We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natural and Wonderful”
Review of Puerto Viejo Beach

Puerto Viejo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This public beach is popular with surfers.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
144 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Natural and Wonderful”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We love true nature and this is what this beach is. It is quiet with big waves and a nice tree line that provides shade. No matter what time of day we went there were not many people there and always shade availalbe. My 14 year od kids loved body surfing and I read for hours in the shade. There are restuarants on the other side of the road, as well as a surf board rental and lessons and massage available right on the beach. Yes, there was a bit of garbage spilling out of the bins, but that is the case throughout Puerto Viejo.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jsc813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    290
    141
    41
    23
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“Dirty”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Yup, lots of garbage, with dogs roaming and pooping in the sand. We were nervous walking the area. Garbage needed pickup and there were unbearable orders due to rotting garbage.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MM598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lots of garbage on the beach once you get down town”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Beautful if away from downtown, and the beach town is interesting, but there was garbage piled everywhere on the beach, I kept expecting the commercial with the American Indian guy in the canoe with a tear in his eye from when I was a kid.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Puerto Viejo Beaches”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Liked:
- clean sea
- good location
- perfect eating and time outing possibilities

Disliked:
- nothing

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacksparrow79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach at your doorstep (hotelstep?)”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Unlike many beach towns where you have to get out of town for some peace and beauty, Puerto Viejo's beach is great and even 5 minutes walk from most of the hotels(actually from where I stayed it was maybe 1 minute!) I loved the calm crystal clear waters and though its popular with travelers the beaches are spacious and not crowded at all. In general that's why I tend to prefer Costa Rica's Caribbean beaches to those on the Pacific side.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank puravidalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerto Viejo Beach also viewed

Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Puerto Viejo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing