We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine but loud neighbours”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jacaranda Hotel and Jungle Garden
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed here for one night. The room was fine, clean enough. The only problem was that the hotel was advertised as being extremely quiet and the guests were strongly advised to adhere to the quiet hour, 10pm. Our neighbours were VERY loud, blasting their TV with the door open and watching movies on their laptop outside of our room. No hotel staff said anything and they were loud into the night. We were awakened the next morning with a blasting TV at 6am. We checked out and moved on.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JaneGrunenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabinasJacaranda, Manager at Jacaranda Hotel and Jungle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

For us it was a pleasure to have you as a customer,.

Our warning to be quiet after nine at night is to avoid such inconvenience, unfortunately not all of our customers are aware of that. Sometimes we miss some of these situations.

apologize for the inconvenience.

But we very aware your comments, to avoid future problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 150 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

The room we stayed in was quite small for two people and luggage, The small and basic standard were however made up for by the fact that we had a small private area outside the room, with table, chairs and hammock. This was like a private sitting room in the middle of their fantastic garden. Other rooms, like those near the reception did not have the same option, having a common area with a few hammocks and chairs instead . Remember mossie repellent, lot of insects in the garden at dusk and dawn

The bathroom was really tiny, and warm water not in reliable supply

There is no fridge in the room, however a small common kitchen area where you can keep your stuff cool and even cook.

Room Tip: Room in the far end of the garden with private outdoor furniture
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abcnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

It was a nice place to stay. The room was a little. Small for two people and bags, but we made it work. I would've loved some a/c as it was really hot and the fan didn't really cut it. However the staff did give us a second fan to help. Gardens were beautiful. Was clean.

Room Tip: Not sure....ask for he best fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cdnclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We arrived in Puerto Viejo without accommodations already booked. The town is not very large and you can basically walk everywhere. We stopped in to the first hotel that we found, Jacaranda, and we were pleasantly surprised. The room that we, myself and my husband, got was HUGE. It had one queen and two twin beds in it. The room was only $50. It had air conditioning, which was great, and the beds were VERY comfortable, which is important to me. There were a couple of downsides, which is why I rated the hotel as only average. First, the shower in the room looked more like it use to be a closet, which is very strange. and it was not really that clean. We just waited till we got to the next city that we were in to shower. Not saying that all of the rooms are like this, but ask to see the room first and check it out. Also, you can not drink any alcohol in their cute courtyard at all. Which is fine if you don't mind bringing it to your room, but if you don't like being cooped up, it may be a problem. Third, you must pay in cash which can be an inconvenience to some, but luckily we had cash on us. Fourth, the parking situation was very tricky. They advertise parking, but they only REALLY had room enough for about five cars without people having to move their cars to let others in or out, which is what we had to do. We actually had to leave our car parked on the street for some time before someone else left. We weren't that comfortable with that and stayed close to the hotel for an hour or so until it was time for us to park. Also, the next morning we actually had to wake someone else up that was blocking us in when we were ready to leave. With all that being said, it was still a great place, because at least it HAD parking and HAD air conditioning and was ONLY $50. You will find that not all hotels even offer these things so it was worth it, especially for the price. All in all, great place, close to the beach, restaurants, ATM's, and fun bars.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My partner and I stayed in the 2 bed apartment at Jacaranda recently and absolutely loved it.

The location is fantastic and the staff are very friendly. The apartment had everything necessary to ensure a more than comfortable stay. Big rooms, clean bathroom with a big shower, even a great little kitchen. We even had our own terrace with a sofa, hammock and dining table which we loved.

The hotel itself is only about 100 meters from the beach and 50 meters from the high street which is great as you're close enough to walk everywhere but out of the way of any noise.

The owner, Vera, is extremely friendly and helpful. She gave us extra pillows, hangers and even an iron and hairdryer to borrow for our stay.

We highly recommend this hotel if you want to visit Puerto Viejo.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgiaBurgex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed in a standard room $30 for one night and moved to a nice big apartment for 3 nights at $60 per night. Great bed, nice staff, quiet and very relaxing place. Wifi didn't work in apartment. Shower not great - low pressure. We enjoyed this place particularly for the spacious living, private kitchen and friendly staff. Clean. Welcoming. Cool place.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank H00HAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed there with 2 more friends, the lady at the front desk was very pleasent and she recommended things to do in the area. The room was clean, fresh and bathroom very nice. The decoration is like a garden for meditation and relaxation. I would for sure come back there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nellakia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#9 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,069 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Butterfly Hotel
Blue Butterfly Hotel
#48 of 57 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Guarana
Hotel Guarana
#7 of 57 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rocking J's
Rocking J's
#55 of 120 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda Hotel and Jungle Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Hotel and Jungle Garden

Address: Avenida 67 & Calle 215, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $87 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 14 rooms and bungalows with private bath with hot water, ventilators, hammocks, mosquito nets, television, gift shop, mosaic tiled floors all nestled in a exotic and magical garden.Our services include shared service kitchen, massage bless SPA, private parking, laundry service, security box, baggage storage, mini bar.Wi-Fi and cable T.V. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jacaranda Hotel and Jungle Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Jacaranda Puerto Viejo
Jacaranda Hotel And Jungle Garden Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing