We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food, really good bar, really good time”

The Point Sports Bar & Grill
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Point...A different kind of Sports Bar.Sure we have sports on all (7) of our T.V's all the time...and sure we have hot wings and (U.S.D.A. beef) burgers...and sure we have ice cold beer and micro brew on tap, but did you know that we have local Caribbean cuisine made by the best chef south of Nicaragua?  Check out our open air restaurant/bar located on Black Beach, steps to the Caribbean Sea. A local hangout where tourists and locals come together to have a good ol' time.  So on your next visit to Puerto Viejo, top on by and say hi ya'll (before Paradise, we lived in New Orleans).  We will keep a seat warm, a cold beer, your favorite game on, and a fun time waiting for you!
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Picture it. You sit at the bar enjoying a cold beer - or other drink of choice - while watching your favorite team on one of the many screens. Look up and there is the amazing Caribbean ocean. Hungry? The menu is varied and I haven't yet tried anything I didn't like. Good, good food. The staff and owners are friendly and helpful, It's everything you'd want in a local sports bar - and it's on the ocean. Life is good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank liliprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irPopeye, Owner at The Point Sports Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Simply put Lili, You get us. We miss you. see you soon
Popeye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 267 of 390 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

food was ok, environment was a sports bar. If you want to watch sports, have local beers then this would be a good place for you. An American expat, tourist kind of hangout.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank G2071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irPopeye, Owner at The Point Sports Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thanks for the Review. And "If you want to watch sports, have local beers then this would be a good place for you" That is Right on the head. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

After having already spent a week in Costa Rica, it was refreshing to run across a fellow Oklahoman serving up local food with back-home attitude. The staff was welcoming and helpful and the food was excellent. We definitely plan to visit the next time we're in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irPopeye, Owner at The Point Sports Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

We will be awaiting your return. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have been to "The Point" now numerous times and I can say without a doubt they have the best buffalo wings in Costa Rica!! I have been to a lot of restaurants throughout Costa Rica and so far this place definitely gets my first place vote!
You have to also try their rockin' avocado dip and chips, nothing less than awesome!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Anne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irPopeye, Owner at The Point Sports Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thanks Anne,
Your review is Awesome. I'm actually eating Buffalo wings right now. Can't wait to see you again.
Popeye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I found this place to be very expensive for what was served. The food was good and the service excellent, but just pricey.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Skitty17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irPopeye, Owner at The Point Sports Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thanks for your review. I'm happy to see you enjoyed our food and service, I do admit its not the cheapest place to eat. It does cost a lot to import the USDA beef and we do use organic chicken. We are currently working on a bocas menu So that we have alternatives to Better serve everyones price needs.

Thank you
Popeye & Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Point Sports Bar & Grill also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to The Point Sports Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing