We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms nice pool”
Review of Cariblue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cariblue Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
indiana
Level Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Clean rooms nice pool”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Nice acomadations our room did not lock all you had to do I'd lift up door to unlock. Staff not helpful in planning or knowledge of activities in the area, simply handed you a book and the phone and you were on your own. Kids enjoyed pool. Food average but very expensive and beach across street was dangerous to swim in due to currents.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pastabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    383
    151
    47
    42
See reviews for
225
480
41
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The deluxe bungalow was nice, surroundings beautiful and we especially appreciated the pool as our little one was afraid of the big caribbean waves. We also appreciated pina coladas and mojitos served at the pool bar :). Feels also totally safe- guards at the entrance checking cars entering. Breakfast varied daily and both costa rican and tourist options were offered.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Food, people and location when all blend together it is a perfect vacation of any family.

Staff at Cariblue are extremely friendly thanks to our bartender and service Jose.

The facility itself is very clean and lots of beautiful birds, green frogs and other creature you can see and hear.

Restaurant- we ate only breakfast and small snack at the bar so not much to compare. Drinks were good especially Mojitos.

Location- Since this hotel is tuck in and across from the beach it is was perfect you don't hear the street noises but at the same time you are step away from everything. Going to town was about 5 mins drive.

Rooms- We had a bungalow and it was spacious and clean. Wish the bathroom was more updated. All the rooms are located with privacy in mind.

We def. would love to come back and stay at this place.

Room Tip: There are soooo many fine restaurant in and around this hotel try them instead of eating at the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VA_DMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We booked this hotel for just one night because the one we wanted was overbooked. This one did not disappoint us either. The rooms are very very nice and quite spacious, we especially loved the bamboo bed and the fact that there is a safe in the room. The towel art was a nice touch. The bathroom is, although not really big, slightly above average for this price range and the décor and surroundings are beautiful as well, once you leave the reception area and enter the area were the actual rooms are. We did not try the Jacuzzi unfortunately, since it closed before our arrival.. but it looked nice.

Since we had a car (hotel has limited parking space), we went out to PV to have dinner there and came back quite early to sleep of some jetlag. We did wake up in the middle of the night because of a couple that thought they were the only people in the world.. and responsible for repopulating it. Which is not the hotel’s fault of course, isolation is bad (non-existent?) in almost all of Costa Rica.

After falling back asleep, we woke up again when it was still dark outside.. and crossed the street to the sea. This alone made our stay worthwhile.. being alone on a beautiful beach really early in the morning was a great holiday moment. So location is great.. but not so much if you want to get to the centre of the town after dawn and don't have a car. Roads are dark, darker, darkest!

The breakfast was okay, enough choice for everyone.. and we were able to upload a blog entry thanks to Wifi connection.

We did not feel the warm family-like personal welcome that other reviewers rave about, on the contrary. We literally said to each other after staying in our next hotel: ‘you really feel the difference between a small hotel in which the owner puts a lot of effort and energy herself and the previous one which is mainly run by paid staff and personnel with no real connection to the hotel other than it being their job’. Very strange reading that this is also more of a family owned and run hotel, it simply didn’t feel like it during our stay. Not that anything went wrong or that we were treated impolite or anything.. just a subjective feeling.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funlovingfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cormacbr2, Gerente at Cariblue Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your comments. See you next time; you will be welcome.
Best regards,

Mariela Pérez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Highly recommended! Very helpful and a Wonne.erful resort. M. & V. G., 3-2013
A wonderful place to relax and to enjoy the very Good beach in front and sent your vaccations there. Very helpful stuff!



M.G.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The resort was a great getaway for the weekend. Nice location and felt like being in the jungle. Staff was fabulous and we enjoyed the pool, the restaurant, the spa, and sitting area of the lobby for after dinner drinks. The morning grounds were filled with howler monkeys which were lots of fun to watch. Traveling with my husband, Mom and good friend we all shared the same opinion, Great service, friendly staff, and wonderful care!

Room Tip: Bungalow rooms are great and nestled in the trees. Just know the howlers will wake you up early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraR8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Beautiful grounds, flowers, fountain, pool and hammocks, across street from nice beach with lots of surfers - fun to watch. Great resident dog and cat, and though a bit out of town, has bike rental on site if you don't want to walk or cab. Best breakfast of all the places we stayed, though a bit light on the fruit so abundant everywhere else. Hard working ladies in the restaurant. Rooms are decent sized, no TV in ours and we did experience plumbing issues with the toilet, and very low water pressure in the sink and shower. Easy walking to restaurants in town or the other direction.

Room Tip: Check water pressure - not sure if it was our room or hotel issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiANDJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cariblue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cariblue Hotel

Property: Cariblue Hotel
Address: Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cariblue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Caribbean resort in Puerto Viejo, de Limon, Costa Rica.Hotel Cariblue is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the nature, the beaches and comfort.A leader among Costa Rica hotels and resorts, we offer luxurious hardwood bungalows nestled in exotic tropical gardens between the pristine white sand beach of Playa Cocles and lush natural jungle (more info about us). Enjoy our award-winning service and our full range of amenities and facilities in a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere. A paradise is waiting for you."Cariblue Hotel” “Your Caribbean resort", is a 3 star hotel and 3 green leaves (CST), is the ideal place to enjoy your vacation, Its located just steps away from beautiful pristine white sand beach, Playa Cocles and just a mile from typical village of Puerto Viejo de Talamanca (Old Harbor), where the Afro Caribbean, Indian and all over the world cultures are mixed in harmony and peace.Cariblue has 23 private and comfortable bungalows nestled in a gorgeous tropical garden of almost 5 acres (20.000 sqm). All the bungalows feature a private balcony overlooking the resort's tropical gardens. Impressive Gourmet Restaurant "Soleluna" with a gorgeous bar and in the pool with our happy hour every day in our pool bar. Spend a lazy day by the beautiful pool area, kid's pool and relax in the Jacuzzi while enjoying one of our selection of fine tropical cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cariblue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cariblue Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cariblue Hotel Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing