We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villas Serenidad
Nearby Hotels
$195
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
VIP Hotel Playa Negra(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$142
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$132
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Costa de Papito(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Escape Caribeno(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$77
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Blue Conga(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tierra de Suenos Lodge(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$96
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Boutique Indalo(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$65
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Banana Azul(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$79
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tree House Lodge(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveler rating
241
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmother dear cottagesocean cottageswonderful hostspuerto viejowonderful cottagesound of the wavespata negraprivate beachminute walkbanana azulbeautiful bathroomcovered deckslice of heavenperfect mixprivate toursan josein town
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 244 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We do not really know what to add to all the top rating reviews. The place was truly wonderful as is mentioned in many reviews before this one (and surely after). The bedroom/living area, and bathroom are very spacious as is the private terrace which has a great view of the ocean. After spending the days by going around in the area, swim and walk along the beach, it is just wonderful to fall asleep while listening to the waves. We went out for dinner but also prepared some meals and breakfast in the kitchen which was amply equipped. Our hosts, Jim and Debby were very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joustava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The short version: This is the place you want.

The long version: It has been about six weeks since we left Jimmy, Debbie, Tiny, and Honey at Mother Dear in Puerto Viejo, and we can't stop talking about it. We mention it to each other, we show people photos; and I've been dreaming of getting my feet back into Playa Negra sand. Jimmy and Debbie are great hosts, and their dogs are beautiful and friendly. I was lucky enough to find Mother Dear on my search of places to stay in Puerto Viejo, and it was the lodging highlight of our month-long trip.

First of all, Mother Dear is located in Playa Negra - the northern most beach area. This is slightly up the road from the actual town of Puerto Viejo. We were able to walk the distance in 10-15 minutes, during the day and at night. We found the distance from the town to be perfect as there was very little noise at Mother Dear besides the crashing of the waves 50 meters away. Taxis would range from $6-10, depending on how deep in town you ventured.

There are only two cabins on the property, and they are identical - so no worries about getting the better view. Jimmy and Debbie are in the process of building their own home, right between the two. There is no construction noise going on, however... I imagine they work only when there are no guests.

As you can see from the photos, the cabins are absolutely gorgeous. They are lifted off of the ground by a full story, so the gentle breezes come cool you down through the many screened windows. Jimmy has selected local woods for the project, and the result is stunning. From the unique wooden french doors to the deck looking over the landscaped lawn.

There is a kitchen corner which has two gas burners, a sink, a mid-sized refrigerator (european sized), and many other appliances (coffee, blender, etc.). There is a supply of dishes for four in case you have company over for dinner, which we did. Jimmy also has a BBQ that you can use under the cabin.

There is ample closet space for hanging some clothes, and several shelves to really unpack and let you feel like you are at home. There is also a digital safe for your valuables. We used it, but never once felt nervous about our possessions here. At night, the property is locked up from both the road and the beach; and even then there are the lockable glass windows that are accessible from the porch.

The king sized bed was firm and fantastic. The sheets were soft, and the multitude of pillows let us sleep like angels. The bathroom was reason enough to stay here. running the width of the cottage, there was a huge mirror, a shower with propane heated water, and an american style toilet that could actually handle some toilet paper (a luxury in this part of the world).

The little touches are what separates this place from others. It is the gel-mats on either side of the bed so you don't hit hard wood first thing out of the bed. Or the printed out welcome note that is personalized. Not difficult to do, but so appreciated when done. How about some milk, juice, beer and soda waiting for you in the fridge? Maybe it was the fact that the inside lights had a soft yellow tint and there was a super-bright white light 25 or so feet away to actually attract insects and flying things toward it, and away form the cabin. Oh - and that light had a shade on the side facing us - so all we saw was uplighting on the trees surrounding the property.

Mother Dear is one of those places where your shoulders just relax, you breathe deep; and you wonder why you are still living the rat race instead of selling it all and moving to the Caribbean. I was tempted not to tell anyone about it so that we could always get a room there, but the secret is already out, and Jimmy and Debbie are too nice not to help.

We miss you guys,
Justin and Michelle

Room Tip: Bikes can be rented from the Banana Azul hotel, a few minutes walk away
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LumpyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Well Mother Dear has already had over 100 perfect reviews but we need to add our acclaim for such a visit in paradise as we recently experienced. The website tells the tale as no other I have researched. Puerto Viejo is for the ravler not the tourist as it has its funky charms. In your treehouse feeling cottage everything has been exquisitely designed for its beauty and the comfort of your stay. Native hardwoods have been handcrafted into all the furnishings, counters, floors, walls, adding to the treehouse effect. Debbie and Jimmy are discreetly there to meet your every need. They are very knowledgeable about the area They are both bilingual and have formed many relationships in the communitiy. Debbie has become very knowledgeable about the amazing plants that grace their garden at every turn. Birdwatchers need only to raise their binoculars in Mother Dear's gardens to see more than 50 species. The location is perfect to walk to restaurants, yoga, shops. Watching the waves break on the shore from bed with your morning costa rican coffee is a glorious treat. Any season would afford the tranquility most of us seek in this paradise at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Only 2 cottages both are beautiful with great views
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeandCyndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

It's hard to really put into words how perfect this place is. After a hectic first night in San Jose involving our rental car, we made the 4 hour drive to Mother Dear and all of our worries melted away within a few minutes. Jim and Debbie are sweet and wonderfully accommodating, but not at all overbearing. We loved spending time talking with them, telling them about our plans for the day before heading out and getting their feedback on where to go and what to do. We loved having their two dogs and cat around to keep us company too. We visited the Sloth Sanctuary, Punta Uva, and Cahuita National Park. But you could easily stay at Mother Dear and fill your days with walks to town, swimming in the ocean right in front of your cottage, and napping in the hammock. After just four nights at this place, we felt as if we'd been on a two week vacation. When we return one day, we will not bother to bring a car.. everything you need is within walking distance. We shopped for groceries and cooked for ourselves most of the time, but we also had great meals at The Point and El Pescador. We stayed from Dec 22-26 and I don't think a day has passed since that we have not reminisced about our time there. Thank you so much, Jim and Debbie! We shall return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angmroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband and I spent three nights here as part of our 10-night Costa Rica honeymoon, and it completely lived up to the reviews. Most importantly, the bed is HUGE and really really comfy. From the balcony (complete with comfy hammock!) there was a view of their yard, and the beach, and the ocean. Our first night as we were sitting on the balcony, we even saw wild horses come grazing through the yard! We got some great pictures. Jimmy and Debbie absolutely put a lot of thought into their rooms - Debbie even had even pre-stocked the fridge with some juice, a pitcher of filtered water, and ice cubes made with filtered water. They are super friendly and super helpful with questions, but they are also very respectful about giving you your space. I couldn't imagine nicer hosts or a more comfortable place to stay. We've never been so happy about staying anywhere - worth every penny!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews