We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet bungalows, excellent restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Certificate of Excellence
Brooksville, Maine
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quiet bungalows, excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2010

April 2010
3 nights
US$79/night (double)
12 bungalows with restaurant and bar located outiside of town, across from Playa Cocles. Clean and well-maintained. Large bedroom which sleeps 4, large patio with table, chairs and hammock surrounded by plants which provided privacy and coolness.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swaskilewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    164
    40
    10
    9
See reviews for
168
276
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

After a long day of travel from New York (4 hours ride through the mountains from San Jose to Puerto Viejo) it is such a relieved to arrive at La Costa de Papito to an amazingly gorgeous natural setting. Our bungalow is beautifully done up in a chic-rustic style. But most importantly for us the staff is incredible. Welcome to the paradise with great drinks. Menirva is with grace and charm and took such great care of us in the Que Rico Papito restaurant. The food is delicious and great value (whole red snapper with Caribe sauce for $12 with rice and sauteed mix veggies! Melvin at the bar made some of the best Mojitos we had! Peaceful, and steps away from the beautiful Cocles beach. We rented the bikes (best and great way to get around) and rode to town, the reserves nearby as well as the gorgeous Punta Uva beach. The owners, Eddie and Auxie Ryan are gracious and welcoming as well as full of resources. Eddie, ex-New Yorker himself and has been living full-time as a Costa Rican here in Puerto Viejo for 23 years. We relaxed and enjoyed our time here so much we are booked with La Costa de Papito again for next May - www.lacostadepapito.com.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellers11_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

We stayed at La Costa de Papito for 4 days and it was amazing. The beach right across the streed was beautiful. We also recommend going to the jaguar reserve (which is only a short bike ride away), and doing the snorkeling trip and canopy tour which you can reserve through the front desk at the hotel. Great laid back atmosphere. Beds were a little small but overall a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worthya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Cliff NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

My stay at La Costa de Papito was terrific! The people who work there really go out of their way to make you feel completely at home ,like a cherished friend,I relaxed on this trip like never before . Reading in the hammock on the bungalow porch while staring out into their beautiful topical garden listening to the howler monkeys growl. Had a massage at their fantastic spa on Friday morning and than a great day on Cocles Beach right across the street in the afternoon. Thursday night is Calypso night and the three piece combo was great. The Caribbean Barbecue that night was a great deal for the price and the waitress was a gem. My steak was really good. The restaurant is gorgeous. Big thick wooden tables a hight ceiling leaf roof and elegant artesan woodwork everywhere. Wow!

Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank SeaCliffNYRobertC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2010

We goofed up our reservation, and found ourselfs without a place to stay a few days prior to leaving. Eddy was very helpfull. We had 4 nights in a very nice bungalow. Then the last 4 nights we got to sample three other bungalows and only getting charged for one. We didn't mind the moving and got to sample several bungalows, liked them all. The people are very friendly and helpful. The food is great, esp. breakfast. As far as security there's a safe in each bungalow which you punch in your own code. A few suggestions confirm your reservation asap, bring lots of cash dollars work best, rent a car for the entire time, talk to a few locals about the best places to eat, and if you have a private van pick you up at the airport and you only speak english make sure he does too. Ask him to take the main hwy not the back roads[very bumpy with lots of trucks taking 6 hrs instead of 3.5 hrs the worst part of our trip] Thanks, Meg and Chip

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megchipmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2010

I traveled to Costa Rica with my mother last week. We had no idea where to start with trip planning- what town to visit, where to stay, anything... I'd decided I'd like to try the southern Caribbean coast because it'd be close enough to Panama to take a day trip. However, everyone I talked to had visited the Pacific coast and not the Caribbean coast. This made me a little nervous but we went ahead and chose Puerto Viejo. Then there were a ton of options for places to stay. This one happened to have availability and I liked the photos and reviews. Needless to say, the photos do not do it justice! I always expect a place to look better in its' website photos than in person, but this place was a huge exception! It was ten times better in person. Hammocks on the porch, mosquito netting around the bed...so incredibly cozy and really made you feel that you were on a tropical vacation. It was not simply a place to stay, but actually made our vacation. They had a huge breakfast included, and my mother is vegan and there was plenty for her! When we left early in the morning for day trips, they packed us fruit and juice to go. The people who worked there were incredibly friendly and helpful...I just cannot find enough good things to say about this place. This is only my second TripAdvisor review written, but I just had to rave! Highly recommend La Costa de Papito!!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLtoNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

We visited Costa Rica before Christmas on our way to Chicago. We stayed at La Costa de Papito for 6 nights, and would have stayed for more if it was cheaper to change our flights. The bungalows were quiet and relaxing and the hammocks perfect for a siesta, a cigar or just to listen to the sounds of the jungle. The staff were both helpful and friendly and the food was excellent. Before 3 weeks of eating deep-fried cheese-curds and other cheese-based food products in Chicago over the Christmas period, a week of seafood was very welcome.
The location is ideal if you want to be away from the town, which is only a 20 minute amble away. Papito is situated opposite the beach which is beautiful for a walk and a swim.
The fridge was well stocked with cold beer, which tasted great as I caught up on football from both sides of the Atlantic, whilst the other-half got some kind of mud-bath/beauty treatment in the highly recommended spa.
Our stay at La Costa de Papito was tremendous and we would definitely return to Costa Rica and stay there again.
It does rain there as other guests have stated, but that shouldn't stop you doing all the available tours/activities on offer in the region. Anyway, as Costa Rica is pretty much one big rain forest, what else would you expect?

MARCUS. LONDON.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
2.5 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
12.2 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Costa de Papito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Costa de Papito

Property: Hotel La Costa de Papito
Address: Beach Road, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 10010, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Costa de Papito 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 5 coconuts from Caribbean Travel Magazine for style, service and setting. Rustically elegant, hard crafted bungalows are privately set apart in a lush five acre tropical garden on the edge of the jungle. In front or the gorgeous white sand Cocles Beach, winner of Costa Rica`s blue flag for pristine beach. An idyllic romantic hideaway with a family friendly double occupancy price for a family of four. Que Rico Papito Restaurant specializes in food fit for jungle royalty. Massage, facials and delicious body treatments at our Indulgence Spa. Rest easy! Secure Lodging with Safes & Secure Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Costa de Papito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa De Papito Hotel
Hotel La Costa De Papito Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing