We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service and a lot of stuff included”
Review of Cafe Rico

Cafe Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: European, Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: CAFÈ OPEN ONLY MORNINGS FOR BREAKFAST / THURSDAY & FRIDAY CLOSED. We have 2 CABINS FOR RENT, BIKES and SNORKEL. Also BOOK EXCHANGE, LAUNDRY service with FREE COFFEE!We have WIFI. Is quiet place, clean, nice garden with different animals (dogs, sloths, red frogs, birds normaly), Center of town, family environment.
Bern
1 review
“Very good service and a lot of stuff included”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We just stayed for 2 nights and were very surprised about the things that were included in the price. It isn't the very cheap, but if you consider all the things, which are included in the price (free laundry, free bikes, free snorkeling stuff, free wifi etc.) the price is really worth it. The owners were very friendly and helpful. If you don't like dogs, we wouldn't recommend that place (they have 3 big and 2 small dogs), but they are friendly and quiet. It's a small, clean and familiar place.

Helpful?
Thank zu593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    62
    13
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Cafe”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this place. Ready to go at 5:30 every morning, the owner is exceptionally attentive. He's engaging and kind and really makes you feel welcome at his place. I enjoyed sitting inside the cafe every morning, surrounded by a library of books for exchange. Cafe Rico is calm, comfortable, and the ideal place to start your day. If you're in PV, be sure to check it out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast, great Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The coffee is great! The location feels as if you are sitting enjoying time at a friend's place. The host is most congenial. I'll be back

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slatibarfarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One-Stop shop for long term stay in PV”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My girlfriend and I spent a month in Puerto Viejo and Cafe Rico became our one-stop shop for almost everything. The owner, Roger, worked with us for literally all of our needs. First, you must have a bike in PV but everyone tries to kill you on long term rentals. Cafe Rico was literally half the price of everyone else for long term rentals and then had lots of used bikes for sale. Both options are the best in town by far. Second, laundry is also very expensive in PV. Cafe Rico was the cheapest option in town as well and the clothes always smelled great. Did I mention the atmosphere, wifi and food is amazing too? It is a very tranquilo place to have breakfast, read and get some work done. Can't say enough about Roger and Cafe Rico!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FinbarTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Coffee tasts like a coffee should tast!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Delicious breakfast, especially fruits with yoghurt & granola. Fresh juices & the coffee tasts like a coffee should tast!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rico also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Cafe Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing