We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a really good time”
Review of The Lazy Loft

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lazy Loft
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Lazy Loft is a simple but very cozy backpacker's place. Full of nice people from all around the world and the location is perfect; near restaurants, bars and just a couple of meters from the ocean.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svansis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 46 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

I spent 6 nights in a private room in the Lazy Loft and loved it! The sliding glass doors leading to the oceanfront large balcony make the rooms airy and comfortable. I had a comfortable bed, ceiling fan, separate fan and great cross breeze. I had hot showers most of the time and found bathrooms and kitchen to be adequate, particularly for the price. I paid more than what I would usually pay to stay in other places, however the oceanfront view, safety for solo female travelers, friendly staff, beach only steps away, and live music at the bar below made this place incredible for me. I would have left Puerto Viejo sooner but enjoyed this place so much I stayed a few extra days.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DragonJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed at The Lazy Loft for 7 days and it was very affordable and had a beautiful view and a 30 second walk to the ocean.

The staff is friendly and more than willing to help you figure out what to do in the area. The food service in the downstairs bar is a little slow but it doesn't matter when you're basically sitting on the beach. The water is clean, clear and refreshing. You can play on the beach all day, walk upstairs take a shower and be back down for a beer without having to walk farther than 50 feet. The downstairs bar, "The Lazy Mon," often has live music and if you're lucky fire performers that are unlike any you have ever seen before.

It is great for relaxing and is in close proximity to the grocery store (so you can use The Lazy Loft's kitchen). It is also close to bike rentals, shops and day time tours.

Room Tip: Ocean Front view...you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for about 6 nights a few weeks ago and had an enjoyable time. The hostel genuinely has a good vibe with friendly staff, affordable rates and an excellent location. I do feel there a few things fellow travellers should know before they stay here: it is located above a bar which although is fun is very loud even on a weekday (making it impossible to sleep), the bar has been described as the 'drug capital of puerto Viejo' with many seedy stoned people wandering around, there is absolutely no security (no locks on doors, no lockers, no safe - not really reassuring given the bar below), the place is incredibly dirty - especially the kitchen where I consistently saw rats running on the benches, the kitchen looks good but is deceitful as only two small stove tops work, there are no bowels for cereal and only one spoon for everyone! The dorm is also quite uncomfortable with no working lights, no ceiling. Overall I feel there is no love from the owners. I don't mind if a hostel misses a few things, but this place seriously missess most, which is unfortunate because of the location

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicG89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

"The Lazy Loft" hostel sits atop "The Lazy Mon Beach Bar and Grill" in scenic Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica de Limon. "The Lazy Loft" is affordable and overlooks the second most affordable beach with some of the most amazing views in Latin America according to Huffington Post. Tourists are welcomed by the friendly staff and encouraged to join the crowd for amazingly tasty dishes enjoyed by tourists and locals alike daily and nightly at "The Lazy Mon." Guests listen to the eclectic sounds of music reflecting the diversity of the area. Live music is featured several nights during the week and guests can enjoy a game of pool, ping pong and occasional dancing. The "Lazy Loft" and "The Lazy Mon" are excellent places to experience a great vacation on the Caribbean side of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SenoraRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Had a good overall stay at the lazy loft, however, cleanliness standards could have been higher. Staff werent constantly around and kitchen was decieving with only one working stove. Very good view from all rooms and good positioning within the town. The staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anon150800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LePianore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0 mi away
Playa 506
Playa 506
#2 of 120 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
128 reviews
0 mi away
Rocking J's
Rocking J's
#55 of 120 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
485 reviews
0 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#9 of 120 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
#75 of 120 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
120 reviews
0 mi away
Kalunai Hostel
Kalunai Hostel
#6 of 120 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
85 reviews
0 mi away
Selina
Selina
#17 of 120 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lazy Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lazy Loft

Address: Salsa Brava Break | Stanfords, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 231-7304, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $10 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hostel located directly on the beach with low prices & and a great atmosphere. The Lazy Loft is located above The Lazy Mon Sports & Music Bar & offers views of the famous Salsa Brava surf break. The Hostel is made up of 6 private rooms and 1 Dorm Room. All rooms are shared bathrooms with hot water. We offer a large industrial style shared kitchen for our guests. Tours, bike rentals, & laundry services available through us at competitive prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Lazy Loft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lazy Loft Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing