We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful retreat center for a Yoga Teacher Training!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2010

We enjoyed an amazing time at Samasati for the ShivaShakti Yoga Teacher Training. The staff took such amazing care of us, the food was delicious and healthy and the location is peaceful- perfect setting for a 22 day yoga training. Loved seeing all the wildlife- howler monkeys, cotes, morpho butterflies, toucans, etc. The weather was great during late October. I certainly recommend this retreat center.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank omshanti108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 374 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2010

Great location, friendly staff, incredible food. I'm going back!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mkustel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Samasati is a place for peace and relaxing... The atmosphere is wonderful, the nature incredible, the staff and the food amazing!
I'm definitively coming back...

Thank you Samasati,
puravida!!!

Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
3  Thank giuliapareschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We loved our bungalow with its mountainside view.
We woke to the sunrise and the loud chatter of the monkeys and the birds. It was spectacular.
it was the off season in the Caribbean coast, so we had the resort mostly to ourselves.
We did yoga with just the teacher in a beautiful, octagonal studio.
The food at the Samasati was good vegetarian fare (fish can be ordered).
Puerto Viejo is famed for the surfing and snorkling.
This is a great way to unplug from the world-- no phone, Internet, television.
No A/C, but the windows all have mesh screens and there are fans.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank locavoregal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

My mom and I went to Samasati to relax and learn some yoga, as both of us were relatively inexperienced with it. First of all, the service was amazing. The people working at the hotel were not only friendly but very accommodating. As it is necessary to take a jeep up and down the driveway from the hotel, they were willing to arrange one for us at any time we wanted! They have one which goes to the town daily, but if you ask they'll send one anytime. The rooms were wonderful, although if you're into super Luxe hotels with air conditioning and every amenity thinkable this isn't the place for you. Being a city girl myself, this took some getting used to but I was eventually able to relax and have an amazing time. The food is delicious, the yoga was personalized to my needs and the monkeys in the morning made hauntingly beautiful sounds.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ec1253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I had an incredible visit to Samasati. I wanted somewhere to practice yoga and to have quiet time to think - I got both of those, but also exquisite vegetarian food three times a day, wonderful staff, great sunrises and an overall wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uklbman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

My husband and I went to Samasati for our first anniversary and my birthday. I loved every minute of this trip! All the pictures I seen of this place, I thought well its really not like this, no way. But when we got there OMG! It was more amazing and more beautiful in person! This is a must see nature retreat. Arriving to Samasati we were greeted by the staff and a vehicle to take us up to the retreat. We opt to hike up instead, boy did we hike! No regrets, but if you do this remember to take water and a camera, and be aware this is not a walk in the park, its a steep hike up. Our first sighting was a two fingered sloth that was up in a tree. We spotted some colorful frogs and beautiful butterflies. And then we heard the monkeys which come find out they are friends of Samasati. Frequently hanging out or passing through, but mostly howling. You come to find it soothing and most of the time my husband and I tried to figure out what the heck the monkeys are talking about. :) Quite amusing and hilarious if you ask us. When we got to our Bungalow, we were in total awe of the set up. Champagne, fresh fruit, and flowers strategically place in all the right places done with creative class. Loved it! Also, the food was spectacularly awesome. We are not vegetarians but it was enough to convince us into converting and living the rest of our lives there just based on the food :) We ordered fish on one of the nights ( that was caught fresh btw) and the lady who cook it should win a award, cause I am still dreaming about that fish! Yum! But the best thing about this resort is that you will have some of the best views of the Caribbean sea and jungle. With a plus of being just minutes away from the downtown area. A peaceful zen state is the feeling we had the whole time there. The staff made us feel right at home. Really like family. Everyone was so friendly and very protective of our wellbeing, which made us feel very safe. The yoga and yoga setting is everything you will want. A dream come true. Just the architecture and layout of the retreat is WOW. I cant say enough good things about Samasati. But just know that if choose to stay at Samasati you will have the most memorable, amazing time of your life. We will cherish our time there for a lifetime, one of the best places we have been to by far.... and we have been to alot of places.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seaus_Sailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
3.0 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,487 reviews
6.0 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
4.6 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,044 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
694 reviews
8.1 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary

Address: Carbon 1, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica (Formerly Samasati Nature Retreat)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $87 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary Perched on a magical mountain ridge overlooking the Caribbean Sea, Samasati offers guest house bungalow and casita accommodations just minutes away from the beaches of Puerto Viejo. For over 20 years we have hosted world class retreats, workshops, guest artists and travelers like you! Your stay includes delicious gourmet vegetarian buffet served in our renovated open air restaurant with breathtaking views. Also available on site are healing massage treatments, jacuzzi spa, nature trails, waterfall with natural pool, daily yoga classes and a meditation hall. Tours, excursions and beach shuttles to local attractions are arranged daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samasati Nature Retreat Hotel Puerto Viejo
Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing