We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay”
Review of Coco Loco Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coco Loco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Alajuela
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The cabins are basic but offer what you need, privacy, a hammock, kitchenette and bathroom. Clean and spacious, supplies are offered to prevent you from being bothered by mosquitoes. It's just a short walk to the beach and the lovely center of Puerto Viejo. It offers plenty of rest as it is slightly separated from the noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis-Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    110
    21
    13
    5
See reviews for
58
195
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

For decades European and America expat travellers have made Puerto Viejo, a peaceful and beautiful corner on Costa Rica's north coast, their home. Many have opened simple but pleasant restaurants and hotels: The Coco Loco Lodge is just one example and certainly one of the most clean, charming and professionally run. The small bungalows with palm frond roofs are clean and tastefully arranged--complete with mosquito nets for each bed. TV (we didn't turn it on), a safe, bottles of shampoo in the bathroom, it's all there. We loved sitting on the porch and looking at the vegetation.

Breakfast was included and is quite adequate although a bit plebian; the open-sided dining area another opportunity to enjoy the verdant landscaping.

We enjoyed exploring the area--walking and biking. Through the hotel we booked a guide to take us through the national park and point out birds and trees.

We found a delicious local restaurant (recommended by the hotel) with excellent food and a family ambiance.

All in all a delightful and relaxing holiday. I regained my sanity.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaybirdHyderabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for four days and it was good. The place is really nice with really helpful staff. There is room service so the rooms get cleaned every day. The place is located really well. It's nice, quiet and surrounded by jungle but everything is still within 5-10 min walk. So have reviewed that the walk to Coco Loco Lodge is sketchy at night but we didn't feel unsafe!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pyry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estherville, Iowa, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had 6 family members in our group and the staff made room for all of us. My wife and I got the Casa Amarillo, which has a nice galley kitchen, stocked with microwave, fridge, blender, toaster, ect , and our grown children stayed in the room above the lodge reception. The kids room was equipped with two double beds, a nice big couch, fridge, and tv. It is a very spacious room with an outside deck with chairs and hammock. Both Casa Amarillo and the kids room were very well organized, clean and comfy. Casa Amarillo also has a large porch area with table and chairs and a hammock. The bathroom was also spacious and the shower was nice and hot.
The staff are more than willing to help with tours and activities, and always greeted us with a smile. They all speak english, spanish, and german, possibly more, but those are the ones I witnessed.
The location is great ! On the edge of town, yet only a few blocks walk to the grocery store, or a soda for food and supplies. Puerto Viejo is not that big, in fact, very small and most everything is with in easy walking distance.
We would absolutely stay at Coco Loco Lodge again !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This charming little lodge is set right on the edge of the jungle and is tucked away in a corner in the town of Puerto Viejo. Whila at the Lodge, you feel you are in the jungle, but everything you need in the way of restaurants, coffee houses, etc is within a 3-4 block walk. The Cabinas are very clean, on stilts, and we had little porblem with bugs due to the mosquito netting around the beds. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast they offer is so-so, but we ate there every morning for convenience. For really good coffee go to Bread and Chocolate. And for amazing Caribe food go to Shakina. Both are just a couple of blocks away from Cocoloco. We stayed there for 10 days and really loved it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed two nights at Coco Loco Lodge. The room was nice and the breakfast and hosts were wonderful. Will stay there again!' On the edge of town so we didn't hear all of the noise but did hear the monkies one morning. Quick walk to the store and Bread and Chocolate and other sodas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyonsRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel is very nice, well maintained and very clean. The staff is really nice and helpful, which is, in general, the style of the local people in Puerto Viejo, thanks God. The only suggestion that I would make is to have either more fans on the rooms or a standing fan that you can move around, in the non-AC rooms. I guess that because of the cabin design, they tend to be hot at day and even part of the night. Depending on the weather, the wall fan will not be enough. Other than that, the price and the location is unbeatable!

Room Tip: Get the ones with AC if you plan to stay during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,442 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,014 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
671 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
633 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Loco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Loco Lodge

Property: Coco Loco Lodge
Address: Av 67/Calle211, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Hotel A hotel with a more intimate atmosphere than a larger hotel, offering fewer rooms, staff members and/or services; all rooms have private bathroom facilities. Comfort equipped palm-thatched bungalows and private houses in hotel Costa Rica, village Puerto Viejo, Caribbean coast, surrounded by scenic jungle, huge garden, tropical plants, animal life, ocean side accommodation for 1-6 people with lots of amenities, TV, kitchen, wifi internet, fridge, drinks, breakfast, tours, transfer, parking, coffeemaker, night guard, room service, more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coco Loco Hotel Puerto Viejo
Coco Loco Puerto Viejo
Coco Loco Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing