We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet place on the coast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Shawandha Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quiet place on the coast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Shawanda Lodge is a clean and comfortable place on the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica. The people were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast, even though the same everyday, was good. Plenty of wildlife in the area and the pool was cool and clean. The beach was only 5 minutes away and quiet and secluded. No A/C was not a problem since the bungalow had a ceiling fan to keep me cool at night. The water was turned off during part of the day during our stay. The staff told us that the water supply was limited due to the recent lack of rain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TierraPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    151
    29
    15
    5
See reviews for
96
255
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very comfortable, and clean cabina. No TV and no AC, thank goodness. Beautiful setting, good meals and cheerful staff. Stayed there for two nights, next time it will be for 4 or more. Don't know how long this area will maintain it simplicity and charm but if you want to see paradise before the big guys get here do it now.
The surrounding area is both beautiful and fun. The ocean, the jungle, the people, and animals... what more could you ask for. The beach is just across the road, the town a short drive or bike trip down the road.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alanarnone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 days/nights in mid-August and really enjoyed it. The staff is exceptionally friendly, especially Angeles (who seems to be there all the time) and Caleb, the evening bartender/server.

The rooms: we stayed in #14, all the way towards the back and it was a charming little bungalow. I loved the hammock on the front porch, very nice and relaxing touch. The room itself was comfortable, and we enjoyed that the windows were screened in so as to carry a breeze through the cabin and also let us hear all of the jungle sounds at night. We made friends with a little gecko that lived there before we got there (lizards/geckos eat bugs, therefore we were 100% ok with him hanging out in our cabin!).

We woke up every morning to howler monkeys, which was cool since we're Pacific Northwesters who'd never seen or heard such a thing, at least not in the wild like that. The location feels like you're right in the middle of the jungle, which is a beautiful, noisy, and colorful place.

Access to the beach is just across the street and a few hundred meters through a private trail, lined with little crabs and geckos.

As a side note: I would not recommend walking this trail at night (though we did, in a slightly drunk and altered mental state, thinking it would be fun to check out the beach at midnight). It all worked out just fine, but seeing as a number of these jungle creatures are nocturnal, this was not our wisest decision. In hindsight though, it all worked out and was worth the amazingly beautiful view of the starry Caribbean night sky.

As with just about everywhere in Costa Rica (or so we found with the places we traveled), the jungle is loud and there are bugs everywhere. This isn't a complaint by any means, just something to keep in mind if you choose to stay in the jungle! However, the lizard friends everywhere were adorable, and we spotted a couple of agouti on the sidewalks there as well. Also, howler monkeys, butterflies, and lots of colorful and sing-songy birds make their homes in this jungle. Watch out for ants, though. They bite, and it hurts!

The pool at Shawandha is sooooo nice and relaxing. It's always slightly warm, which makes it easy to just leisurely swim around in and enjoy.

August is something of the slow tourism season here (so we're told), and there were only a few other families/couples here at the lodge while we were here. From what we could discern, they were Spanish, Dutch, and possibly French.

There's a little market just down the street from Shawandha where you can rent cruiser bikes for $6/day. We did this three days in a row, and enjoyed being able to bike the short way down to Manzanillo one night and up to Puerto Viejo the next day.

I'm told that Shawandha is on the pricier places to stay in this part of town, but since we booked everything through a tourism company (Costa Rica Sun Tours), and they negotiated the prices for us to fit within a total budget we wanted to stay within, all I know is that this fit within it.

The restaurant is alright. I really enjoyed that breakfast was included every morning and we were greeted with a small carafe of coffee and plates of fresh, tropical fruit (piña, papaya, mango (MY FAVORITE!), and bananas. The coffee in Costa Rica is smooth and delicious and the fruit is so sweet and fresh I'm already craving more and I haven't even left the country yet.

Dinner there was decent, and is influenced by an interesting combination of French and Costa Rican cuisine.

All in all, I really enjoyed my four days there, though for the sake of adventure and trying new things, I'd probably look for something different next time I'm in Puerto Viejo. Honestly, for being there for anything more than 3 days, I'd personally prefer a place with a kitchen and would first look for something on Airbnb or some sort of vacation rental before coming back here. If I were only going to be in town for a weekend or a few days, I'd absolutely return to Shawandha.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doniree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our family stayed at Shawandha Lodge in July and really enjoyed it. The grounds are beautiful and teeming with animals, including sloths, monkeys, birds and plenty of exotic insects. Less than a 5-minute walk to the beach and convenient (via car) to nearby markets, restaurants, shopping etc. If you don't have a car, renting a bike may be the way to go. Staff was friendly and helpful and went out of their way for us. Food was very good. Accommodations were well-maintained and comfortable. Nice pool for swimming. We enjoyed our time here and recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank groovyruvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoevelaken, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Beatifully situated park with lodges with special style. Spacious, well-designed and clean lodges. Very friendly, helpful and professional people oriented at making the guests feel good. Good quality food in beautiful restaurant.

Room Tip: All rooms have nice location and are based on same style with small differences to make them unique...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PieterImhof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaken not Stirred!
Level Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is a very nice, and laid back spot with easy access to the beach, nice pool, and nice accomodations. The food is very good. Highly recommend the Sea Bass wrapped in Banana Leaves, Delicious. You will need or wish you had a car if you stay here, as this place is pretty remote. I wish they would have had bicycles for us to use, which is a major drawback in my opinion, as the entire are could be accessable by bike. We ended up renting some from a private residence for $6 each (day), but these were in pretty bad shape. There is a store close by, but was closed when we tried, so we walked for about 20-30 minutes to find some. Not a big deal, but for the cost of a cruiser the lodge would have been more accomodating. The town of Puerto Viejo is nothing special and pretty run down, so do not go for the purpose of visiting the town, you will be dissapointed. However, the people are very friendy, the food is pretty good at most places. We went soley to see the Carribean side of CR for 2 nights, which was plenty, and moved on to Tortuguerro...

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very basic, with ceiling fans. For our stay it cooled down enough at night (abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank El-Guapo-de-La-Noche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I have been meaning to write this review for a while... We stayed here in March 2012.

First the good part...Hotel Shawanda located on a beautiful piece of property. We saw sloths while swimming in the pool as well as in the "lobby" are which was very neat.

We stayed for 10 days here, which was about 7 days too long. I think it is okay for a weekend, because the free breakfast which is the same everyday gets really old. You get two eggs, and fruit...and you better be up in time or you miss out.

There is no fridge in the room which is pretty rough when it is 90 out and you can't get water. The bar doesn't open until dinner time....which is ridiculous.

My boyfriend and I went down there together, where he proposed to me and the hotel and staff knew that he was planning this, and they did NOTHING to accomodate for that, no special treatment whatsoever, you'd think maybe a complementary drink, but no...you are charged for water...... I would not recommend going to this place again. The room (when it was cleaned, which wasn't until mid-afternoon) was never stocked with any refreshments and they wouldn't even take the trash out which we gathered into a bag and put by the door!!! for several days...

Basically you are camping in the jungle, which is cool, for 2 days, then I would head to a real resort where you get fresh sheets, maybe cold water, and something off the charts crazy to eat for breakfast like um an omelette or a muffin for a change??

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank roseset0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbugbog, Marketing at Hotel Shawandha Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We are really sorry if you had such a bad experience. For people who stay longer than two nights we usually ask if they want something new for breakfast even if we have been told many times that the breakfast is very good like that (a full plate of fresh tropical fruit and then a plate with bread and eggs, coffee and juice).
Also I am really surprised that you did not find any water in the room as we provide 2 small bottles of water everyday, for each bungalow.
Finally, congratulations for the proposal and of course we are delighted to offer a cocktail in such circumstance. I really don't understand what happened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shawandha Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shawandha Lodge

Property: Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Address: Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shawandha Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Shawandha Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shawandha Puerto Viejo
Hotel Shawandha Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing