We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Trip to Costa”
Review of Cariblue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cariblue Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
costa mesa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First Trip to Costa”
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Before I left for Costa Rica I was warned that the Carribean side was the worst side to visit. WRONG ADVICE! the Carribean side was the most beautiful part of Costa Rica. Hotel Cariblue had a great, friendly staff. As soon as we showed up to the hotel we were greeted with fresh squeezed juice. We had our own little bungalow. I was with 4 other girls and the bungalow was perfect for us! the bathroom and living area was very clean. The free morning buffet was so amazing!! The hotel staff was always helpful and accomadating to our needs. I would definitely recommend the hotel spa. I had the basic massage which was only 45.00 USD it was to die for!! everyone should experiance the carribean side and hotel Cariblue!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jendutchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    382
    151
    47
    42
See reviews for
224
480
41
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
the home of TexMex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We loved our stay at the Totem! We came a day early and they accommodated us with a room until our suite was ready. The hotel is right on the beach, a small distance from the town of Puerto Viejo, but not far! There are restaurants and bars within walking distance, as well as a delicious restaurant right on the grounds. We were involved in an accident on our first night there, and the hotel staff was amazing and arranged for transportation to and from the hospital from Limon, made sure we had money to pay for services and checked on us daily. We were so impressed with how professional and kind they were! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank feloniouspunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

The best hotel in Puerto Viejo
he Chocolate treatment in the SPA, you feel a god in paradise, the smell, the sounds of the jungle, wow!! They have their own sloth in the park, same tree every morning! GreatThis was our second time in Puerto Viejo and now we visited Cariblue hotel and stay for 4 days. The hotel is one of a kind, a true paradise, gorgeous tropical gardens surrounding the bungalows and the swimming pool ... a wonderful oasis! I strongly recommand t accommodation in bungalow with all comfort, huge LCD TV, huge bed, appreciated hammock on the terrace, the breakfast have tasty dishes, varied every day, so we tried the gourmet restaurant in the night very good taste with a tropical touch, the service very attentive, always a smile, you feel that your time runs with the rhythm of the Caribbean, PuraVida !
Thanks Cariblue

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ecomovie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed at. all the staff were extremenly helpful and nothing was too much for them. The hotel setting was brilliant. The rooms were a good size and the bathroon fantastic. I loved that the hotel was all white and they used different colours for the furtniture everyday. The pool, bar and restaurant area were very chic. A briiliant boutique hotel all in all and well worth a stay if you are looking for a bit of luxury. Bonus is that it has its private beach as well will great beach beds.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucytir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

I was on spring break with 4 other girls and we all had the time of our lives in Costa Rica. We stayed at three different hotels throughout the trip and Hotel Totem was by far the best. We had a smooth check in and were welcomed wonderfully. The rooms far exceeded our expectations. We stayed in a suite that had 2 queen beds and also bunk beds. The rooms and decor was amazing. Right outside our room on the balcony we had a private pool and great view of the ocean. Breakfast in the morning was incredible, banana pancakes, egg bakes, fresh fruit..anything imaginable. We used many resources from the hotel as well, such as day trips we took ie. snorkeling in Cahuita, Canopy tour and waterfall in Manzanillo, surf lessons right out side the hotel, Arenal Economical Tour including horseback riding, waterfall, volcano tour, and Baldi Spas. Hotel totem was wonderful and you will not regret your stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler01_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

This was our second stay at this property within three years and each time, the host makes you feel so welcome. You can always count on Mariela for any assistance from getting a taxi to booking local tours - she is awesome. Sandra, the owner, is always all smile and will go out of her way to fix little problems that may occur during your stay.

We had reserved two rooms for the six of us: one junior suite for the parents and a large suite for the four young adults. The junior suites are the newest addition and come with a king size bed with a good mattress, a large bathroom with a huge walk-in shower & air conditioning. The other suite had two separate sleeping areas with a queen size bed in one room and two twins in the other. Only the room with the queen bed is equipped with AC but there is a ceiling fan in both rooms. The surrounding is very "jungle like" with very well maintained gardens, a nice swimming pool, a nice relaxing deck with hammocks and jacuzzi.

The restaurant serves a variety of authentic Italian food at reasonable price. The pizzas are great, all with thin crust!!!! The chef Nico always has a delightful fish on the menu. The seared Tuna is a must.... We found the complimentary breakfast to have a better selection of items when compared to our last stay two years ago. There are eggs, sausages, gallo pinto (rice & beans), frijoles, fresh fruits, cheese plate, cold cut, banana pancakes, nice pastries and of course, coffee & juices.

Cocles Beach is just across the street and it is one of the nicest in the entire country along with Punta Uva which is a few kilometers south. You can rent bicycles from the hotel next door (CaribeBlue) for an easy stroll to Puerto Viejo or Punta Uva. Restaurants are everywhere around and prices are very good when compared to properties on the Pacific side of Costa Rica. We can recommend Qué Rico at the Costa de Papito Resort – one of the best in the area.

Hotel Totem is a clean, quiet & well managed family owned property. It is not a 10 acres Cancun All-Inclusive Style place but hey, this is why people come to Costa Rica.... Pura vida!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OttawaFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

The Cariblue is really sweet hotel.

There are a number of private bungalows and rooms leading off paths in a very lush, pretty property (with their own tree sloth!). We had a bungalow with 2 full beds and a futon couch. Beds were ok (not fab, not the worst). It was clean, and they had AC and a fan.

The pool was great. Perfect temperature, lovely in the day and evening. You were usually able to order drinks/food at the in-pool counter bar. The food at the restaurant was not great and was expensive (breakfast was fine). The lobster was not worth it. Eat elsewhere.

It is located right across from a great beach, with lots of surfers. It's about a mile to town (peurto viejo), which is adorable. There is a dirt trail along the beach that leads to town, where you can avoid all of the dust from the dirt road.

***One thing I wish I'd known is that there are very large stretches of gravel/dirt roads on the way to the hotel. Pot holes so big that you could loose your car in some of them. I wish we'd taken the bus (which I believe drops you off in Peurto Viejo, but there are lots of cabs that are around 3000 colones ($6) to get to the hotel). If you do want a car, get a 4 x 4!***

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arakashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cariblue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cariblue Hotel

Property: Cariblue Hotel
Address: Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cariblue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Caribbean resort in Puerto Viejo, de Limon, Costa Rica.Hotel Cariblue is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the nature, the beaches and comfort.A leader among Costa Rica hotels and resorts, we offer luxurious hardwood bungalows nestled in exotic tropical gardens between the pristine white sand beach of Playa Cocles and lush natural jungle (more info about us). Enjoy our award-winning service and our full range of amenities and facilities in a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere. A paradise is waiting for you."Cariblue Hotel” “Your Caribbean resort", is a 3 star hotel and 3 green leaves (CST), is the ideal place to enjoy your vacation, Its located just steps away from beautiful pristine white sand beach, Playa Cocles and just a mile from typical village of Puerto Viejo de Talamanca (Old Harbor), where the Afro Caribbean, Indian and all over the world cultures are mixed in harmony and peace.Cariblue has 23 private and comfortable bungalows nestled in a gorgeous tropical garden of almost 5 acres (20.000 sqm). All the bungalows feature a private balcony overlooking the resort's tropical gardens. Impressive Gourmet Restaurant "Soleluna" with a gorgeous bar and in the pool with our happy hour every day in our pool bar. Spend a lazy day by the beautiful pool area, kid's pool and relax in the Jacuzzi while enjoying one of our selection of fine tropical cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cariblue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cariblue Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cariblue Hotel Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing