We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical hostel”
Review of Hotel Puerto Viejo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Puerto Viejo
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Typical hostel”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We only stayed one night in Puerto Viejo and didn't feel like staying longer. Massive place full of small rooms. Not the cleaniest place on earth. Central location. Staff more helpful and friendlier in the morning, less in the evening. Aggresive stoned local friends of staff in bar is the main reason why we wouldn't come back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gabesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    31
    25
    11
    17
See reviews for
6
29
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great place to stay.
I stayed here with my mom and we had a room in the garden which was actually a small cabin with a porch, it was great. The room included a fan. The staff members were very friendly. The hotel provides a spacious kitchen, fridge and Wifi. The location is great too. Close to the beach, but just off the 'main' street.
I would stay here again and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the cabins in the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlyn_Marlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I was only in town for 2 nights on my way to Panama so I didnt look around a lot but I ended up staying in Hotel PV. It wasnt great. I upgraded to a larger room that had its own bathroom, which was bearable but it sounded like the family upstairs was always having a dance party.

The kitchen didnt have any equipment. Maybe one frying pan, one pot, some nasty spatula.

The staff was friendly and helpful but it just wasnt a great place. I dont need a lot but it was dark, dungy and I wouldnt recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank invertair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

i just walked around the corner form the bus stop to this place. Rooms were cheap (about US$15 for a private room), some of the cheaper in the area.
Beer is cold in their fridge and the kitchen is basic but serviceable for most travellers.
Rooms are small but matresses were pretty comfy. Wifi was pretty good also. Very central to all restaurants and bars but not on a busy street which is nice.
Communal areas are chilled and there is a wide array of travellers. It's definitely for backpackers or the easy going traveller.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salted_Boards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

It's just a few blocks off the water, but that's a good thing. Great vibe, amazing structure - all wood, tons of differently coordinated rooms. Good wifi (in the right spots). The owner actually offered me the room right above the router - it was approaching the off season so there were many rooms available.

It's a super close walk to EVERYTHING - the beach, numerous markets, and all the "goings on" down on main street. I just happened to be there during the 2013 Afro Caribbean film festival (it's in September if anyone is interested). It was really cool to be able to see a top tier event in a small venue like that. Danny Glover was there, Alfre Woodard - there was great music and a very warm comfortable Caribbean vibe you are unlikely to find at a typical red carpet event in the states.

Back to the hotel - a great place for newbie backpackers, they had actual warm showers, and decent bathrooms. It's a very laid back place, the owners and staff are on site, and can provide a wealth of local knowledge. The kitchen is not good - sorry guys. But that's wasn't a big deal for me. If you are the hippie granola communal meal type, this place would be a 10 out of 10 on everything, EXCEPT the kitchen. It's usable, but not set up for high use - serious lack of refrigeration too... just keep in mind when shopping for groceries.

Overall the place Rocks, by not trying to ROCK.. if that makes sense. Puerto Viejo is a phenomenal place to wander around pristine beaches, learn to surf (reasonable surf schools), and just relax and The Hotel Puerto Viejo is an inexpensive, yet very comfortable option in one of my favorite Costa Rican towns.

Room Tip: just tell the owners what you are looking for!! They have a bunch of different combo's - huge pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thompsonm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I Was here with my friend in February 2014. We were staying in private room for bargain price. Everybody in the reception is really nice and helpful with everything that you need. In the reception you can also order shuttle for Bocas del Toro, Panama, for only $25 (one way). Room was clean, there was always hot water in the shower + towels. I also love the garden in the back, with a lot of nature around, also friendly cats+dogs ;) It feels like home.:)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra_H24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

The place is fine for somewhere to crash and sleep at night.
If you can get over the smell of weed that you have to walk past every time you walk in/out the main entrance (I don't understand the smoking area being RIGHT in the entrance door), then you can enjoy your stay here. We had a back room/cabin which has sufficient room inside and was nice and quiet. The kitchen is large, but not greatly stocked and easily crammed and crowded if more than 3 people given the poor layout.
We had a nice quiet stay and were really only here to sleep as we spent the days outdoors visiting the local areas.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JPescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#6 of 106 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
119 reviews
1.4 mi away
Selina
Selina
#27 of 106 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
29 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kaya's Place
Kaya's Place
#23 of 106 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Lizard King Hotel Resort
#35 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lotus Garden
The Lotus Garden
#26 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
#41 of 106 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerto Viejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerto Viejo

Property: Hotel Puerto Viejo
Address: Calle 217 y Ave 71 -69 | Mts South From Hot Rock's Bar 50, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No shoes, no shirt - no problem! Hotel Puerto Viejo is Puerto Viejo's original and most well-known backpacking hotel. Located only a few blocks away from Salsa Brava, the original and still the best Costa Rican surf spot we cater to traveling surfers and backpackers alike. We offer a well equipped kitchen and spacious common lounge area with lots of comfy sofas and dining area or enjoy our private garden or our big back yard, all equipped with Wi-Fi. Located in the heart of Puerto Viejo, you can reach in 5 min by foot the beach, a wide range of restaurants and bars, surf shops, mini markets, cash machines, and beautiful sunsets. Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Puerto Viejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Puerto Viejo Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing