We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautifull hotel in the Limon province”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cariblue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cariblue Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A beautifull hotel in the Limon province”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Puerto Viejo will definitly not be the most beautifull or most memorable place which we visited during our 26 day stay in Costa Rica, but Cariblue Hotel was absolutly a very nice hotel near the Carribean sea.
You can see tucan, monkeys, frogs and all manner of other critters right next to your room (sometimes even in your room unfortunatly) or in the large garden area near the hotel.
The rooms are spacious, mostly clean and all have airconditing.
The hotel has a very beautifull pool and a rather nice restaurant.

The location of the hotel is quite far away from Puerto Viejo itself though, it's quite a hike (by the beach if you'd like) to town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWEindhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    381
    149
    47
    42
See reviews for
223
477
41
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Don't expect luxe accommodations. But the location and grounds are lovely; the staff extremely friendly and helpful. Seems like they are in the midst of upgrading which is great. Especially as the price is a bit steep for what you get. My biggest comment would be an upgrade to their linens (towels and bedding). I must note that I remember when Puerto Viejo was off the beaten path and completely affordable. Seems like times are changing and prices are sky rocketing. That being said if they are going to raise the prices they need to up the quality of the services and product in general. However, all in all we had a lovely, relaxing time and would recommend staying there. Oh and don't use the taxi service through the hotel to get around - they charge double.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JesseLeeDeNeeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights and definitely enjoyed my stay. During the day I would lay in one of the hammocks and get some reading done or walk across the street to a great beach. At night I would walk about 10 minutes to get to the main part of Puerto Viejo then head back to spend some time in the pool and attached whirlpool.

There was a lot of wildlife around there which was awesome and the property looked beautiful and well taken care of.

A couple of things that would have made it a more enjoyable stay would be if the wifi would have made it to my room and also if the beds weren't as loud. The mattresses were fine but they were on top of some wood that would make noises whenever there was movement.

Aside from that, it was a great stay and great place to do some relaxing. The staff was super friendly and always ready to help and answer questions!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PabloGuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotel property is beautiful and the rooms are quite nice. Our room was upstairs and a pretty good size. It had sliding wooden doors that don't really seal very well at the bottom. That might be an issue for a place where there are a lot of things that creep around. It bothered my sister enough that she got a different room that had a more traditional door. We didn't have any unplanned visitors.

This was our second hotel in CR at which we were issued towel tokens for the pool. I've never taken a hotel towel home, planned or otherwise, but it seems to be a concern here. It just seems a bit cheesy--maybe it's the wave of the future.

The restaurant was nice and its prices were a bit high just like most of the places we stayed. The wait staff are very casual--slow is a better description I suppose. They're on Tico time.

The front desk staff were very helpful. When our travel plans required an early departure, they prepared box breakfasts since their regular breakfast didn't start until after we left.

All of the beaches along this stretch of coast seemed to be marked with signs indicating rip currents were present. I'm not sure if that was just to cover themselves, but I didn't think the surf behaved any differently than in S. California.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retiro, Colombia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We arrived on May 19th via a bus from San Jose which was about a 3 hour ride that was pleasant. The grounds are beautiful and very tropical. We paid 90 USD a night and were greeted and given a tamarando fruit drink on arrival. The property has WiFi and Sky satellite TV. There are actually 2 hotels here – a small two story building right on the highway across from the ocean and then a group of small buildings set back from the road called bungalows – ours of which was divided into 4 units – two on the first floor and two on the 2nd. We were on the 2nd floor and could hear the people next door very well. The property is very tropical and beautiful with lots of birds but also has bugs - cockroaches in the bathrooms and small bugs on the bed. They have signs everywhere asking you to save energy but there are large gaps in the doors and around the windows allowing the AC to go outside. The front doors to the room slide like sliders and there are gaps around the doors, between the doors and vents in the doors for the AC to leave and outside air to enter. Also, around the windows there are lots of gaps as well. Simple foam tape would save more energy than the efforts of all the signs they have on the property. In the bathroom they have halogen blubs (2 on the wall and 3 in the ceiling) which use a lot of electricity and generate a lot of heat. Also, there is very little water pressure – it’s more like a light stream to be exact. We had the problem in Colombia and solved it by raising the water storage tank which creates the pressure – or installing a pump. There are 2 restaurants – the one in the back by the pool was offering a dinner special for 38 dollars per person which for Costa Rica is expensive as typical nice restaurants are about half of that regardless that they included a glass of wine and desert. The breakfast which is included is good – typical food of CR – buffet with fruit, small cups of juice, coffee, and 2-3 hot items along with eggs made to order – good but nothing “special”. Also, the breakfast isn’t available until after 7 – we were there at 10 till 7 and they asked us to wait 15 minutes. Most of the other places start breakfast at 5:30 or 6. Beers are 3 to 4 dollars which is twice much as they are in town at the grocery store. The people are friendly but the place I feel wants to “nickel and dime you”. For example, they want to rent a bike for 10 dollars (bikes are 3,500 C on the street walking into town) a day and we asked about a cab into town and the guy at the desk said he didn’t know how much they were (2,000 C). There is another restaurant in the front – they had pizzas for 8-10 dollars which were good. They also have assorted other items and they have a small view of the ocean (which should be opened up as the ocean is beautiful here). While the beach and beautiful are beautiful here – the place is isolated and not close to any other bars or restaurants (except for one “dumpy” gringo hostel on the road to town which had garbage in front of it and smelled like sewage when we walked by). I would have rather found a place a couple of blocks from the town which is amazing and filled with great people, bars, beaches and restaurants for substantially less money. We ate like kings in town with over a pound of fresh red snapper (600 grams) and another dish with 10 shrimp in garlic sauce with 6 beers all for under 20 dollars. I like the towns as I like to know more about the people and have an assortment of food like local fried fish (Pargo Rojo, etc.) and not be at the mercy of the hotel property which over charges you for everything. It was nice but next time I would try another place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HK2LS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Lovely. Loved our little cabin. We were a bit jetlagged and Cariblue was a great place to relax. Wish we'd also taken a taxi to Manzanilla, Uva beach or PV town but we didn't have the confidence at our first stop in Costa Rica. However, we saw howler monkeys and a 3-toed sloth as we strolled along the road so that was fantastic. Only drawback is it’s quite an extra leg of travel when the pick up for Mwamba Lodge is at Guapiles. Would be good to be able to catch a boat up the canal from Limon. Or perhaps we should just have had an extra day or two to explore Cahuita/Gandoca-Manzanilla so we didn’t feel we were too much on the road?

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Puerto Viejo looking for a place to stay on a holiday weekend. Cariblue had a room available. The reception staff were welcoming and the room was good quality. The property is very large and the rooms scattered throughout , so be prepared to walk to the pool or restaurant. Night guards are numerous and take their jobs a little too seriously. Make sure you get your ID wrist band to avoid confrontation at night.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yare Hotel
Yare Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cocles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cariblue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cariblue Hotel

Property: Cariblue Hotel
Address: Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cariblue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Caribbean resort in Puerto Viejo, de Limon, Costa Rica.Hotel Cariblue is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the nature, the beaches and comfort.A leader among Costa Rica hotels and resorts, we offer luxurious hardwood bungalows nestled in exotic tropical gardens between the pristine white sand beach of Playa Cocles and lush natural jungle (more info about us). Enjoy our award-winning service and our full range of amenities and facilities in a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere. A paradise is waiting for you."Cariblue Hotel” “Your Caribbean resort", is a 3 star hotel and 3 green leaves (CST), is the ideal place to enjoy your vacation, Its located just steps away from beautiful pristine white sand beach, Playa Cocles and just a mile from typical village of Puerto Viejo de Talamanca (Old Harbor), where the Afro Caribbean, Indian and all over the world cultures are mixed in harmony and peace.Cariblue has 23 private and comfortable bungalows nestled in a gorgeous tropical garden of almost 5 acres (20.000 sqm). All the bungalows feature a private balcony overlooking the resort's tropical gardens. Impressive Gourmet Restaurant "Soleluna" with a gorgeous bar and in the pool with our happy hour every day in our pool bar. Spend a lazy day by the beautiful pool area, kid's pool and relax in the Jacuzzi while enjoying one of our selection of fine tropical cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cariblue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cariblue Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cariblue Hotel Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing