We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Town, nice owners, dark rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agapi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agapi
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Close to Town, nice owners, dark rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2008

I am just now reviewing the 1-2 dozen places I have stayed in the puerto viejo. I stayed at Agapi twice in the past few years. Owners were very nice and friendly, Rooms were spacious, both times I had ocean view room. They are very dark however and not rooms you would want to hang out in. Close to town so you can walk but not in town.

  • Liked — Friendly owners, clos to town
  • Disliked — Very Dark rooms
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RasNovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    30
    20
    13
    25
See reviews for
29
46
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

We just spent a long weekend at Puerto Viejo away form the hussle of San Jose city, and were dissapointed by Agapi Apartamentos; and usually, this happens when you set your expectations too high:

Owner's hospitality:
1. Mostly all reviews, with one exception, praise the owner's hospitality. We disagree, and were treated rather rudely.
2. This is probably the only hotel in Costa Rica where you have to check out at 11am. It is customary and standard, as regulated by the ICT (Costa Rica Tourism Board), to check out at 12pm.
3. When we asked if we could stay at least until 12pm as customary, we were rudely dismissed.
4. If you pay with credit card, should you expect an ungly reaction?
5. They offer breakfast, if you order the day before. However, we were not informed about this, and so the next morning we had to go out for breakfast. Not that we cared much, there is one place nearby (Kiré) which is very good, but this is just to make the point that the owners are not very informative.

The rooms:
1- The website is somewhat misleading saying that their apartments are fully equiped, but their rooms are not. They are furnished with a small fridge, but no kitchenette.
2- Beds are foam matresses with thin sheets.
3- First floor rooms (not apartments) are not well lit, and not appealing to be at.
4- The bathroom smelled weird, probably because of bad sanitary ventilation.
5- One plus worth mentioning is that the rooms are equiped with air conditioning (a rare luxury on the South Caribbean, but seldomly needed in well ventilated lodges).

The location:
1- The hotel is located at the South-Eastern tip of Puerto Viejo, well away from the noise, and yet close enough for a walk into town. It is also in front of the beach, although this stretch of the beach is not swimable; but Cocles beach is a short walk away.
2- The hotel is secured enough to bring your car, as they have a gated parking lot, and night-guard.

The rate:
At $60 per night without breakfast, this is not such a good value. You can find better lodges with a true caribbean style and a better location around Playa Chiquita (a little south of Puerto Viejo), including a fabulous breakfast like Playa Chiquita Lodge, which is our first choice for our Caribe Sur trips - too bad this time it was fully booked :-(

If you don't have or rented a car, and rather stay close to Puerto Viejo, a closer option than Playa Chiquita Lodge would be La Costa de Papito, which is around $70, and is right across the road from Playa Cocles; you'll enjoy private or duplex bungalows in an exotic garden setting.

Bottom line, we won't repeat our stay at Agapi.

  • Liked — Close to the beach
  • Disliked — Rooms unappealing to be at
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chilis-Ticos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels

California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2008

I loved the owners of Agapi. They were very honest and we sat outside chit chatting with Cecilia. We even took her dog to the beach with us.

We stayed at Rockin J's the night before which was a nightmare and we had to get out of there quick! The Staff at Rockin J's was horrible and rude! Luckily Agapi had an availability and it was 100 times better!!!!!!!

I would stay here again if I go back!

  • Liked — It was such a great deal for the price!!! You cant get any better than this for the price!!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank coltrane808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2008

We stayed there in Spring Break and we liked it very much.

I've heard some bad comments about the owners, but i have to say that they were extremely kind to us! They helped with the tours, we sat outside with them and chit chat, if something was not working as expected they sent the staff to fix it, it was nice! Everything was taken care of.

You cannot expect the same commodities as in America, but to me this was just better, at night you can listen to the sea while going to sleep. The staff were very enthusiastic, they called us to show us several sloaths. In the morning you can just sit in this very nice place they have with views to the water and have your coffee and breakfast.

By the way, do not choose Banana Azul because is ranked number one because you will be walking to town for quite a while and eating dust because that road is not paved and I personally do not like the beach in front of Banana Azul's hotel. Agapi is much more convenient.

At the end, if you are nice to them they are nice back. We have no complaints about Agapi, and definetily we'll go back!

  • Liked — See front property, in the morning I loved to wake up and feel the ocean.
  • Disliked — Probably the sheets, they are not American standard but they were okay.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank masp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2008

After an excelent stay and experiencing the tradicional Greek hospitality of Tassos and Ceci, the only negative thing is that I didn't have more days to be able to enjoy the place and the time together with them!

A beautiful hotel, cozy and discreet, clean and tidy, with great services. You can see and hear the Ocean from the large balconys, while the jungle that surrounds you whispers seductive words, trying to capture you in its beauty forever.

Loved so much my stay there, that I easily would prolong my trip to C.R. and even without visiting the Pacific Coast, which seemed much more "Organized" to me, word that usually means "destroyed".

A great pitty that the sea wasn't calm enough to go fishin'...

Thanks for everything Ceci + Tasso

La proxima vez YO traigo el octopus y la botana.
Hasta luego!

Yorg. Kotsman

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank YorKots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All Over
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2008

This is really a lovely place. It is quiet and clean. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and breakfast under the big tree is not to be missed. Cecilia and Tasos have been very kind to us, going out of their way to make sure we have everything we need. It's all true too about being right on the ocean- we sit at our table at breakfast and watch the waves through the trees. If you come, be sure to ask Cecilia about the family of sloths.

  • Liked — Spaciousness, location/view
  • Disliked — Need some new sheets & towels
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AnotherVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfergirl20
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2008

I picked Agapi because they were conviniently located to bosth Puerto Viejo and Cocles, and all the review were great on Trip Advisor...but when we arrived it was a whole different story. I could not believe that peole had actually given this place good reviews. Dont get me wrong the place is not that bad but the owners were horribel. We got the room with the kitchen. We paid $75 a night. The kitchen waslacking on the utensil side of it and the bed sheets sucked they kept coming undone....so we were basically sleeping on the mattress. If you stay on the second floor...which we did the roof is somewhat open and leaves kept falling down from the roof. After staying there for 2 nights we decide to leave for another place, we made the decision around 12pm that day. We went back to ask Cecelia (owner) if we could leave and she said NO we would have to pay for another night because it was past 11am. They had not even cleaned our room yet and all there rooms were not full...either way she still made us stay. The last night we spent there there was some sort of annoying electrical noise that just kept ticking and ticking it sounded like someone elses fan in anthor room or the shower running but it would not stop. The thing that made us want to leave was the bad service we got from Cecelia and Taso. They have no idea what hospitality is. Right of the back Cecelia had the nerve to ask me why I emailed her so much. (I only emailed her 4 times 2 of those times were to confirm my paypal deposit) I think I have the right to know if someone received my payment. Everyone we met in town said that she was very rude and mean. She even treated her staff like they were slaves. She bossed them around and tolled them to hurry up and finish there job because they are not here all day. I fell in love with Puerto Viejo and the only bad experience was dealing with Cecelia and Taso I will definely not be going back to Agapi and would not recommend that you do either.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The Owners Cecelia and Taso
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfergirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Lizard King Hotel Resort
#28 of 51 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Exotica Lodge
Exotica Lodge
#43 of 51 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aiyana Lodge
Aiyana Lodge
#23 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agapi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agapi

Property: Agapi
Address: 800 Metros Sur de Puerto Viejo Camino a Playa Cocles | America, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 687304, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Agapi 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Agapi offers beachfront rooms or apartments with kitchen and jacuzzi(all with private bathrooms). We will feature a swimming pool and an outdoor jacuzzi, as well as a swimming pool for children,pool bar and breakfast buffet by the 1st of December 2009. Here, you can enjoy your vacation by the sea in a friendly environment, surrounded by nature, within minutes walk from downtown! Benefit from our bike & car rentals and tour services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Agapi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agapi Apartmentos Hotel Puerto Viejo
Agapi Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing