We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW What a Jewel in the Caribbean Sea!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Point Sports Bar & Grill

The Point Sports Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Central American, Costa Rican, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Point...A different kind of Sports Bar.Sure we have sports on all (7) of our T.V's all the time...and sure we have hot wings and (U.S.D.A. beef) burgers...and sure we have ice cold beer and micro brew on tap, but did you know that we have local Caribbean cuisine made by the best chef south of Nicaragua?  Check out our open air restaurant/bar located on Black Beach, steps to the Caribbean Sea. A local hangout where tourists and locals come together to have a good ol' time.  So on your next visit to Puerto Viejo, top on by and say hi ya'll (before Paradise, we lived in New Orleans).  We will keep a seat warm, a cold beer, your favorite game on, and a fun time waiting for you!
Cimarrones
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“WOW What a Jewel in the Caribbean Sea!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The four of us were on a day trip to see Puerto Viejo, and we found the wonderful POINT Restaurant and Grille. Popeye & Tiffany, the owners were cordial, and entertaining. As people drove up, we met great folks from the area, American style music wafted in the air as did the incredible smells of Caribbean/American style food. ANGUS beef burgers,fresh and organic foods all cooked to perfection. The drinks were expertly prepared and served by a danish beauty named Katia, who added to the friendly and comfortable atmosphere. We will definitely plan a return trip monthly to get the "Beach Fix" we so miss from living in Florida. Keep up the outstanding success you guys!!! Live Music was planned for 5 pm, but we had the doggies back at the house that needed our return. Loved this place and the owners !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    82
    32
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“PURA VIDA!!! Can't wait to go back next year!! YUM!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We went to Puerto viejo last month for our honeymoon ...little did we know what we would encounter when we picked this place to stop and check out since we had stopped at many soda places along our journey ...it's was time for a good restaurant. Right off, the owners were present and were just as friendly as if we had known them for years. We had come from Florida and they shared their story how they recently moved down from the states and had bought this restaurant that they used to frequent. The atmosphere just cried out "pick me , pick me" and "stay here stay here"! Cold beers, tv"s, great company , great service by Kat and Roberto, and great food surrounded us! Their burgers are the bomb! The plate of fried sweet plantains I had was unbelievable ....I have craved them since we left and still have 10 months to go before I have them again lol. If your looking for a good craft beer you have come to the right place! Along with all their other beers! And the chili cheese fries!!!! Just go try it yourself ...you will not be disappointed! And your right there on the beachfront....you can walk out to the water. So what did we do? We'd eat, then we"d go do an activity then we"d come back to eat again...then we"d come back for a few beers. It was like the show CHEERS ! Lol we were hooked! And made some great lasting friendships with the entire staff. Only certain special people have what it takes to provide excellent customer service, an excellent environment AND excellent food all at the same time. Make sure you treat yourself to some excellence while in puerto viejo! You deserve it and it's very hard to find there but we found it for you and wanted to share our little secret so you can enjoy this experience as well and also help spread the word! Oh and did I mention they are in the midst of building a party barge!! I didn't stutter....yes a party barge that will sit right out there on the ocean ....become a part of it! Look them up on Facebook to follow their story and success. And then spread the word as I have.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Francineap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I had stayed just around the bend of Playa Negra and walked into this fun spot! They had a couple of local guys playing music and the vibe was really chill and inviting. Had a couple of appetizers and was pleasantly surprised! The manager Tiffany walked around and greeted people both locals and visitors with a warm smile and greeting. Her husband and the locals there were absolutely wonderful!! I ended up going back there at least 6 more times while i was staying in this fun town. I look forward to seeing them all again next year!! PS - I also got to see a preseason game of a Denver Bronco game there!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeJiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hangout spot right on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at Mother Dear right down the road and felt safe walking to and from The Point even late at night. Awesome wings and craft beer on tap...we will be back on our next trip!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wallyssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good fish, good music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

My son and I ate dinner there this trip, It was very good.I was a little surprised because it definitely has a Gringo feel. I usually prefer more local eats, but they did the Afro Caribean fish right. They also have live local music and a poker game that's good . Enjoy. Pura Vida

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seeralon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Point Sports Bar & Grill also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to The Point Sports Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing