We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to chill out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to chill out”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay in Shawandha Lodge. Very relaxing, quiet and peacful - nice if you want to get away from it all. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Lovely cafe nearby and yoga classes next door too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eire146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    159
    34
    17
    6
See reviews for
104
265
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nice property but a bit overpriced. We stayed for a couple of nights and had a good time. Parking was safe and secure. Rooms were far enough from each other that you weren't able to hear every word being said from the next door. Found a huge roach in the bathroom at night so wasn't too pleased and the included breakfast was lacking (eggs and fruit). Apparently it was "bee season" because a swarm of bees were hovering over our plates during breakfast, this made me loose my appetite. For the price per night, I would expect higher standards. Although with that said, I never felt as if our lives were in danger or property was on the brink of being stolen during our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triptravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Really awesome property just across from Playa Chaquita. Very quiet and peaceful. Pool area was very nice. Staf was always very helpful and accomodating. A little pricy for location, but definitely recommend at least 1 nights stay here. Food in restaurant was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msharpe03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Had an amazing time visiting Puerto Viejo.. and even more being taken care of by the Staff at Lodge Shawandha. Bungalow cabina´s in the middle of rain forest setting. The food cater by the restaurant is amazing. Five Stars to the chef you cooked our meals to perfection, and even came out in the middle of our dinner to make sure everything was cooked the way we asked. Very quiet ambiance and clean rooms. can´t wait to go back and relax...!!! Thanks Guys!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Shawanda Lodge is a clean and comfortable place on the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica. The people were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast, even though the same everyday, was good. Plenty of wildlife in the area and the pool was cool and clean. The beach was only 5 minutes away and quiet and secluded. No A/C was not a problem since the bungalow had a ceiling fan to keep me cool at night. The water was turned off during part of the day during our stay. The staff told us that the water supply was limited due to the recent lack of rain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TierraPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very comfortable, and clean cabina. No TV and no AC, thank goodness. Beautiful setting, good meals and cheerful staff. Stayed there for two nights, next time it will be for 4 or more. Don't know how long this area will maintain it simplicity and charm but if you want to see paradise before the big guys get here do it now.
The surrounding area is both beautiful and fun. The ocean, the jungle, the people, and animals... what more could you ask for. The beach is just across the road, the town a short drive or bike trip down the road.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alanarnone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 days/nights in mid-August and really enjoyed it. The staff is exceptionally friendly, especially Angeles (who seems to be there all the time) and Caleb, the evening bartender/server.

The rooms: we stayed in #14, all the way towards the back and it was a charming little bungalow. I loved the hammock on the front porch, very nice and relaxing touch. The room itself was comfortable, and we enjoyed that the windows were screened in so as to carry a breeze through the cabin and also let us hear all of the jungle sounds at night. We made friends with a little gecko that lived there before we got there (lizards/geckos eat bugs, therefore we were 100% ok with him hanging out in our cabin!).

We woke up every morning to howler monkeys, which was cool since we're Pacific Northwesters who'd never seen or heard such a thing, at least not in the wild like that. The location feels like you're right in the middle of the jungle, which is a beautiful, noisy, and colorful place.

Access to the beach is just across the street and a few hundred meters through a private trail, lined with little crabs and geckos.

As a side note: I would not recommend walking this trail at night (though we did, in a slightly drunk and altered mental state, thinking it would be fun to check out the beach at midnight). It all worked out just fine, but seeing as a number of these jungle creatures are nocturnal, this was not our wisest decision. In hindsight though, it all worked out and was worth the amazingly beautiful view of the starry Caribbean night sky.

As with just about everywhere in Costa Rica (or so we found with the places we traveled), the jungle is loud and there are bugs everywhere. This isn't a complaint by any means, just something to keep in mind if you choose to stay in the jungle! However, the lizard friends everywhere were adorable, and we spotted a couple of agouti on the sidewalks there as well. Also, howler monkeys, butterflies, and lots of colorful and sing-songy birds make their homes in this jungle. Watch out for ants, though. They bite, and it hurts!

The pool at Shawandha is sooooo nice and relaxing. It's always slightly warm, which makes it easy to just leisurely swim around in and enjoy.

August is something of the slow tourism season here (so we're told), and there were only a few other families/couples here at the lodge while we were here. From what we could discern, they were Spanish, Dutch, and possibly French.

There's a little market just down the street from Shawandha where you can rent cruiser bikes for $6/day. We did this three days in a row, and enjoyed being able to bike the short way down to Manzanillo one night and up to Puerto Viejo the next day.

I'm told that Shawandha is on the pricier places to stay in this part of town, but since we booked everything through a tourism company (Costa Rica Sun Tours), and they negotiated the prices for us to fit within a total budget we wanted to stay within, all I know is that this fit within it.

The restaurant is alright. I really enjoyed that breakfast was included every morning and we were greeted with a small carafe of coffee and plates of fresh, tropical fruit (piña, papaya, mango (MY FAVORITE!), and bananas. The coffee in Costa Rica is smooth and delicious and the fruit is so sweet and fresh I'm already craving more and I haven't even left the country yet.

Dinner there was decent, and is influenced by an interesting combination of French and Costa Rican cuisine.

All in all, I really enjoyed my four days there, though for the sake of adventure and trying new things, I'd probably look for something different next time I'm in Puerto Viejo. Honestly, for being there for anything more than 3 days, I'd personally prefer a place with a kitchen and would first look for something on Airbnb or some sort of vacation rental before coming back here. If I were only going to be in town for a weekend or a few days, I'd absolutely return to Shawandha.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doniree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
4.6 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,467 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
686 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
645 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shawandha Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shawandha Lodge

Property: Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Address: Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shawandha Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Shawandha Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shawandha Puerto Viejo
Hotel Shawandha Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing