We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but comes with flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Veronica's Place Cabinas
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is under the restaurant in town where the kitchen is tiny and private room has walls that dont reach close to the ceiling. Pretty noisy and cramped.

The b&b is much nicer, on the outskirts of town in a quiet street. The cabanas are probably nice but our room inside the house was pretty average. The family, although lovely are very loud. The bed was not comfortable at all. The kitchen had only a single birner stove and minimally equipped.

$20 a night for this area is cheap though.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Allardyced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Veronica's Place Cabinas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 47 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

I feel a bit bad for this because the people who run it are lovely, but the accommodation really needs some work. Its cramped and quite uncomfortable - we would have been a lot happier with it if the price was lower, but the double room is not worth $25 at all, there are better options around for that price. It looked like the mosquito net over the bed didn't quite fit, perhaps it was designed for a single, so it was difficult to avoid getting bitten. The walls were very thin with a vent at the top so we kept getting woken by someone's alarm in the house next door (which didn't seem to wake them!) Generally didn't have enough space or privacy, and nothing was provided beyond the very basic. I get the impression they concentrate more on the restaurant, which is apparently very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geranibub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed at Veronica's Place, i had a private room inside the house which was simple but clean and they made me feel like a family member. I also stayed another week in a cabina with my boyfriend. The cabinas are really big and cute with a nice garden. They also have a kitchen and a privat bathroom. I had a good time, everyone was very nice. You can have breakfast with Veronica's Family which is AMAZING.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Veronica's for the night in a private room with a private bathroom for $13 a night, so right there you have a great deal. It's still in town, just not in the center so it's not loud at night. There were nets above the beds (not sure if we actually needed them, but we felt better with them) and the fan worked so well we actually turned it off for a while because we were cold. We had breakfast with her family the next morning, we aren't vegetarian but the food was great and they are all such nice, friendly people.
We went to an $8 hostel the next night (now) and are currently hating our lives with the amount of bugs and stuffy room. Heading back to Veronica's in the morning and just going to cut the $8 loss.

We haven't eaten at the restaurant yet, but have only heard great things and the breakfast was delicious at her houses so I imagine it has to be in her restaurant too!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macruzer36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I had a really great week staying at Veronica's place! I rented a separate cabin that was really cosy and clean. Veronica and her family made fantastic vegetarian breakfast every morning! One of the absolute best things was the positive vibe of the family! They really shared their way of living and even took me along to some events in the community! A real gem in Puerto Viejo!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

we travelled from cahuita on 2 occasions just to eat out at veronicas place. the ambiance and the food ist just amazing. the selection of foods is sensational, the options will leave even non vegan coming back for more. everything is super fresh and tasty. the juices are exceptional, loved the veggieburger. good value for your money, the service is more than friendly. everything at Veronicas place is made with a lot of love. if you're in Puerto Viejo, make sure you stop at Veronica's place...you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We didn't stay here, just ate at the restaurant.

We stayed in Cahuita and made the journey to Puerto Viejo just to have dinner here again.

They have fresh juices (veg &/or fruit), raw options (we had raw burritos), lots of vegan stuff and normal vegetarian.

The salad was really tasty and healthy, the burger was fantastic (the burger is a bit on the small side though so it would go well with some patacones or a salad). 2 people we went with are meat-eaters and they raved about the veggie burger.

Try a Black Mamba' drink it's delicious (cocao, banana, & homemade peanut butter) - like a blended snickers bar with banana.

The carrot tart/pattie is the best so go for that if you have a meal that asks what meat substitute you want.

Price is more expensive but you get fresh, healthy, homemade meals.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank LexyWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Guarana
Hotel Guarana
#9 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
322 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaya's Place
Kaya's Place
#23 of 107 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerto Viejo
Hotel Puerto Viejo
#44 of 107 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Talamanca
Cabinas Talamanca
#66 of 107 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Aban
#4 of 5 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
8 reviews
1.3 mi away
Selina
Selina
#18 of 107 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veronica's Place Cabinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veronica's Place Cabinas

Address: Main Street | 75mt este de supermercado el Diamante, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $27 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Veronica's Place is located right in Puerto Viejo and only 150 meters from the beach. You can choose to do a homestay or stay in a cabina with a private bathroom and shared kitchen. Veronica also offers Caribbean cultural breakfasts for only $6, cooking classes, and medicinal plant tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Veronica's Place Cabinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veronica's Place Cabinas Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing