We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Another enjoyable experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cariblue Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cariblue Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Cariblue the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Our room was always cleaned beautifully. The grounds were visited by Sloths, lizards and a wonderful array of birds. There are some bad reviews about the food at Cariblue so be careful about what you pick from the menu on the whole we had some good food especially the fish fingers (unlike ours) it was fresh fish lightly cooked and was very good, same goes for the chicken fingers (whole fillets).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAMRUTH176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    361
    131
    42
    39
See reviews for
209
446
40
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Rooms were clean and nice location to beautiful beach. What made this hotel good was management. Mariela, the manager went above and beyond to help us with anything we needed or any recommendations we asked. Loved the beach area more than other beaches in CR.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sddenoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cormacbr2, Gerente at Cariblue Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hello sddenoma,
Thank you so much for your comments. I remember you. I appreciate it and it makes me happy because the objective of our labor is to make our clients feel comfortable like in home.
You will be welcome next time and anytime you come to our Hotel. It will be a pleasure for me can help you again

Best regards,

Mariela Pérez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Reading mixed reviews I was a little leery to book here but it was the only option available on very short notice. The room was clean and does not offer a tv. It smelled a little damp but that's something that we found in many hotels in Costa Rica. The jacuzzi was not in working order which was disappointing but there's an ocean across the street so we didn't really care. Loved the hammock area to relax in. The food was tasty and we got a 20% discount on one of our meals upon check-in at our room. For us the location was perfect as we don't like to be in the middle of it all but in a five minute drive or quick bike ride, you're in town with plenty to do. There is a cat that loves to share your food and a very friendly dog that might follow you to the beach for a game of stick. We are animal lovers and having pets in restaurants is a normal occurrence in CR, so it didn't bother us. The only thing that irritated me was the ants in our room. Then again, it's CR and there are bugs every where. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cormacbr2, Gerente at Cariblue Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hello NickyEric,

Thank you very much for letting know to the other people your experience with us. It is motivating when our labor is good enough for our guets.
I hope see you next time.

Mariela Pérez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights last January and the place is good,my overall expience was positive but I wasn't lucky enough with mother nature,the high tides wouldn't let me go into the water a single day.I'll give it a try again next year to see if I have better luck with that.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dethrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cormacbr2, Gerente at Cariblue Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Hi, how are you?
Thak you very much for your positive opinion. Next time we can help you to find some places on the beach that are better for swimming. Come back to us anytime you want... you will be welcome to our Hotel.
Mariela Pérez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

These is a hotel that has seen better times although it still has some strong points, the biggest of which is its setting. Reception was fast, easy and friendly. We had chosen a standard room, which was a mistake. Although the room was clean and adequate, these roms suffer from significant drawbacks from a sleep perspective. They are alongside the carpark, which although hidden can be annoying when alarms go off at two am. They also adjoin an area where some of the hotels water systems are placed and the sound of cisterns switching on/off all night is unpleasant. The grounds are superb and it is possible to lie by the pool and watch sloths in the rainforest. Birdlife is good. 6 The hotel really lets itself down in the catering department. On arrival we ordered a beer, a glass of white wine together with a club sandwich and a chicken roll. The club sandwich was OK but the chicken roll was virtually inedible; both were served with fries that were soft and unappetizing. The wine was not good and served in very small measure. When I asked for the bill to be allocated to the room, it came back duly completed with service added and a hand written note on a scrap of paper saying; "Welcome, your tip is not included in this bill". An evening meal was taken in the restaurant which was adequate, but trying to get a bottle of wine was a joke. Asked for the wine list, we received only the list of reds. Then we asked for the list of whites and of about fifteen wines, only two were stocked - both vastly overpriced vin de table. The same ocured with the reds where we pushed to take overpriced house or very expensive European wines. All of the decent reasonably priced reds were unavailable. This is not the best way to start a meal. For information there is a good Italian trattoria fifty yards from the hotel on the road into town. Although the wine is only served by the glass, it is of good quality and well priced. The food is much superior.
However the breakfast is excellent.

Room Tip: Avoid standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

after long travels & crappy hot uncomfortable rooms - we found Cariblue :) apparantly tv's & a/c are hard to come by in Puerto Viejo? but Cariblue had both! plus a big comfy bed, a pool, the best breakfast & a lovely safe atmosphere. for the money - this is BY FAR the best deal in PV. i mistakenly follwed the advice of tripadvisor, but Cariblue should be #1, not 6

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonafidetruedetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We spent 3 nights in the totem. It wasnt that clean, betoveral was dirty, there was a worm in the shower, some ants on the buffet.
Waves in the ocean were to high to swim. Wasnt in the centre, so we had to walk 20min. Or to take the taxi for 5$
Breakfast was not lovely and just a small buffet. Dinner in the restaurant was good but there walked dogs/cats around. Normaly for puerto viejo, but not for us.
We wouldnt go to this place and hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kokosnusss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cormacbr2, Gerente at Cariblue Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
It's a shame to know that your stay with us has not satisfied at all, but it helps us to improve. Our website clearly states that the Hotel is located in Playa Cocles, 1.5 Km South from Puerto Viejo;
taxis get only $4 dollars and we always say the people "if you need a taxi, we call it at the reception", because it is the same taxi we always work with, in the case you have complains you can show up at the reception and we fix everyhing; maybe you get your taxi in the street and not ask for it at the reception. About the room, if you come to the reception and tell us what is happenning, we can mend it and try the rest of the travelers do not get a distorted view of reality.
Thak you very much for everything; we will take it into account.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
2.4 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
12.0 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cariblue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cariblue Hotel

Property: Cariblue Hotel
Address: Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cariblue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Caribbean resort in Puerto Viejo, de Limon, Costa Rica.Hotel Cariblue is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the nature, the beaches and comfort.A leader among Costa Rica hotels and resorts, we offer luxurious hardwood bungalows nestled in exotic tropical gardens between the pristine white sand beach of Playa Cocles and lush natural jungle (more info about us). Enjoy our award-winning service and our full range of amenities and facilities in a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere. A paradise is waiting for you."Cariblue Hotel” “Your Caribbean resort", is a 3 star hotel and 3 green leaves (CST), is the ideal place to enjoy your vacation, Its located just steps away from beautiful pristine white sand beach, Playa Cocles and just a mile from typical village of Puerto Viejo de Talamanca (Old Harbor), where the Afro Caribbean, Indian and all over the world cultures are mixed in harmony and peace.Cariblue has 23 private and comfortable bungalows nestled in a gorgeous tropical garden of almost 5 acres (20.000 sqm). All the bungalows feature a private balcony overlooking the resort's tropical gardens. Impressive Gourmet Restaurant "Soleluna" with a gorgeous bar and in the pool with our happy hour every day in our pool bar. Spend a lazy day by the beautiful pool area, kid's pool and relax in the Jacuzzi while enjoying one of our selection of fine tropical cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Cariblue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cariblue Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cariblue Hotel Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing