We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my kind of lunch on the beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Del Caribe - CLOSED

Sol Del Caribe
Price range: $5 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Located directly across from the beach in Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo, El Sol del Caribe offers traditional Caribbean fare, brick-oven pizzas, hamburgers, fish, pasta and chicken main plates as well as the house specialty milanesas. We pride ourselves on having fresh ingredients and cuisine that is prepared in-house daily. If you are just looking to grab a burger and a beer for lunch or have a relaxing seaside dinner, we offer menu options guaranteed to please you.
Parker, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“my kind of lunch on the beach!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We traveled to Cocles with our 3 teenage boys and after a long day of surfing Cocles, this place was perfect! The sweet gal working there even helped carry it to our towles on the beach! Can't beat that for service! Decent prices, all the food here is pricey, but for the amount of food, it was a good value! I think we paid about $20 for a large cheese pizza. Veggie sandwich was really, really good too! We ended up back here the next day too!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charity W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    3
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sint-Niklaas, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Handcut fresh fries!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Having walked along the beach from Puerto Viejo to Cocles beach we enjoyed a wonderful lunch with oceanview and good reggae music in Sol de Caribe. The service was very friendly and the food was good and fresh. My wife had the house salad and I had the cheesburger with handcut fries. If we were ever in Playa Cocles again we would certainly go back

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanpolenChristel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A poor experience”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We decided to eat there due to the location, acroos the beach in order to enjoy the day. We went for lunch. My kids ordered a cheese burger and couldnt finished it since it was tasteless and greasy. We ordered fried calamari and they were greasy and with a lot of garlic. The only good thing was the waitress service, but unfortunatly did not make up for the poor food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaJusticiera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
1 review
“peacefull caribbean atmospher”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

excellent food every dish on the menu is delicious but my favorite is the Swiss homemade hamburger....nu-mi nu-mi nu-mi

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank binimaya19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bologna
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“excellent casado”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

i chose sol del caribe for its position in front of the beach, and for my large hunger after a canopy trip in the early morning: i had only fruit in the first part of the morning, so i needed something filling for my lunch!
first, the bar/resto terrace is very beautiful, with its wooden tables made from large tree trunks and the view on the surfers beach across the road.
the service was very kind and attemptive, and when i got my casado with fish i was very impressed by its great taste and large portion.
i would go back for dinner, unfortunately i stay in puerto viejo village so i must take a taxi or walk, so it's not as convenient.
loved the place!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank omnidrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sol Del Caribe also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing