We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky place, wholesome lunch”

Alice Ice Cream Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $9
Description: The highest quality ice cream, sorbet and vegan ice cream is all homemade and organic where possible. We use only local and organic produce, free-range, organic eggs and raw, organic sugar and chocolate from a local cacao farm. Fresh whipped cream and unique flavors from our backyard and around the world are offered every day. Open every afternoon. **Note** We had a tree destroy the left side of our house and property and are having major renovations done. We will try to be open and encourage you to call before driving here so you won't risk being disappointed. We're sorry for the inconvenience and hop to be back to every day service soon.
Restaurant details
Description: The highest quality ice cream, sorbet and vegan ice cream is all homemade and organic where possible. We use only local and organic produce, free-range, organic eggs and raw, organic sugar and chocolate from a local cacao farm. Fresh whipped cream and unique flavors from our backyard and around the world are offered every day. Open every afternoon. **Note** We had a tree destroy the left side of our house and property and are having major renovations done. We will try to be open and encourage you to call before driving here so you won't risk being disappointed. We're sorry for the inconvenience and hop to be back to every day service soon.
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Funky place, wholesome lunch”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great value, home-cooked lunch with fab BBQ fish and some chocolate ice cream. Well worth a stop in.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BravoJuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    39
    12
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“fish tacos, yum yum”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Big space on the jungle side of the road. Chef Andy is a master with fish and especially the fish tacos, you really need a fork to enjoy them. Loaded with local fish, veggies and a native hand cooking the food. Check it out you won't be disappointed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
18 Thank verycoldone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Biggest taco possible”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Friendly staff, excellent food, huge portions. The cook here is amazing, he even came out to make sure every one was enjoying their food. Highly recommend the fish tacos, and the home made ice cream for dessert!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
21 Thank Tessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Andy's Caribbean Chicken and Fish Tacos”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Best plate of chicken we've found in the area and the largest fish tacos I've ever seen in my life! Andy, the chef, does a great job, and Toni the waitress/bartender keeps your needs met! It's a great meal for a good value. Worth a try if you are in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
18 Thank KathyC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Gaudens, France
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Tasty value for money”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Only a few reviews which is probably due to the fact that the present ownership is fairly new.
We had eaten previously at Selvins, a disappointing experience. By contrast, we were welcomed at "Alice" with a good 'meet and greet' from the American owner and Andy the local chef. From the generous gin and tonics to the desserts, everything was value for money. In particular, my red snapper came well garnished and it was 50% larger, also cheaper, than the one I ate at Selvins!
With the equivalent glasses of wine and a shared dessert, our bill came to 40% less than the price we paid at Selvins. It was a pity that only one other table was occupied. "Alice" deserves your support.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank stillworkingat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alice Ice Cream Bar also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 

Been to Alice Ice Cream Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing