We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bungalows Calalu
Nearby Hotels
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of $225/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel La Costa de Papito(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Maritza(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Perla del Caribe(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$99
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Namuwoki Lodge(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$109
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Boutique Indalo(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Casa Moabi(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Escape Caribeno(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$72
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tree House Lodge(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$200
$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Banana Azul(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveler rating
80
30
11
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
30
11
11
5
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 137 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2010

It is 100% true, the owners of this hotel are EXTREMELY rude!! They got wrong our reservation dates, room type and rate. When we checked in and asked for the proper room we were told we never booked that room and everything was "our" mistake. The woman's attitude was aggressive, abrasive and just plain mean. She refused to listen to any common sense or even offer us any other options, other rooms, discount, money back...nothing. She point blank said, "I own this place and I don't make mistakes"! The only reason we didn't go elsewhere was because it was a busy weekend. I won't go back. The owner is not from Costa Rica, she is from Spain, and has no manners. No real restaurant or bar and very small pool.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittkatt74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

We had no idea where we were going to stay in Puero Viejo. We were SO thankful when we stumbled onto this place!! Beautiful gardens, helpful staff, nice pool, and the bungalow was simply amazing. Perfect for me and my three friends. Close to town and a 15 minute walk to Cocles. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jkskibunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

Overall the bungalows are cute and comfortable, but all the reviews we read in travel guides spoke of having breakfast with the butterflies or resting in a hammock. There weren't any hammocks, butterflies or even breakfast. The owner spoke no English so we didn't receive an explanation as to why these things were no longer available. The pool was warm yet somewhat refreshing, but also didn't match the photos as the waterfall wasn't operating. If we hadn't been expecting all these little extras that made us chose this place over the others, it would have been quite nice. But we kept asking ourselves, "where's the butterflies?"

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mtnmamaFortCollinsCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2008

Although a lot of reviewers seem to have problems with the owners of Calalú, I have received nothing but good service from them, and they do not strike me as particularly unfriendly or unreasonable, and definitely not mean, as some seem to think. I've never had any reason to complain, though, so perhaps I've just been lucky and avoided their dark side; my impression is that they are reasonably polite and helpful people.

I've stayed there seven times over the last years, since the cabinas are cheaper than most other decent options, and a lot nicer than the cheaper options. $40/night ($60 for 4 people) is quite a bargain, considering that it's peaceful, yet close to town and the beach. And it has a pool, which is nice enough and not dirty.

The rooms are simple, yet nice, with large bathrooms and a terrace. Some have a small kitchen with fridge. The kitchen could use a little upgrade, though; it's more suitable for storing beers in the fridge than for cooking.

I recommend Calalú for laidback, self-going people who do not need luxury to make their vacation perfect, yet don't feel comfortable in the cheapest places. If you get personally offended by missing details, you may want to pay a bit more somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zorblat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

Everything was OK, the bungalows are clean and warm. The pool was OK but the owner threw some soap into it while we were enjoying the pool at night. They say that there is a restaurant but it is always empty, maybe because of the owners. But if you don`t talk to them, you can enoy your trip.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jose112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews