We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Playa Negra!”
Review of Hotel Perla Negra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Perla Negra
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The place is secluded, relaxing and very private. You have access to the beach right in front of the hotel, and since it's off the main road you feel like the beach is all yours! The rooms are spacious and clean, the wood finish gives it a rustic feel that I love. We had our own private balcony with chairs, with an incredible view of the pool and the beach. The pool has a nice size and is very clean. Making reservations was super easy and the price includes breakfast, which is very convenient. The staff is so friendly and helpful!! And I have to give a special shout out to my girl Jessica, who works in the front desk and is simply awesome!! My family and I were delighted to meet her! I know this hotel we'll be among our top choices next time we plan a trip to the Caribbean.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsa84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjeena, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Perla Negra, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Hola Joyce!

Thanks for coming to La Perla Negra Hotel y muchísimas gracias por quedarse en nuestro hotel, tu y toda tu familia! We can't wait to have you back again:)

PURA VIDA!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 206 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Once we found the hotel, which was not easy in the dark, we were very happy. As others have mentioned, this hotel is not luxurious by American standards, but our 2-bedroom, 2-1/2-bath apartment was spacious and perfect for 4 adults. It's clean and comfortable, the owners and staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, the breakfast is generous and good, the pool is clean, and it's right on a beautiful beach. Younger folks and/or surfers might enjoy being closer to town and the surfing beaches, and honeymooners might prefer places with romantic cabins in the rainforest, but we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SciMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjeena, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Perla Negra, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Hola SciMom!

Thanks for visiting La Perla Negra Hotel and thank you for your positive feedback. While we can not directly change the lights or the lack thereof on the road leading to our hotel, we can improve the experience that you and all of our guests have here at the hotel. We will definitely start brainstorming ways to improve the lighting systems surrounding our signs from the main road leading to the hotel, to make finding us as stress-free as possible.

Thanks again for staying here at La Perla and we wish you and your family a safe, happy and prosperous new year!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stumbled upon a hidden gem here in Puerto Viejo. Very nice staff, great views and away from the hustle of downtown. We had Playa Negra to ourselves for the most part. Great body surfing.
The pool is nice and clean as well. The property is just perfect for a getaway with family, friends
or someone special. The walk to town was only 15 minutes or the staff was happy to phone a cab for us when it was raining

Room Tip: Second floor room have a better breeze. Be prepared to be lulled to sleep by the sound of the surf a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pura1vida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here for a full week. It was so breath taking. You immediatedly calmed hearing the waves crashing and hearing the laughter from others. It was so peaceful. Yea, we had a bat in the room a couple of times, but it was so funny at how we went batty. The Breakfast was different from what we have in the States, but it was delicious. Excellent escape. Another thing we liked - NO TV or PHONES in the room!!! Just total relaxation. Couldn't have asked for anything better.

We will be back the first of December and would love to have the same room. :-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We arrived in the evening. The pathway to the appartment was not illuminated even though there were lights. Our daughter fell......arriving in the appartment there were a bat in the sleeping room and a scorpion in the room where our three daughters were sleeping.... We did not at all fell confortable and left the place the next day and will not recommend this place to other travellers...

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank MogensK930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

If a Costa Rica jungle experience is what you want then this would be it. I'm not sure what I expected, but bats and geckos in the room wasn't a part of it. I can't believe no one has mentioned this. First room we were assigned to had bats. Moved to second room which also had bats and the bats droppings were every where just in case we missed it. There were open holes in the ceilings so the bats just flew in and out as they desired. I was told this is just part of the experience. so I took it all in stride and just settled in even as my new friend hovered over me as I used the restroom. I also enjoyed the company of a few geckos who loved taking cold showers with me everyday. Again, this seem to be apart of the experience. Call me crazy, but is rather leave nature outside unless I'm camping. On the bright side. The location is great and nothing is commercialized about it. The breakfast was great and the people were very friendly. I did have a great trip but would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Starr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I would stay again because it was a great value for the money. It's not a high end place so lower your expectations and don't make comparisons to 5 star places. Modern, upscale places are not why you come to this side of Costa Rica. This side is a bit more "rustic" and the hotels reflect this casualness including La Perla Negra. The hotel staff were very helpful or will seem that way if you relax a bit and realize you are not in the U.S.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank MNTrek930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
680 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#9 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,070 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Lizard King Hotel Resort
#36 of 57 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Casitas Mar Y Luz
Hotel Casitas Mar Y Luz
#21 of 121 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
82 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Guarana
Hotel Guarana
#8 of 57 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
336 reviews
3.4 mi away
Finca Ardilla
Finca Ardilla
#18 of 57 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perla Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perla Negra

Address: Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo, 500m from Bar Point | Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo, 500m from Bar Point, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 87555, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $64 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perla Negra 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Perla Negra is a Beach Front Accommodation, surrounded by an ecological, quiet and out of town atmosphere. You will find an atmosphere of relaxation in the South Caribbean Coast of Costa Rica. Enjoy the services of Puerto Viejo town as bars, nightclubs and restaurants with a variety of local and international food, surrounded by very kind and friendly people. Our Hotel offers you a unique style of sharing and enjoying the environment of Costa Rica's Caribbean. We do not sell you a room. We offer you peace, tranquility and great views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Perla Negra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Negra Beach Hotel Puerto Viejo
Hotel Perla Negra Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing