We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful 3-day Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coco Loco Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coco Loco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bocas Town, Panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful 3-day Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

We arrived from Bocas del Toro, Panama for our visa run and lucked out finding Coco Loco. As we had no reservations, they were nice enough to put us up in the main house. The management was very helpful and the room was clean and pleasant. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. Very well manicured and lots of different kinds of vegetation. The one thing that I wasn't aware of was hot water was extra. But no worries. Our only complaint, and this is really not the management's fault, was a family upstairs with two small kids screamed, and I mean SCREAMED until almost 11 pm. and started again in the morning. Other than that, I will recommend this place to my friends back in Bocas.

Room Tip: Make reservations for a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancytrascik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    109
    20
    12
    5
See reviews for
56
193
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

My wife and baby daughter, stayed there last March with my parents. We stayed in separate rooms from my parents on the same double cabin, sharing the balcony.
The grounds are beautiful and the reception area and cabins are cosy and relaxing.
Staff was fantastically friendly and accommodating.
The Lodge is one walk away from supermarkets, restaurants and banks.
We were all very happy. There was nothing to complain, great value for money. Will stay there again if I'm ever back to Puerto Viejo.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasper alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

We are a older Canadian couple , wanting to experiance this side of Costa Rica , I must say , it was more then what we thought it would be .

( Stayed in bungalow 4 I think )

We arrived early in the day , were checked in very quick , met Sabine and were given some do,s and don,ts ( like don,t feed the dogs )

The room was plain , had a fridge and a fan and a nice clean wash room . ( Yes it is small , but it was what we expected and were told . )

We ran into Sabine and some of her staff some times in town or on the beach and she always had a pleasant word for her guests .


I have read some where that there is a concern about a " sketchy " road to walk to her little piece of paradise , well , all I can say , it is , just poorer people , makeing a living as best they can and certainly not bothering any one .

As a matter of fact , there is a church and a school very close , and Sabine , I know you know , but with the bank and grocery store so close , your location is EXCELLENT !!


We stayed at Coco Loco for about a week and then we moved to a supposedly more better location , and I will not say where , but boy did we wish we had remained at Coco Loco .

Now , the big complaint , so as mentioned we stayed at a diffrent place as well , but when it was time to leave Puerto Viejo, I realized , we really did not have any keep sakes , so , I thought , I would go to Coco Loco and get a t shirt , guess what , sold out !!!
That is my big complaint and expect a management response to this .

Sabine , you should have t shirts for sale , so as we can remember our stay with you .

We look forward to comeing back

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ownercocoloco, Owner at Coco Loco Lodge, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Hello!
Thanks for your review and your compliments ! It is always nice to read something positive which makes working easier and more fun .
About the T shirts, sorry we couldn`t offer you what you where expecting , we have 2 small left in polo style and maybe soon some others , hopefully next time we can satisfy those wishes too
best greetings Sabine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

Stayed here 3 nights and loved it. The cabins are lovely and rustic/romantic. The quality for the price was really above what we expected. It was great to have a mini fridge right in our room. Sabine was helpful and very friendly. Stay here - you'll love it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonjamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rock creek
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2011

The cabinas were beautiful, so much thought and work put into them--same with the gardens. Within minutes of arriving , so did one of the owner's cats, (I was so worried about mine) and she set my mind at ease. All good. After three days we were able to move to a cabina with a kitchen, which was wonderful. Shopping in the market, our own little house. Our hosts went above and beyond for us. They set us in the right direction more than once. A close walk to town and yet you feel like you're in your own little cabin in the woods when you get back home. Absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

We had a 2-night stay with family in mid-January.......3 rooms in all. I booked direct with the hotel based upon some previous T/A reviews and the place more-than lived up to the reviews.
The rooms are comfortable; the ground are gorgeous and the staff coulnd't have been more helpful. There is free wi-fi and free internet in the hotel lobby, which was a real bonus.
You are only a few minutes from town and the beach. The nearest beach is pretty ropey but you don't have to go far to find Playa Cockles and Punta Uva beaches. Good sand; great waves and sufficient palm trees to offer shade from the hot sun.
Enough to do in town - plenty of choices of bars and resturants - the Flip Flop restaurant, living up to it's good reviews, was our favourite. Fantastic food for the money and a very friendly owner.
The one thing that would have made it completely perfect would have been a pool but, in saying that, I just wish that our stay at this cracking place could have been longer!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monfishe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullins, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

Puerto Viejo is awesome. Coco Loco is even better! Nestled in the corner of this very interesting/unique town, this lodge is the perfect getaway. Everyone there is very nice and helpful. If you are thinking about Puerto Viejo, think no more!! and if you're going and want a perfect bungalow, Coco Loco is your number one choice. We are from SC and enjoyed this trip very much. We read all the horror stories of Cost Rican crime, however, Puerto Viejo is sooo laid back and chill.. we were 100% safe at ALL times. EVERY restaurant is sooo good.. sushi at Chile Rojo.. the fish at Koki Beach.. lunch at Flip Flop and much much more. Don't be afraid of fireworks.. they like them in Puerto Viejo.. I recommend this trip and lodge to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CodyT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Loco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Loco Lodge

Property: Coco Loco Lodge
Address: Av 67/Calle211, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Hotel A hotel with a more intimate atmosphere than a larger hotel, offering fewer rooms, staff members and/or services; all rooms have private bathroom facilities. Comfort equipped palm-thatched bungalows and private houses in hotel Costa Rica, village Puerto Viejo, Caribbean coast, surrounded by scenic jungle, huge garden, tropical plants, animal life, ocean side accommodation for 1-6 people with lots of amenities, TV, kitchen, wifi internet, fridge, drinks, breakfast, tours, transfer, parking, coffeemaker, night guard, room service, more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coco Loco Hotel Puerto Viejo
Coco Loco Puerto Viejo
Coco Loco Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing