We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy in the jungle by the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My son and I had a fantastic time at Shawanda. It had charm, personality, comfort and a sloth! My son loved the wildlife and pool; I loved the breakfasts and the sweet cabins. Everyone was very helpful and nice. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DallasRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Shawandha Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 479 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

Amazing lodge with private access to the beach. The room was gorgeous tucked away in a forest, large with a huge bathroom...staff was amazingly helpful and courteous. The hotel restaurant serves great food - both me and wife are vegetarians and we finally found some options here for us. Our server was extremely helpful and went out of his way to make us feel comfortable. Would definitely love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This was the third stop on our honeymoon. The location is stunning though the jungle sounds take some getting used to! The Caribbean and isolated beach is only a short (if scary!) walk away and we even saw sloths in the hotel gardens! The room was lovely and the restaurant excellent and the staff courteous and helpful. Definitely would recommend the trip to Manzanillo-Gandoca too.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jimmyfarold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

At first glance it looks amazing, the bungalow design is cool, the atmosphere is cool, the pool, the hammocks, the friendly stuff and good service effort.
But I was disappointed, I cannot imagine how it can be that there are more bugs inside the bungalow then outside when I lie in the hammock. I was going insane with nowhere to hide.

The bungalow is not lit enough, the bathroom and closet have enough lighting but in the "bedroom" there are 3 table lamps and that is it, during the day you open the drapes and can see but at night I was constantly bumping into stuff.
The windows only have nets, no glass at all - so at night I was cold.
And to top everything the awful shower, you turn the knob 180 degrees to get cold water, and then slowly turn it back to get some hot water (if you're lucky)

I can see the efforts to give customers a good and enjoyable stay, but i couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sshahar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbugbog, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shawandha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

We feel really bad that you had that experience. As you said all windows have screens so maybe you left the door a little bit too long open. You should have let the reception knows and we would have helped you of course.

Regarding the issue of being cold at night, again we can have given you extra blanket. We love our climate, hot during the day and a little cool at night. That is exactly why we do not need air conditioning.

For the shower, unfortunately you had to experience the fact to have hot water in the jungle. Sometimes things are not as easy as in a developed country but isn't that what you are also looking for when you travel?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

What I enjoyed the most about the lodge is that the bungalows are tucked away in a lush rain forest, which really seems to come to life at night. The howler monkeys were especially loud and seemed to hang around the property.

Our bungalow was a good size with a large bed, but overall a bit dated. They're not as nice as they appear on the website and I feel its pricey for what you get in comparison to other hotels in the same price range. Still, we enjoyed hanging out on the porch hammock and just relaxing.

The breakfast is worth mentioning, although it doesn't vary at all. The portions are not large but its a nice selection of fresh fruit, eggs and fresh bread.

Their cancellation policy is a bit tricky, so once you're booked you may not be able to get a refund even if you cancel well in advance.

Overall I liked this lodge, but do feel its over priced and would probably consider staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittkatt74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My family of 4 stayed at Shawanda for 4 amazing nights. I loved everything about the lodge. Check in was a breeze. Our bungalow (which was beautiful) had a king as well as two single beds provided for our 8 and 11 year olds. The bathroom was huge and had lovely tile work throughout. Our porch was great with a hammock and seating area that I lay in every morning as the sun rose. There is a wonderful restaurant on sight that provides a beautiful array of fruit and eggs any style you like for breakfast, and the dinner is delish. (note: no lunch on site but a few cafes just a short walk or bike away if you need to get a bite mid day). There is a beautiful common area where you can sit with wifi, and the pool area that is super relaxing and refreshing. But what one of the loveliest thing about the place was, was the amazing service. I have been to many hotels worldwide, and I can honesty say that the service here is outstanding! Everybody that works at the lodge including the owner are so wonderful. It truly felt like a luxury lodge. I am missing it already!
a few notes to consider- These are bungalows without AC (but have ceiling fan) or windows that shut (only screen with slat and curtains), there is no in room fridge or coffee maker. This is Playa Chiquita and Puerto Viejo, If you are looking for something like a Hilton in the states, you will not find it on the Carribean coast. but what you will find in my opinion is truly spectacular.
This is a beautifully structured bungalow but don't forget, you are in the jungle, with the ocean a short walk away. Your clothes may stay moist especially after beach or pool or just a day out and may not dry, so pack accordingly. There is an array of wildlife all around you, and its AMAZING. If you are not one for howler monkeys and birds chirping, frogs clicking or insects flying keep in mind, or just bring earplugs. To me this was the most amazing sound and I slept like a rock and all I want is to capture that sound and hear it everyday!
If you love nature, a beautiful surrounding, a sweet little beach town with some great people and a lodge with wonderful service, I can't imagine you wouldn't be happy here. My family was, and we would definetely go back in a heartbeat! Thank you again Shawanda!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbugbog, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shawandha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you!!!! We are happy that you really enjoyed your stay with us. We are all doing our best to let you have unforgettable holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Puerto Viejo was our first stop on our month long trip to Costa Rica and Shawanda was a wonderful, relaxing oasis. It was a bit further from the main town of Puerto Viejo then I expected, but we were still able to find restaurants to eat within walking distance very easily.

By cab I think it would cost $16 round trip to go to Puerto Viejo so if you really want to have a variety of restaurants/bars/night life to visit this may not be the place for you. We rented bikes for $5 a day from the supermarket which was a five minute walk from the resort. The bike ride into town took about 30 minutes. There was a local bus that picked up every hour I believe right across the street from the resort. I think it was 1200 colones one way. The buses are relatively punctual. Everyone seemed to rent bikes here which is great for the day time, but there aren't many street lights so riding at night made me nervous.

The staff was very helpful and had all local information. Breakfast was the same every morning, but very good. If you left before breakfast was served they would kindly leave you a plate of fruit and coffee for the AM.

Rooms were very large with king size bed and good sized bathroom. Each cabana was set in the jungle so was very quiet and relaxing. We did not see much wildlife in town, but there were plenty of birds, monkeys, and sloths to be seen here. The howler monkeys make it a point to let themselves be known before the sun rises. They have a beautiful beach access point which is about a 5 minute walk. We visited all the beaches in the area and this was by far our favorite. The front desk will give you towels.

The restaurant was one of our more expensive meals there, but one of our favorites. A wonderful splurge.

I think the only area I would improve would be having a small fridge in the rooms so that people can keep beverages. I would definitely stay here again, but I think I would rent a car if I did.

Room Tip: Not a bad cabana!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinnesotaNicci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbugbog, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shawandha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Many thanks for your helpful review. We will consider your comment on the fridge in the room and the same breakfast every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
4.6 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,479 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,038 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
654 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shawandha Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shawandha Lodge

Address: Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $132 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shawandha Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Shawandha Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shawandha Puerto Viejo
Hotel Shawandha Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing