We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Pretty good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Negra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Negra to your Saves list
Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Negra
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   | Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo, 500m from Bar Point, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 87555, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This place was okay but if I had it to do over again, I would pay a bit more and stay at Banana Azul next door. The place was clean and we had no problems but it felt a bit deserted and run-down. The front desk was not staffed all night and they had no dogs so it seemed like a place that could be robbed quite easily. I wish that the rooms at least had a safe but ours did not. It is right on the beach which is a major plus. One tip - the outlets here only have 2 prongs so plan accordingly if you need to plug in some electronics!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    44
    22
    12
    23
See reviews for
37
64
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great location on the beach! We loved our room with the Oceanview, the breakfast was delicious and the staff was awesome! They were always available and very helpful! The room does need an update, but it was clean.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here, since it was our only option during the high season of December/January. I am not sure if it was because we booked last minute that price was high, but we paid ~ $170/night for a room that should have been no more than $70. The staff was friendly enough, but the place felt drab and dank. The shower had mildew, the towels and sheets were ancient, and the breakfast was OK. Overall, it was alright, but would not stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allynsocali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

While we were sleeping room was entered and money ,camera and backpack stolen.Feel fortunate we were not harmed physically. Thief had a bag of hotel key rooms that were dropped when people in second room that was entered scared him away.
Rooms were shabby and not too clean.Found ants in the bed and the two towels in the room were paper thin.
Owner did reimburse for the losses since he thought it was a former employee.

Room Tip: There are none.All need renovation and better lighting.NO room service or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandyroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels

Wahlwies, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a great time in this hotel right at the beach. For sure not a 5 star hotel, but cleanand the rooms are nice, very friendly stuff and the location is simply awesome. Breakfast with eggs cooked to order outside in an open kitchen - lovely. Would go again any time!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Home away from home in the middle of a jungle !!!!!!
Great stuff, great vibes !!!!
Everything about this hotel was great !!!!
If you are looking for a 5 star hotel, then this is not it, but if you are looking for good vibes, nice people, relaxed and friendly - this is it !!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

La Perla Negra is a beautiful, laidback hotel nestled between the jungle and (literally) across the road from the beach. The rooms are clean and well-kept, the staff is super friendly (and they speak English!), the free breakfast is fresh, hot, and delicious, and the location cannot be beat if you're looking for a place to unwind and live la pura vida. The vibrant streets of Puerto Viejo are just a short stroll down the black-sand beach. All in all, the hotel's atmosphere is homey even as it captures the essence of life on the Caribbean.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room with a balcony facing the ocean. The room didn't have A/C, but between the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
2.0 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 stars 902 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Lizard King Hotel Resort
#21 of 46 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages
#9 of 87 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
5.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Casa Moabi
Casa Moabi
#3 of 87 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
3.7 mi away
Namuwoki Lodge
Namuwoki Lodge
#14 of 87 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Lotus Garden
The Lotus Garden
#27 of 46 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
3.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Negra

Property: Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Negra
Address: | Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo, 500m from Bar Point, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 87555, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Negra 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Pearl is a Beach Front Rustic Accommodation, surrounded by an ecological, quiet and out of town atmosphere.   You will find an atmosphere of relaxation in the South Caribbean Coast of Costa Rica. Enjoy the services of Puerto Viejo town as bars, nightclubs and restaurants with a variety of local and international food, surrounded by very kind and friendly people.   Our Rustic Beachfront Accommodation  offers you a unique style of sharing and enjoying the environment of Costa Rica's Caribbean,we do not sell you a room , we offer you peace, tranquility and good life view as it is in our place, whitout seals or stereotypes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Negra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Negra Beach Hotel Puerto Viejo
Hotel Rustico De Playa Perla Negra Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing