many a morning, we picked up croissants, banana bread, or caramel rolls to enjoy by the seaside. Decent prices and hearty portions.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whimsyl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quality Bakery”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Excellent food overall. All the baked goods and coffee were delicious! Good service and free WIFI as well. Parking can be difficult on busy days in Puerto Viejo.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Overpriced and disappointing”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I may have hit this place at the wrong time because everything was off. The service as well as the quality of the food. Loaves of bread for sale looked ok, but the sandwich I had was ridiculously lacking in quantity and quality.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SatHizFakShon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Yummy, but expensive”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Everything we ate here was delicious, but it was too expensive. For $6, you get a sandwich but no side. At Bread and Chocolate, you could get a sandwich and side for $5-6. Here, we ate the burger, which was really red in the center, but delicious with the grilled onions. The tuna melt was perfect on the baguette, but not as good at the chicken salad on croissant. We also got a piece of banana bread and chocolate bread. Both were delicious.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SpokaneMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerto Viejo Bakery also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing