We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great time here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Costa de Papito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Certificate of Excellence
Bowen Island, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Had a great time here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We really enjoyed Costa de Papito. The bungalows were very comfortable and our famliy of four had plenty of space to spread out and relax. The deck, table and hammock were awesome as well and we would have spent all our time there (except for the mosquitoes) but otherwise...perfect. The food was also great, we ate dinner there a few times and were always really pleased with the tasty and fresh ingredients. Had lovely service as well and we especially want to thank Coco for being so friendly and helpful with us. Our kids had a great time and everyone made us feel right at home. I'm really glad we made the effort to get to the Caribbean side. We enjoyed it immensely. Thanks Eddie and family. All the best!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJuneja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    163
    39
    10
    9
See reviews for
164
273
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

The property and the little bungalows are really quite cute, and the location is great, but we didnt so much enjoy our stay here.

The weather is very hot and humid, not a problem, but the ceiling fans are too slow to help at al and the way the netting is hung it clings to your sweaty body while you are trying to sleep.

The staff was OK but didnt have a pleasant helpful personality. The restaruant was really very good but i did get sick from the food one day.

I wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Min108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Costa_de_Papito, Manager at Hotel La Costa de Papito, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Following up on this commentary we replaced the capacitor in a ceiling fan and it's now spinning again like it should. We leave the mosquito nets positioned so there is adequate space for closing. If the net is pulled out from behind the headboard of the bed it will be clingy.
I'm glad our guest enjoyed the restaurant. One of the awards we won last year in the annual South Caribbean Culinary Festival was for the most higenic kitchen. Since christmas a stomach virus has affected both locals and visitors in the area. I haven't heard of any more cases in the last week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Great location right across the road from the beach with great individual cabins. The staff and owners could perhaps be a bit more hospitable and communicative with the guests but only a small point in an otherwise very well done resort. Great breakfasts too.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

I loved this place, first off the staff is great and extremely helpful, will set up trips for you and make recommendations. I took three tours while I was there and was pleased. The food was excellent and with the exception of the steak, I am not a steak lover, I realy enjoyed the food. The rooms are nice, kept cool by a ceiling fan. I drank the water in the cabina and had no problem although I seem to have an iron stomach. I would heed their warning. I will be back.

Room Tip: No 11 is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

I will start with the incredible dining experience at the restaurant, we ate 4/5 nights here and not once were we disappointed! First night we had Lasagna with shrimp and mushroom sauce and the flavours were explosive, our Christmas dinner was shrimp stuffed sea bass it was ohh so delicious! We also enjoyed a great platter of nachos ! We had excellent service with Gabrielle and of course our awesome waiter Coco! We also got to enjoy the great Calypso band on Christmas Eve, so much fun!
Our bungalo was a wonderful experience, it was clean and private!
As one other reviewer pointed out, the netting over the bed would be better if the circle above was a bit bigger or frame the bed above to allow better coverage for the netting. That would be our only complaint if you really want to call it that.
Overall our experience was a positive one and we would recommend these cabanas to anyone wanting to really experience something different and exotic, Thank-you Eddy and all the staff, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnajeanne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Valley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

There are great things about this place and a few not so great. The great stuff is the staff who is very friendly and helpful. Also the restuant is nice and the food is excellent. The setting is nice and it is a short walk to the beach. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. We were concerned that there was no air conditioner but it cools off at night and the ceiling fans made it comfortable. So what didn't we like? It says there are screens on the windows. Yes, 2 of the 5 windows had screens. The others do not although the venting at the room top does have screens. You can close the shudders but there is a huge gap in some of them that is large enough for mosquitoes. There is mosquito netting on the beds but a ring a the top is not very large and the netting tends to creep in on you at night and getting up in the night to go to the bathroom was at times irritating because you have to find the way out and close it back when you are half asleep. I wish the upper ring were close the the size of the bed so it didn't creep in on you. In fairness only a very few mosquitoes got in the room. There aren't very many in the area. The only other negative thing is the water. This is probably true for all the rooms in the area, but it is not advisable to drink the water. We used bottled water for drinking and brushing our teeth.

Room Tip: In spite of screen and mosquito issues this is still probably one of the best in the area and the ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

love this spot!! super friendly people working here, delicious food in the restaurant, yummy drinks at the bar and the rooms were so lovely and clean with a huge deck for each room with a hammock. Most rooms have multiple beds, our room had 4! Would definitely come back here.

Room Tip: some rooms have 2 showers and multiple beds including bunk beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vvaudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
2.5 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
12.2 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Costa de Papito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Costa de Papito

Property: Hotel La Costa de Papito
Address: Beach Road, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 10010, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Costa de Papito 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 5 coconuts from Caribbean Travel Magazine for style, service and setting. Rustically elegant, hard crafted bungalows are privately set apart in a lush five acre tropical garden on the edge of the jungle. In front or the gorgeous white sand Cocles Beach, winner of Costa Rica`s blue flag for pristine beach. An idyllic romantic hideaway with a family friendly double occupancy price for a family of four. Que Rico Papito Restaurant specializes in food fit for jungle royalty. Massage, facials and delicious body treatments at our Indulgence Spa. Rest easy! Secure Lodging with Safes & Secure Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel La Costa de Papito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa De Papito Hotel
Hotel La Costa De Papito Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing